Diaries from the past, and notes to the future (part II)

37 64
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

PS: This is the second and last part of this article. If you missed the first part, please read it here

Fast forward 15 years, I've become an adult myself. At my current age, I'm now able to understand life way better than before. With that being said, I have a little confession to make: As a grown up person, being happy isn't impossible, but it's far from being easy. Finding your own happiness can't be a simple mission considering all of the duties and responsabilities thrown on your neck. Also living in this complicated world doesn't make things less complicated if you ask me.

But on the other side, and despite being an adult, I still don't understand why people are linking the happy bright future only with how good their jobs and positions are. This doesn't make any sense to me. Even my personal experience made me convinced that happiness and your position aren't necessarily related.

Let me tell you briefly my story so you are able to know what i'm talking about precisely: My previous job was like a dream for most people in my age and city. The company i worked for is more or less famous where I live, my position there was quite good, even the paycheck was high comparing to other companies. Yet I decided to leave!

Surprising right? I know what you're thinking already and I will save you the effort of saying it: "I'm the biggest idiot on planet earth and I'm going to regret that decision sooner or later." You have no idea how many times I heard that and still do until now, and you are probably not different than the people around me. But believe it or not, I literally have no regret!

Why would I regret leaving when I had neither passion nor interest in what am I doing? I hated my workplace and I was counting every second in my shift waiting for my solvation. It also was took most of my time so I couldn't find time for my own hobbies and doing what I enjoy. Yet, that's not the only reason why I left. In that company, I felt just like a modern slave, someone who is working day and night to satisfy his "boss" and help him make his company bigger.

But what about me and my dreams then? Should I take a shovel, dig a grave and burry my own dreams with my bare hands? And for what? Just a fixed salary which is considered by others as a good one? So you are trying to tell me that my life goal should be a "good salary" and that's it? Please don't get the wrong impression. I have nothing against workers and salaries. In fact, I highly respect them and wish them all the best. But it's just me. I couldn't accept that situation let alone living it for a while.

In other words, let me ask you this: Why would I accept being the servent of someone else when I have the passion and the willing to be my own master? I'm not sure what you answer is. But keep in mind that so far I've never get a satisfaying replay. when I ask people the same question, all I get is sarcasm or a disgusted looks.

But wait! isn't this the same reaction I got 15 years ago when I said I just want to be happy? It's very obvious now. We are humans and when we deal with something we don't like or we don't understand most of us tend to make fun of it without even giving it a chance. However, I can't care less about that. This is my life, not a single person has the right to tell me what to do or what to avoid. When I get older, I don't want to regret my life choices which were made by others. This life is like a journey, your journey, and all you have to do is playing your cards right.

10
$ 3.04
$ 2.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.03 from @Mictorrani
+ 1
Sponsors of hamedbkh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Comments

Amazing story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just have to say we cant heal our past by dwelling there but we can heal the past by living fully in the present... Anddd I just loved your Headline😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I'm really glad that you like it. I agree with what you just said completely. Past is past and it should stay that way. Only use it as a way to learn from the mistakes you have made and leave the rest as memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A curious question though, what did you pursue after resigning? I've nothing against the notion because i can understand but just curious as to what happened next

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Curiosity killed the cat! XD Haha sorry. Just kidding. Of course it's your right to ask this after reading the article. Well, After finishing college I ended up with a degree that I don't even care about for reasons I'd rather keep to myself. So now I will just go back to college and get a second degree. Meanwhile, I have some freelancing projects here and there. It's not paying me a fortune but it's good and I'm happy with what I'm doing. After that is done, I will try and start my dream, which is travelling the world and discover as much countries as possible. I hope that answered your question :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We've been through the same path. I finished a degree which I regretted at the end. I took up 2nd course but seems useless still. I worked abroad because my dream is to travel around the world too. Since it's expensive, I decided to work abroad and explore that country then apply to other country again next time. But sometimes it's depressing to do this,maybe because my body is tired and just wants to take a break.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you feel tired than you probably are @jane . That's fine too. Take a break to refresh your soul than you can always keep going. Your idea is also good. I mean traveling the world using your job to apply to the country you want. That's not bad at all if you ask me. It might be exhausting. But you are achieving your life goal. Achieving a life goal is never meant to be easy anyway. What will make you forget the pain is the satisfying result you will be getting hopefully. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it's satisfying... I'm working here not only because of my goal, but also of my responsibility. And that unending responsibility make me burnt out.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I get your point. Well if you are that tired you can always take a break and have some rest. mentally and physically.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah someday I will,just waiting for the right time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hopefully soon :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh a second degree! Thata lot of work if it's so unrelated to your first degree but i think you'll be able to get it! You have freelancing to keep you occupied enough and hopefully it can help you save up for your dream ^-^ if you evern happen to land in the Philippines then hit me up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Well there is a short cut in my country where a second degree won't take more than two years I guess. That will make things a little easier. Also like you said, I can also use the time to make those little projects bigger as possbile. And about visiting the Philippines of course! Why not? If that's going to happen i will tell you of course :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's such a huge cheat! Here, you start from scratch so i envy that system... i wanted to take another degree after some years. Then i wish you all the best with your projects and hope they keep going for you since you seem to have a momentum of your own starting up so it can only go good ^-^ Ohhh yes! Then go travel a bit with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. Sure thing! That would be my pleasure! And about your second degree i guess even if it's really hard, if you want to do it, then go ahead!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not really a degree, it's just a vocational course and I'm done with that, the 1st one was a degree which I never used.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That was meant to be an answer for @Hanzell . but yeah. I know exactly how you are feeling @Jane . We are on the same boat. What was that degree if that's ok to ask?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The 1st one is a computer course, 2nd is a medical course.. not so related right? I even wanted to take engineering... I don't know yet what I really want basically..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's ok to study unrelated topics. Actually that's great! It will enlarge your knowledge. And i'm planning on doing the same. As fo you not knowing what you want, well take some alone time to think about it. like i explained in this article it doesn't have to be a specific job. You can do something that you feel proud and happy doing it. You can even develop your hobbies and create a way to earn from that. There are plenty of choices. You finished 2 courses related to computer and medicine so you are smart enough to find a way out from this situation. Just don't give up!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I want to do next time is a job that will give me more free time, like home-based job.. probably online job.. Btw thanks for your advices

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome. Yeah i got your point. Freelancing might be suitable for you. Or even running your own business maybe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We do have business, I might as well handle it my own or maybe change it to something which I really like..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to hear. Well see? it's not as bad as it might seem in the beginning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Different people have different priorities, but surely "having a good salary" is a very overvalued one. If that "good salary" comes as a result of that other important values must be sacrificed, then it must be questioned if it is worth the while. I have other priorities, much more important to me, just as you obviously have as well. The strange thing is, as you indicate here, that the environment has a hard time accepting that. Having a good stable employment with a good salary is number one for a vast majority of people, and THEY think it must be so for every individual. They sacrifice almost everything else for that. And note that I am not talking about people so poor that they must sacrifice other values for a little money to food, for them the priority is obvious, but we discuss people who have a choice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep. That's kinda the summary of what i wanted to say. There are way more important things and values in life than good salary. Yet people seems not to be able to understand that. Else you will just be called " a big idiot" and stuffs like that. And good that you mentioned the being poor point. In this article i'm not talking about them. they don't have a choice after all to survive but that. The blame is on people who can do much better than thinking about a good salary but that's all they have in their mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have not got much response here so far, although it is a good and thought-provoking article; I suppose that illustrates how difficult this subject is to grasp for most people. They just cannot relate to it. Especially not younger ones. I think, however, with age comes the realisation for many that they have wasted their life on something they thought was important but which, in the end, showed not to be important at all. It is quite common, for instance, that people who have had a great career, at a point discover that they have sacrificed life because of that career.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

100% agree. Of course having money makes many things easier. BUT what's the point if you are going to waste your entire life for JUST earning money? When they get older, they will start thinking about what they have done with their lives. That will be too late to realise such facts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, indeed it is too late. But it's not only for money people can sacrifice everything, some people do it for prestige, which is as bad.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. I didn't talk exactly about that but you are right. It's even worse if you spend your life only trying to Impress people with a prestige.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am more confused now of what is your job right now or what makes you busy. I do agree with you, if we're not happy with the work we do, we won't last long in that company. I am that person who chose salary over what I really wanted. Always said to myself, I should be practical. But now at the age of 30, I regret it all. I could tell now that when your choosing a job, it should be your passion not only because of salary or good company. Currently I don't feel happy with my work here anymore. But I already started this, so I just need to finish my contract then do what I really wanted to do next. Your diary is an eye opener to me. Words will move the readers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are 30? I'm younger than you but you are still very young too! At the age of 30 you still have all the opportunities you need in life. Just finish your contract and start following your dreams. There is an old saying: If you don't follow your dreams you will spend your life working under someone to achieve his! Which i find very true. If you don't feel happy doing something that only means it's not your passion. You also said that you are regretting your choice so much. No problem. Regretting at just 30 means you have all the time to correct that and do what you want in life. It's way better than regretting it at 70 or so when there is nothing much to do then. Your words about how much you loved this made me happy. Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you as well for your great advices. Hope I can get in touch with you more. I want to be surrounded by positive people since in my workplace, they just gave me negative stressful vibes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course! If that will make you feel better than i will be happy with that. You should never care about people who gives you negative vibes. That won't be helpful at all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. You're articles are good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Your kind words are very much appreciated :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago