The Tree

4 82
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

Have you ever wondered why the tree trunk is round and not square? I was motivated to write this because I am just happy that there are big trees around my house where we could cool down especially with this hot weather where not even an ice cream could help.

These days, just chilling under this big mango tree is a very affordable option to cool down. I really enjoy the fresh air it produces as the leaves move with the wind. I just have to be careful because there could be a lot of unwanted insects making the tree as their abode.

Going back to my question why are tree trunks not square but round. We could have saved a lot of effort and resources in cutting them for construction purposes had they been square.

According to research, trees being round are actually very beneficial:

>>A round or tubular shape allows them to resist the force of the wind better than the flat surface of a square or rectangle would (Thompson, 2016).

>>Not only does its round shape help resist the wind, but it also is a very strong shape that helps support a lot of branches (Thompson, 2016).

>>Wood layers grow outward from the center in all directions.

>>They can bend in all directions; square trees would be more vulnerable to breaking at the corners.

A tree can be like you and me in many ways too.

The wind. Our life is also full of winds that we even reach the point when we feel like there is too much wind. These are the times when our lives are not only windy but more like stormy already. We experience storms in different aspects and degrees.

I, at the moment is on a tremendous financial storm that I think I have become so used to it already that it no longer bothers me a lot. I would like to think though that I have started to entrust the circumstance to my GOD.

Others may be experiencing winds and storms emotionally while others could be physically too. Regardless of the degree, what is certain is that there are winds in our lives just like that of a tree.

Round shape. We too are shaped as creatures that could be resilient to the storms and winds of life. We may not know but we are designed to overcome because as we face those storms, we become stronger, better and wiser. Individually, we know how to survive. Collectively, we are also round.

This is because we gain support from other people as well. Thus, we are not only round but the network we create are also round and are supporting us in times of distress. A perfect example is the family. No matter what happens, the family will always be our greatest stronghold.

Wood layers. We, like the tree, grow and develop outward. We transcend from the inside. That is why we should develop what is inside for the results to be manifested in the outside. After all, we are made up of cells and if we take care of those small things in the inside, we gain good results seen in the outside.

Speaking of trees, I am reminded of Joyce Kilmer's classic poem:

Trees

BY JOYCE KILMER

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.
A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;
A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;
A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;
Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.
Poems are made by fools like me,
But only God can make a tree.

In this poem, the persona is in awe of the trees that he personified them in the descriptions expressed.

In the beginning, the persona expressed how majestic a tree is that it cannot even be compared to a poem. It is so beautiful that no words could even describe it. It was just wonderful. That's it!

I think that I shall never see
A poem lovely as a tree.

However, despite the incomparable beauty, the tree is also full of humility. In the lines below, it can be deduced that the tree depends so much on the earth as its source of life and nourishment. Literally speaking, the earth holds the tree and it is also where nutrients are from.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

Moreover, a tree isn't boastful of its majesty. In fact, it looks up to the heavens constantly. This is evident in the lines:

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

As I reflect on this, I realized that despite all the things I have achieved in life (if there are any), I should not forget where all those things came from. There are many instances in my life when I thought I am self-sufficient and that I did everything with my hard work. I thought I did it all and I could do more. That is true at some point but my God at these times in life constantly and painfully reminded me that I am nothing without Him. I used the word painfully because it took pain for me to come back to my senses.

I also know someone very successful but almost lost everything. I can remember her telling me that God spoke to her with this, "Who do you think you are?" What are you without me?" Painful but true. Who could we be to say we could do everything without Him who made us?

Further, the life of the tree is not all sunshine. In the following lines, we can understand that there are stormy days. But it should also be noted that it (the tree) stood strong amidst the snow and the rain.

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;
Who intimately lives with rain.

In the end, it extended love towards the birds and other creatures.

A tree that may in Summer wear
A nest of robins in her hair;

As I look at this tree in my front yard, I am reminded that I am just like it but I could be so stubborn. Yet, I am glad that as long as it stands there, I will be reminded of what I am and what I should be.

_______________________________

Psalm 1:3 ESV

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of iamHeavenbound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iamHeavenbound
2 years ago

Comments

Yes, big and large trees really helps during hot weather where even ice creams and cold drinks can't help. I'm really happy to see the poem and Joyce Kilmer is one of the best poet in terms of trees poetry. Because we provide and we're well aware that how much trees are important for humans. More details about trees are available on this site http://www.PontiacTreeService.org

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the riskiest tasks in the tree service sector is removing a tree stump. However, if the intention is to cut down the entire tree, it must be done. I urge you to get in touch with heartytreeguys.com tree service before attempting this risky activity. Typically, the best way to get rid of a tree stump is to grind it. The price to remove a stump in Columbia, Missouri can vary, much like the price to remove a tree, with potentially dangerous and challenging operations costing somewhat more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice research, Ma'am! Saved for rereading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you. thank you as well for sponsoring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago