Diaries from the past, and notes to the future (part I)

19 54
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

We all agree that children are very cute and innocent creatures. Yet sometimes, those angels can also turn into a noisy little brats when they badly want something. That's exactly when we take advantages of their simple way of thinking and use it to make them scared and calm down a little . Normally this is not a hard task because you can come up with anything to make them panick and sleep like frightened puppies: Darkness, the sounds of the blowing wind, or even what's hiding under the bed will do the trick.

But when I was a kid, I had another "special" fear. It had nothing to do with dark places or imaginary monsters. My biggest fear was simply... a question! yes! I'm all serious. Before you start judging what kind of kids I was, let me just explain the situation first. When you ask any kid about what he wants to be in the future, you are surely expecting sweet and spontaneous answers like how he/she wants to be a doctor, engineer, singer and even a football player. But my answer wasn't anything like that. And people's reactions to my answer made that question my worst childhood nightmare.

I really never had any interest in a specific job unlike most kids. To me, the job itself wasn't really important as long as I feel passioned and satisfied doing it. So my answer to "what do you want to be when you grow up?" was pretty simple: "I want to be happy". The thing is, I couldn't understand why everyone bursted out laughing as soon as they heard that answer. They said this is very childish even for a kid! (Does that even make a sense?!) But nobody ever told me why? Is it forbiden to be happy ? Is it that they just didn't expect such an answer? Or what if my answer was just stupid? I really didn't know back then.

I couldn't figure out why adults make kids link their future life with work and jobs alone. I mean don't misunderstand me, I was fully aware that work is very important in order to make money. After all, that's what my father was doing to feed my little stomach and afford my needs. He worked day and night for that sake. But is that it? Is that how life should be? Only a job can define who you are? and only a good job is your life goal? What makes this life intersting then if we all are trying to achieve the same goal? Adults life is definitely boring then!

A flood of questions soaked the mind of the 6 or 7 years-old me at the time. Of course, it is not possible to answer them in such a young age. In fact, even adults can find those questions very hard to deal with. At least, the people I asked were never able to come up with anything useful to me. Yet, all I ever got from them was sarcastic comments. It's very clear now why I hated anyone who asks me "what do you want to become in the future?".

To be continued...

Sponsors of hamedbkh
empty
empty
empty

8
$ 0.42
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Comments

Good one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder why goals for mental stability is questioned when you're a kid. It's still a wish though and an almost impossible dream to achieve sometimes. Much harder than ones dreams of a good profession

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you. Most of kids choose a profession as "a dream" just because adults makes it look that way. We all know that 90% of those kids won't even remember what was their wish when they get older.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well not unless they were serious kids and all but this shows how little mental health is valued even since childhood. If anything, it develops here and just gets worse in the schooling stage because of instances like that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i Know. That's why i said 90% not all of them. There are some "mature" kids who already knows what they want to be in such a young age. And correct. mental health isn't valued as much as it should be. And things get worst when you are older. I agree with that definitely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I kind of feel bad for th mature kids though. Not good to be that serious while so young. Anyways, i look forward to the continuation of this series of yours ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I'm happy that you like this article. The next part will be published very soon :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be interesting to read to continuation of this story. I recognise myself in this, to some extent. there were always a lot of things I wanted to do, but I never thought of anything as a sole occupation to spend my whole life with or exclusively to define my person with. And I am still quite indifferent to such labels.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good to know that you agree with this. That's a personal experience of mine and more details will be revealed in the second part :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like it. Before when I was a kid, what I want when I grow up is to become a successful person in a certain job I prefer. But now that I'm grown up, and didn't able to achieve what I wanted when I was young, all I wanted now is to become happy and free. Hope I can turned back time, in that way, I will go back to the past where my I did something which cannot be undone. I will make it right so my future will be as good as I planned. But everything happens for a reason. So here I am, all I can do is to regret the past, move one and face the future...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Plans has changed :) It was ready so i decided to publish it now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is nothing to regret dear. Even if you missed a chance in life there is always a second one. Maybe you aren't meant to achieve what you wanted as a kid because you are going to achieve something bigger. Why not?! everything is possible in this life. Just keep your head high and aim for the sky. Work hard and smart to get what you want. Your biggest enemies are fear and desperation. Other than that it will be all fine! I'm happy that you like this and stay tuned, the next part is going to be published tomorrow hopefully :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the advice. I've been so down lately, this help a bit. I'll read the continuation of this story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes the second part is even more interesting than the first one. I'm glad to know that i helped even a little tiny bit :) You know? there is no problem with feeling down and depressed. We are humans and our lives is consisted of up and downs. Naturally we will feel depressed when things doesn't go the way we want, and that's 100% ok. BUT what isn't normal is when you let the depression consume you from the inside for a long time. A day or two, or even a week or two of feeling depressed is fine in my opinion. But when it goes longer, there is something wrong and you have to save yourself from that feeling. Cheer up and go on. Nothing deserves to be sad about it forever. Our time in life is limited, so we have to make the best use of it! :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a best advice I received this day. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome really. I'm delighted to know that honestly. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm grateful to meet people like you. Keep writing inspiring articles. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Definitely! I will try my best always. Again, thanks for reading :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're always welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago