I will do anything for my Autistic Son

4 23
Avatar for icebert
2 years ago

HAPPY BEING A FATHER

I still remember that day. The moment I held my son on the day that he was born.  As I stared at his dazzling face, a droplet of tears of joy went down my cheek.

He is perfect! 👶

I whispered to him and said...

"Someday, you will be somebody"...

"A special someone to reckon with".

I named him Lorenzo. I got his name from our blessed patron Filipino saint... St. Lorenz Ruiz.

As I hold his tiny fingers into mine, I knew that this kid is going to be "SPECIAL".

A few years later, my wife and I found out that he is indeed "SPECIAL"

Not the special that most people are thinking. Special in terms of needing unusual needs. 

After visiting the hospital to check on Lorenzo's status... we were shattered to discover that our son has AUTISM.

It was devastating! It felt like it was the end of the world for me.

AND THE WORLD CAME TUMBLING DOWN

It took me days (even months) to accept the condition of our son. 

What is more difficult is knowing the fact how me and my wife will go through this long and enduring hard process of bringing our son to different establishments just to fix his condition.

The course of action that me and my family went through is not only draining mentally and physically, but also financially.

The cost of all of that physical therapies, multiple sessions on speech recognition, and weekly and monthly appointments to his SPED (also known as special-needs education, aided education, exceptional education, special ed) doctor(s) is really EXPENSIVE! 💸

Living in a 3rd world country like here in the Philippines also was a deterrent since there is little to no government support from kids who has Autism.

We have nobody to rely on. 

My wife came from a humble family. And all we can get from her family's side is only moral support.

My family on the other hand was encountering some form of a family problem so their presence in this was somewhat absent.

So it was just me and my wife... and Lorenzo.

MY ACTION PLAN

Being the responsible father that I am, I went out of my way to do side hustle and additional income for my autistic son.

I opened up our vacant garage just to sell Dimsum (Siopao & Siomai) in our village in Parañaque City. 🥡

Those daily earnings that we got from the vacant garage were able to send Lorenzo to his expensive therapies and appointments.

Aside from that small garage business that I created. I did a lot of freelance work (both local and foreign) for Lorenzo's needs.

In short, it was overwhelming to keep up with those expenses to maintain a child's autism needs. But it's worth it!

OUR DAILY STRUGGLES

It's really hard to have a child with Autism. It is not a laughing matter.

It is no joke, to witness our son playing with his own feces. Or see him bump his head several times on the wall.

It's not only just that. Lorenzo doesn't want to be contained in an isolated area. He cries and gets tantrums whenever we go inside a restaurant or hear mass on Sundays. 

We had to adjust our normal habits just to fit Lorenzo's needs and wants.

Those form of adjustment doesn't need a consultation or advice from any experts... we just went ahead and did it, all for the sake of our son.

So whenever we eat out, we made sure that we really eat out. Outside of the restaurant premises literally.

You know those chairs and tables that are pilled up outside in our popular malls?? Well, the people that you see eating on those chairs and tables... Chance are, that might be us.

When we hear mass on Sundays. We don't go inside but rather stand out on the streets, or the hallways, or the pavement underneath a tree.

We made sure that we are close enough so we can hear the priest's sermon.

"We were like an outcast. Far away from the action"! ⛔

Lorenzo doesn't want to socialize too. He doesn't know how to interact and mingle with kids of his age. We also have to be careful with our son because he has the tendency to hurt someone unintentionally.

He is also a picky eater. So we had to go beyond our daily food budget in order to buy the food recommended for him.

But I am not complaining. Why should I? Lorenzo is my son and I love him dearly. 

Having a case like Autism doesn't change that.

THE FORGOTTEN SON

My wife and I have another son. 

Our eldest Luigi is Lorenzo's only sibling. They are 1 year apart.  Luigi was born in 2004 and Lorenzo was born the year after. 

Our eldest is different from Lorenzo. Luigi is born normal. He is highly skilled and is athletic. He is an Aikido brown-belter and an aspiring Full Stack Developer.

Lorenzo's kuya is the better version of himself. 👑

Sometimes I feel sad knowing that our eldest is deprived of our time and attention. 

I have to explain thoroughly to my firstborn that we need to provide special attention to Lorenzo.

MY ACTION PLAN... (AGAIN)

It's difficult to have a child with Autism. It's consummately draining.

It's a never-ending cycle of physical struggle, mental depression, and highly intense anxiety.

But I will do anything for my son.

There is a reason why God gave us Lorenzo.

He knows that we can handle this situation and he knows that Lorenzo will be properly taken care of.

As of this writing, Lorenzo just turned 16 years old (May 28 is his birthday).

But if you look at our picture, he is delayed in a lot of ways. He is not tall enough, not big enough, not smart enough, and not so friendly to others.

I know I did a lot of progressive things before when Lorenzo was still small, but the battle is not yet done. 

In fact, there are so many things that we need to improve so that Lorenzo can stand up on his own feet and be independent someday.

Those improvisations need certain kinds of actions. Action that will help him improve.

Those actions require more money and funds.

Lorenzo needs more education so that he can go on his own, work in an office, and hopefully marry and have a family of his own.

That bar is so far at the moment. It is like trying to reach the moon. 🌔

That is why I am now sacrificing myself (again) for my son's needs.

WRITING IS TURNING ONE'S WORST MOMENTS INTO MONEY

I now decided to write and make money from it. I saw read.cash's potential and immediately sign-up.

Through writing about cryptocurrency, blockchain, and decentralized finance, I know I can earn a few doughs specifically intended for Lorenzo.

I am now 46 years old and should be retiring.... but my autistic son needs me dearly.

So I will write, write, write, and write some more. 

There will be no "Day-Offs".

I am going to be a writing machine. 

I won't stop until I reach my goal.

I will do just about anything. Anything for my Autistic son.

Because after it's all said and done... 

Love always conquers boundaries! 💗


Sponsors of icebert
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 0.68
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @SenyoritaWriter
+ 1
Sponsors of icebert
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for icebert
2 years ago

Comments

I wish i have also a father like you. 🥺 Wishing to heal your son po and God bless your family 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

SenyoritaWriter, thanks for the compliment.

But please bear in mind that your father may have a different approach for you, but I'm pretty sure there is a good and valid reason for it.

I believe that every father loves their child. And they are willing to do everything just for their children's well-being.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a great dad sir, my respect unto you. God bless you and your children 😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Eunoia! I'm intrigued about your Hybrid Plant...

Can you write more about it in your future articles?

$ 0.00
2 years ago