A Psychotherapist's Thoughts on Dreaming

0 23

Dreams have always attracted my attention. I have always looked for something mystical in its content. I wonder if I might be seeing something about my "past life"? Or could this dream be warning me about the future? There are still moments today when I believe I will experience what I saw. When someone tells me about metaphysical events, although I have been able to come up with all kinds of logical explanations and to dispel mystical arguments with observations and studies made and being done in the past, when I am alone with myself, my dreams are trying to convey a message to me, from forces other than me or from somewhere outside this time. thinking gives me an incredible pleasure.

With my psychotherapist identity, I still have two sides today: one is scientific and trying to explain everything, the other insists on believing in dreamy and metaphysical powers. Although it seems like I'm talking about two different personalities here, I never thought it was. Such contradictions show that we are rather human. Life teaches us to live despite contradictions and contradictions by trying to make sense out of them.

Actually, I want to talk about dreams. If you are interested in dreams, my goal is to make you think a little bit about it, but also to write what is in my head. So I start.

For me, dreams are like playful dwarfs who want me to pursue something I don't understand and track down with their tips. I want to understand. I wonder how they came about, what they wanted to tell, what they were trying to show. And if it is me, those dwarfs, I wonder what I want to show myself what I have been keeping from myself. According to Freud, our dreams hide what we know from us. So it doesn't really want us to notice what's going on. On the contrary, it asks us not to understand.

If we notice, it scripts our memories that we will have difficulty coping with in a very professional way. These scenarios are obvious, often creating stories that we can make sense of instantly. Thus, while we think we have found meaning, memories that will shake us deeply remain hidden. They prevent us from seeing the real phenomenon with a scenario that confuses the target and is close to our daily life.

It still surprises me that every dream is so relevant to daily life and at the same time so fantastic and distant. You must have experienced everyday scenes in your dreams such as going to the grocery store and buying tomatoes and peppers. Then another day you see that you are fighting dragons and flying from place to place. Both are dreams. There are dreams some mornings you're excited to get up and tell someone. "I had a weird dream, can I tell you ?!" you jump out of bed. And those silly dreams. There are those who say "I had a ridiculous dream" and chose to forget. Why are our dreams that we find absurd, for example, or how do we decide what we find meaningful to be meaningful?

Freud thought a lot on this for us. Then the Mesopotamians, Egyptians and Greeks thought a lot on this issue. Those who find dreams strange, mystical, meaningful or meaningless, and who realize that there is something precious beyond them are people who lived and died before 2500 BC. So me and you who think like me have not been alone for a long time.

In ancient times, emperors who saw symbols that they should be careful in their dreams before going to war, took their dreams seriously enough to take certain precautions before the war. There were even those who changed the day they were going to make stickers just because of this. Some scientists also dreamed of the formula that they could not find for months and finalized the problem in the morning. I am also hearing about this today. In the light of studies on the brain in our time, it is possible to provide some scientific explanations for such situations. But I just can't get rid of the mystical feeling it aroused in me. I guess I don't want to get rid of it either.

So far, I have written down my dreams, I have been thinking a lot about my dreams. I came across many stories about myself that even I did not know, or rather knew but did not know. There were so many stories out there. I was the password saver and I was the password cracker. Even encountering this said a lot about myself.

When my clients bring their dreams in the therapy sessions, I feel excited as if a child was given a huge colored box that he doesn't know what's inside. I want to open that box as soon as possible and see what's in it. I watch with curiosity the moments when my client comes into contact with his dream, sometimes his eyes sparkle when he sees it, and sometimes he chooses not to see when he realizes that he will see.

What kind of world does he have? Does he see the sky blue or gray? I search what is there with the same curiosity every time. I am waiting for my dreams like the next season as a series that has not arrived yet. What am I hiding from myself again?

The first dream analysis of Sigmund Freud, the founder of psychoanalytic science and a neurologist, came true after a dream. This dream, which sheds light on his work, is called "Irma’s Injection".

It was 5 years ago. During an education I went to in Vienna, they took us to Am Himmel, the hill where Freud had this dream. This place was an hour away from the city center of Vienna. On the way from Vienna to Am Himmel, I remember we passed vineyards and green meadows on the hillsides. Vienna looked like a huge village in the distance as it climbed to the top. In June 1895, Freud crossed the same road with a horse-drawn carriage and reached the Am Himmel hill, where his hotel was located. Today, that hotel is not there, but the night he spent there, Freud saw this dream, and thanks to this dream he saw that the dreams contained data on the waking daily life and psychology of the dreamer, and that dreams could be examined in this manner, and even "the idea that the basis of dreams is the fulfillment of a secret desire" improves.

When I tell about Freud's own dream, I think it will be more understandable how dreams speak, how they are hidden or how they are revealed.

Freud was dealing with a patient named Irma throughout the summer of 1895. Seeking a cure for his patient, Freud finally offered a cure for himself. Irma did not want the treatment. However, when he and his colleague went to control Irma after a while, when he saw that Irma had made little progress but not very well, he saw the dream that was engraved in the literature as "Irma's Injection" that night. The dream is as follows.

Freud is in a large ballroom and has a lot of guests. Irma is one of these guests. When he sees him, he pulls into a corner and wants to talk about his treatment that he has not yet accepted and says to him: "If your pain continues, it's your fault." Irma said to her: "You don't know how my throat, muscles and stomach are aching right now, I am choking!" he replies.

Freud panics at this answer, and when he sees Irma's face pale, he thinks that he may be missing an organic reason. So he takes her to the edge of the window to check Irma's throat. However, Irma does not want to open her mouth stubbornly. When he finally opens it, Freud sees a huge filling between Irma's teeth and elsewhere, large white gray crusts on some folds.

Thereupon Dr. He calls M and asks him to repeat the examination. Dr. M performs the inspection and confirms the situation. Dr. M is different in a dream than it is. For example, his face is pale, he staggers and shaves. Then, suddenly, he sees his friend Otto right next to his patient Irma. Again, his friend Leopold gives a consultation and he comments on the skin of Irma's left shoulder. Dr. "There is no doubt that this is an infection, but the toxins will be removed no matter what," says M.

Freud also mentions that they are aware of the origin of the infection and that his friend Otto recently gave him the necessary injections. "Maybe the injection was done carelessly, maybe the syringe wasn't clean enough!" he thinks. The dream ends at this point, and as soon as Freud wakes up, he writes down his dream and analyzes it to the finest detail.

Freud found this dream more special than other dreams because it was up to date. According to him, the events he experienced the day before were the starting point of this dream. Thereupon, he matched every real life, spouse, friend and sick person with the people he saw in his dreams. In other words, he realized that these people he saw in his dreams could be related to people in his real life and in this way he started to interpret his dream.

Freud was quite satisfied and confident with his treatment decision some time ago. Although Irma had not yet recovered and refused treatment, she did not even think to admit that she might have made a mistake and pushed these feelings and thoughts deep into her mind.

But the dream showed that even though Freud did not consciously think of the contrary possibilities, the feelings of being guilty were still in his mind, and when the dreams came up at night, he again tried to explain to him in an unaccustomed way what he was actually thinking and what he might be feeling. In the script he created in his dream, the mistake was in someone else. The responsibility of desire to be fulfilled in the dream is Dr. It was to install on M and Otto.

According to Freud, the reason why he had this dream was his guilt. For a moment, he thought of the medical mistakes he had made, and as a result of the dream analysis, he realized that he was trying to get rid of the crime they caused subconsciously.

This dream did not paint a picture contrary to Freud's belief. In fact, everything he saw was exactly what he thought. His method of treatment worked. He was the patient who was always dysfunctional. Or it must have been something else he overlooked. Because no matter what, he was right. He couldn't have made a mistake. In his dream, a picture in the same way was drawn in different colors; The treatment didn't work, but the reason it didn't work was not Freud, but his patient Irma who didn't listen to Freud, or one of his two doctor friends who did the wrong procedure.

The recurring theme here coincided with real life. Freud didn't want to be mistaken.

Dreams are complex and simple. What we are looking for is always there. However, since the seeker is the dreamer himself, what he finds is what he wishes to find.

1
$ 3.93
$ 3.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of helmetjetrimi
empty
empty
empty

Comments