My life in Manila for 10years..

12 31
Avatar for iAmVhan
2 years ago
Sponsors of iAmVhan
empty
empty
empty
Grab photo from Pinterest

When I was young, it was my dream to live in Manila, to see big buildings and malls. To easily travel to its nearest sights like Tagaytay, Baguio and so on. Being so curious what and how it feels to live in there. During Christmas season,  Manila is one of the best place to visit. Lively, busy streets.

2010 when I decided to stay in Manila with my older brother and try my luck to find a better job. Manila offers manila rate and some company offer high salary unlike in provinces. Gladly, I was employed in a company that handled famous malls in the Philippines. Working in a mall, you are required to work during weekends. My day off that time is Wednesday because a lot of people come during weekends. I've stayed in that company for almost 4 years. Found new friends that have communication until now. After my resignation, I return to my province and have my vacation for 5 months thinking that I will find a better job but then I come back to Manila again. My friend who's my co -work in my previous job told me that their company are hiring, another company that handles real estate with commercial malls. I tried to apply and got the job, again I am assigned in a mall collecting payments for tenant's utilities. That time our rest day is Sunday and by Saturday we are allowed to work for half day only. Everyday I am travelling for 2-3 hours (Valenzuela - Eastwood and Vice versa).

Grab photo from Pinterest

Being one of the commuters in Metro Manila feels like a soldier, Lol! They've said "ang ayos mo sumakay, bababa ka na para kang ilinaban sa giyera". Everyday I woke up by 4am and got home by 10pm sometimes 11pm if there's a heavy traffic. That's my everyday routine, tough right? I've experienced running over a jeepney, sat on the center due to a lot of passengers just to reach my destination. Also, when riding a bus I need to hug my bag so tight to avoid snatchers at makipagbalyahan sa mga kapwa pasahero. I even experience being at the door of the bus even standing all the way for there's no vacant seat (leg cramps is real). I also experienced sleeping and passed the drop off area, It's really hard to be a commuter. But after a year, I decided to rent as bed spacer at the back of Eastwood so that no hussle for everyday commuting. For a month I pay 2,500php including electricity and water. My roommates are call center employees sometimes I'm on a deep sleep and they are going to work. When it comes to food, I bought in tapsilogan, karinderya or turo-turo.

Eastwood at night. Captured using my GoPro Hero4

Living while working for a couple of years gives me privileged  to party, to eat in a cozy restaurant, to travel and be free to go where I want. By the salary I am earning I'm able to help my family also my needs and wants.

Living in Manila is hard especially when you don't have your own house, car or enough money. By the time I've got married we rented a studio type that cost 6,000/month but just a couple of months we transfer into a apartment with 1bedroom that cost 7,000/month. And when I got pregnant the expenses got bigger that's why I decided to gave birth in our province. My husband decided to resigned from his work and apply for a job in the province due to our expenses getting bigger and the transportation is so hussle for him. We are living in the same province and city that's why it is not a hindrance to both of us.

After my 5 years in one company in Eastwood, I decided to go back to province and settle for good. Letting go my career and choose my family first. 💙

But then, all my experiences are some of my happy moments that I will be forever cherish and remembered. One day I can tell them my story that life is never been easy if you want to be independent in life. Be brave, be strong and most importantly to enjoy life!

6
$ 2.20
$ 2.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 1
Avatar for iAmVhan
2 years ago

Comments

Living in a city is one of our goals in mind especially when we live along the countryside. But as we journey in a city where flashy lights are present, we then appreciate how our place feels. Above all, experiences matter and I presume you have enjoyed your moments in that place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganito yong gustong gusto kong ma experience noon ee. Kaso di naman kasi ako pinapayagan ni mommy. Nong nag try nga ako noon na maga work habang naga aral sinabihan ba namsn ako "bakit nakukulangan ka paba sa binibigay ko at ikay maga work pa!" Maybe ayaw nya lang maranasan ko nag working student ba. Ee di yon, di nalang nga. Hanggang kinalimutan ko nalang din na mag work sa malayo. Nawalan na ako ng gana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mothers knows best sis. Mas okay na yun kapag kaya naman no need makipagsapalaran.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inflation in city is too much, our salaries don't increase much but our expenses do. But I personally would settle for the province life as there if you have land you can grow your own food unlike in city you have to spend a lot of fooding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. And now, I'm enjoyiy my province life.

Thanks for dropping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dati talaga gustong gusto ko makapunta ng maynila yung mga kapitbahay nagsipuntahan na ng maynila pero ako hindi kasi hindi pinaagan ng parents and now I realized na hindi pala masyadong maganda dun based sa mga nakikita ko saga balita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda siya kung may sariling bahay at may may work at the same time. Malapit sa work at less biyahe kasi grabe ang commute dun, siguro papasyal nanlang ako doon for vacation lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahal talaga ang cost of loiving sa Manila sis. Kahit pa sabin na minimum wage earners ka eh need mo pa din ang sideline para sumapat sa gastusin ng isang pamilya.. rents pa lang kulang na ang sweldpo mo eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mamumulubi talaga sis, maganda kapag December madami pera pero dadaan lang naman. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life in the city always not an easy. You must able to take a lot of challenges. I really thank God I'm doing fine in city after out from village for almost 30 years. However, I hope I can retire in the village instead. Somehow, village still is a more peaceful place to live.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. It's more peaceful in village, less stress, less toxic and fresh air.

Welcome to read Sir! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago