The deadly Sword

24 51
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Angeline was sleepy. She felt bored. She just sat there, by her bedroom windows, watching her other neighbours walking down the streets, playing basketballs, washing a car, bicycling, skateboarding, roaming around endlessly and it made her congested. It was noon but since she has nothing else to do, she went back to bed, just lying there watching the ceiling of her room. While she was letting her mind freely roam inside her head, she remembered a story that her late mother once told her.

It is about a knight and the deadly sword that he is a force to carry through all his life. This knight was a very lazy person, have no motivation to do anything at all. He can just lie down on a field of grass, watching the cloud all day long and only come home when he is hungry or need a bathroom. Other than that, nothing else.

Remembering the story, Angeline starts thinking of herself. He is just like me she thought to herself. She continues to remember the story in her mind.

The knight's mother was so worried about his future that she thought of a plan. The knight does love his mother very much and would do anything for her. The mother went to take an old sword that belongs to her husband once and gave it to her son.

"What is this for, dear mother?" Said the knight. The old woman trying to withhold her giggle, speaks in a sad voice with her head looking on the ground, "My dear son, This sword belongs to your father. You must practice using this sword and become a true knight so that you can protect our kingdom and protect us from bandits."

"Dear mother", said the knight. "This is not something that I can do". "But you must", His mother cut through his sentences. "Because you already hold it in your hand, you must or I will die."

The knight was shocked. "Why mother? Why did you do this to me? I do not want you to die." The knight sob. "If so", said his mother. "Go now and become a true knight. Be brave and help others as much as you can and I will live a little bit longer".

So the knight starts his journey and helps anyone that needed his help along his way. He also becomes a good swordsman and one day, he accidentally saves a princess from the bandits. They fall in love at first sight and the king let them married. They were given their kingdom to rules and the knight brought along his mother to live with them. They live happily ever after.

Angeline thought to herself, the story always ends with 'they live happily ever after' but she knows, in reality, it is not. Then she thought again. If I start doing something now, perhaps someday I could also have the 'happily ever after' kind of ending. She got up from her bed, take her bath, wears her best cloth and went out for the job interview that she is called a few hours before. She still has a few hours left to reach the company. It is not the kind of job that she is hoping for but maybe it could be the start of something better in the future.

Lesson learned:

Motivation is important in achieving success. Sometimes we can have the strength to move forward from our love one and the fear of losing them because of our incapability. There is a lot of ways to motivate ourself even if we have to do it on our own if we did not give up easily.

14
$ 0.83
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

Self-motivation is a must, we can't succeed anything without it. It is our push through to do things consistently.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder where the self-motivation of the knight is? I think there's none which makes me wonder how he became a knight in the first place 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me in my little understanding, he was motivated to be a knight because he doesn't want her mother to die. He doesn't want to accept it first but when her mother tries to cut, he obeys what her mother commanded, I think that's the beginning of his self-motivation, my point of views only.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It means he was easily to manipulate and his mother had to kick his ass to motivate him.

The question is: What will his motivation be if "the little bit being around" time is up?

Great how this story makes one think. That's why it's good. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sort of, sometimes some mother has to manipulate their child to let them work out their ass. If that little motivation is gone then it's not his mother's fault anymore it's his.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a hard thing to do but with good surrounding and good companions, everything is at ease.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Great story for sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is written using the concept of freewriting. Using a prompt to write and let the ideas flow while thinking of the prompt. I did not use a timer, therefore, this is not considered as Freewrite but it is based on its concept.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Long time never free write. Great skills for sure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not too late. Use this. https://writingexercises.co.uk/story-title-generator.php @wakeupkitty suggested it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a rewrite too but not one with a timer. Once you are used to free writing, writing under each circumstance younwon't need that timer any longer. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I once afraid of Freewrite because most of the time, I do not know the definition of prompt given. The 10 minutes time, I doubted myself to be able to write something good. I gave up once and I tried it again. I am glad that I gave it a try once more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like this 💙

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. Tell me what do you think of "Eva Little Angel" and "The deadly Sword".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Deadly sword: the cunningness of his mother. Lol. She helped him tho but then if only like l life could be so easy. Eva: I left a comment 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life can always look easy in a story. Fictional. That is what they are for, I guess.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An interesting story...I wonder if it is the motivation that triggered the knight to do what his mother said. To me it sounds more the mother manipulated the fact the knight loves her but what is love worth if you go help others and do not share time with that person? What's the value of living a bit longer if you cannot see your son.

This story rises all kinds of questions,it's better of without a moral if you ask me. 👍🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It just came out of nowhere using the tools that you shared. The one for prompts. In my stories, the mother sacrifices the time that she can have all on her own for the successfulness of her sons. She could just keep him with her but she knows that it is the best for him. I just want the stories to end nicely with the knight appreciate his mother efforts and the 'live happily ever after' part is the time where they spent time together. Just a quick write up in less than 30 minutes and this is how I come out with. It is not as I expected it to be but I am happy with it.

The motivation part comes running along with my previous articles. It is mixed up. I hope it still sound like a good story at least.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It does sound like a good story and reality is children rarely appreciate but should they? Parents put them into this world which means it's their task to care, raise. No matter if they get rewarded for it. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on the readers on how they interpret the story. Whether they appreciate it or not. I believe every single reader have their own ideas on his the story goes and how it means. The wonderful things are, I got to know what you think about it and perhaps another story will be born through our conversation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is the great thing about a good story. People read it in different ways and discuss it. The "facts" are no facts but turn out to have different points of view. You managed to create that. 👍

Looking forward to the next story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I hope I can do a better one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This one is already good 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago