Christians: What comes after a divorce? (discussions)

1 42
Avatar for heartbeat1515
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Looking back on the past, I have struggled a lot during the time I am still with my husband. There were a lot of disagreements between the two of us before it became a very long year of silence. I am taught that marriage is only once and divorce is not encouraged or not allowed.

I tried to honor this teaching but it did not help to fix our relationship. I have not signed a divorce paper yet but I am going for it next year. It took me a year to make this decision.

Our love is broken. Perhaps I would feel better if he left me because of another woman rather than him being unable to stay with me because he is mentally unhealthy. He did something very dangerous to harm himself and it is affecting all the people close to him. I once decided to stay as being wife until death do us part but then living in this world, I cannot access some of the privileging that the government offer to help its citizen because mostly under his name.

Therefore, for the good of my daughter and me, I decided to get a divorce. I hope I am making the right one.

I do not know what God would like me to do. Perhaps he would hope that I continue being his wife or perhaps God wants me to start again.

Re-marrying someone new will not be an option because it is not allowed and I do not have the desire to get married again. Some advised that I should not close my heart to another person if there is but then if I open my heart, where am I going with that relationship?

For those who read until here, I would like to hear your thoughts about this especially catholic.

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for heartbeat1515
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

Catholics are allowed to remarry, the church is not against it, and god is not either. A partner with an illness is hard, but I would like to know why you do not mention the promise to be there in "good and bad times". Isn't that what this is right now, a bad time?

For your child: this is her father, how he is and nothing can change that. The world is filled with "crazy" people and she should know this is the case, people are and act differently and learn at a young age how to deal with that.

🍀💕

$ 0.00
6 months ago