Sometimes You Have To Stop And Watch The Sky

1 35
Avatar for helmetjetrimi
2 years ago

The stories of my close friends always interest me. Again, I will share one of them with you. It was the first year I started living in New York. This city, which I know very well from the TV series such as "Fame" and movies such as "Taxi Driver" in my childhood, made me very tired and uncomfortable at first with its incredibly fast pace. As I walk the streets of Manhattan, stopping New Yorkers rushing past me like the “Alice in Wonderland” rabbit is like, “Why are you living so fast?” I mean there have been many times. Then months passed. The city pulled me into its fast pace like a whirlpool, and I became one of the New Yorkers who live their lives by running.

Whether we are in New York or London. The common problem of us big city people is that we lead very fast lives and do not know how to slow down.

Although we seemed to be slowing down for a while due to the pandemic, it didn't take long to fill our days with various activities to do at home. Almost all of us live success-oriented lives. There are projects we need to train, trainings we need to take. When we don't spend our time productively, we feel like we've missed life. Yes, being productive and working are of course good things. But sometimes you have to stop. Watching the sky, watching the clouds pass by.

We are not robots programmed to run around - machines need maintenance too - we are people who need to rest and create breathing spaces for themselves. You can be sure that when we make a habit of stopping, slowing down, and doing nothing on a regular basis, both our body and mind will be very pleased with it.

Two things solve even seemingly unsolvable problems:

Change perspective

To put yourself in the other person's place

Two things prevent you from doing anything wrong:

Filtering people and events through the mind and heart

Not be entitled

Two things discredit a person:

Demagogy

Sell yourself heavily

The more you read, the more you realize how little you know. I love to read and feed by reading. I can only produce when I read and feed. Also, since reading takes you to different worlds, you look at life and people in life from different perspectives. The place where we cannot see ourselves is because we are ourselves. To read is to be able to discern whether what exists in someone else is in ourselves or not. I believe that if a person wishes, he can change and develop at any age.

I have always thought that two things in life play a big role in human life. Birth and death. In both of them, people take on different emotions and these emotions become turning points in a person's life.

It provides a transition from one article to another while surfing the Internet. As one says to the other, the reading chain goes on. It was at such a time that I came across an article by Giordano Bruno, one of the most important philosophers who shaped the philosophy of the Renaissance, called "the doctrine of two things". He was sentenced to death by the decision of the inquisition court and burned to death by the church, because the ideas he defended meant committing a crime against the Christian religion in the ignorant Europe of the 16th century. What a great loss.

I have seen that much can be learned from the teaching of two things. There must be someone who has read it before, frankly, I wrote this article with the desire to share it because I did not read it and found it very real.

If you, like me, have a structure that constantly sets goals for yourself, it will seem strange at first to just stand still without producing anything. But believe me, our body and mind need a lot from time to time to just stand still and do nothing. For all of us, charging our phones is almost more important than charging ourselves. However, that shouldn't be the case.

Let's take care of ourselves as we do to our phones and tablets, and let's slow down and charge ourselves even if it's for ten or fifteen minutes a day. How you exercise your right to stop is up to you. Whether you stop by paying attention only to the smell, taste and color of the tea, making drinking tea a meditation, or watching the sunrise. Or, if you want, use your right to stop to experience Yin Yoga, which has a slow flow. Just stay in between. Breathe, realize that you are here on this beautiful planet. Clear your mind, slow down and relax.

I wish all of us a good day, when we make it a habit to stop and recharge from time to time as well as being productive.

5
$ 1.32
$ 1.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
Sponsors of helmetjetrimi
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for helmetjetrimi
2 years ago

Comments

The sky is sometimes the best friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago