Grandparents Prohibitions

6 2
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Growing up with my late grandmothers and late grandfather is the best memories I have in my whole life until now. They all made my childhood life a happy one. Can you guess who taught me to cook rice? It is my grandfather. He taught me how to cook rice on a kerosene stove. The rice smells nice but it causes our nose becomes black from its smoke.

They are also the best amateur psychologist ever, in my opinion. They always have a way to stop me from doing something inappropriate.

Here are some examples and as I grow up…

  • Do not sit on the front stairs of our house or ‘something like a worm’ (I do not know how to translate it from my original language) will go into your peeing hole.

    She is only trying to prevent me from sitting there because it is not polite. Sitting there using a skirt where other people can see my panties.

  • Do not sing when you are cooking, or you will get married to an old man.

    I think she just does not want saliva inside the meal, but I did get married to a man that is 12 years older than me. I wonder if this is true.

  • Do not cut your nails at night or the ghost will come and kidnap you.

    I think he just does not want me to hurt my fingers because the lighting is not always s good even though there is electricity. Sometime shadow will get in the way of the lighting. I did see a movie about this, I wonder if these stories also happen in other countries other than mine.

These are all the prohibitions that I can still remember clearly until now. I am glad that @wakeupkitty suggested me to write something for the Psychology Community. It brought back my happy memories from my childhood.

Do you guys know something?

Writing is not an easy task especially if we write to earn. Appreciate those who read and give comments on your post because they are your strength to continue writing. Without them, would you be happy to write when nobody reads?

When nobody reads, nobody knows that they will like your writing or not.

A good article is an article that does not only an article with good content but also an article that can be read with ease. That is our responsibilities as a writer. Can you imagine a storybook without pictures or a novel with small sizes letters (too small)?

I believe a reader request is the same as my grandparents’ prohibitions. They are good for something. We can choose to listen and try it out first or we can choose to ignore and never know about the benefits after we tried.

What Is Your Choice?

If it does not work after you tried so hard to listen, then it is alright to just forget all about it or you can try again.

It is up to you?

Your choice will make a difference.

 

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

Grandparents are always like that but we can't deny as we grow older that they are mostly right. Maybe they can be harsh and demanding but they only teach us to be obedient and to be hardworking.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. It is up to us to try and listen or we can just embrace the feelings of regrets because we did not even try to listen and itbis already to late. But... I also believe that I cannot follow everything according to time changes 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Our values depend on us. It is up to us if we would carry on what they have taught us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article and very interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think what people tell us during our childhood by sayings, the way we are raised, somehow influences behavior. But if you never sang during cooking you would have married the same man. I think this is what we call superstition.

My granny said: girls who can whistle get a man with money (in my language it rhymes). If it comes to her it became true.

The article is not quite what is expected for this community. You have to dive deeper into the part that expressions, the way you are raised "infected" or did not affect your behavior, life, etc. If it's just a fairy tale or the brain somehow believes it, it makes you act like it, because...

The biggest part of what you wrote hasn't really have to do anything with the first part (how you are raised is how you behave?)

If it comes to writing to earn this is not the place. It's better to write for a magazine, paper, etc as a columnist, write reviews for companies and let you get paid for that.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

😅 This is my first trial for the community. I will take your suggestions into action and will learn more about this before I write again. Thank you for your guidance.

$ 0.00
3 years ago