Behind the shadows: The starving cave (Part II)

13 67
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Part I of the story: https://read.cash/@hamedbkh/behind-the-shadows-the-starving-cave-part-i-f72b2ea8

This is the second part of my entry to the contest held by @Ozzyy and @Hanzell

PS: This story contains violence and gore

- What...What makes you ask a stupid question like this?! Of course I...was never there!

- Then can you explain why the smell of this cave is just the same as your rotten socks? Hahaha.

- Screw you Chris! This is not the time for your lame jokes. What do you see inside there? Anything interesting?

-Well I can assure you some kind of tribes lived here many years ago. There are various shapes engraved on the walls. They looks so old yet most of them are scary. People with weird heads, others looking like normal humans... But god! this aweful smell is getting stronger. Moreover, I feel like I'm being watched...

-They told us at school that the ancients drew their daily lifes on the walls as ...

Peter's history lecture was interrupted by a horrified wail from Chris:

-Oh my God! No wonder why this place stinks! This room is like an exposed graveyard! IT'S FULL OF DEAD BODIES!! Some of them are in the process of decomposition while the rest are nothing but skeletons! The amount of bones is unbelievable!

Peter almost fainted after hearing that. He was the sweetheart guy who can't even kill a bug, let alone being this close to a place full of dead people.

- Did I just hear you say bodies and human bones?! See what your freaking adventure made us deal with? Get out of there and let's just tell the police about this whole mess!

-Police?! You are joking I assume? Seriously now? Did you forget that we STOLE those radios? Do you want to spend hours being interrogated about those dead guys? I don't want to go to jail and I don't think you ...

Out of the blue, Chris paused mid-sentence, and his voice was replaced with a mix of vague noises: The clatter of something falling on the ground, a muffled scream and multiple rumbles. The whole series of unexpectable sounds made Peter lose his mind panicking. He grabbed the talkie-walkie shouting:

-What is going on there?! Answer me Chris! If that's one of your stupid pranks I swear I will kill you myself!

Nothing but an absolute scary silence.

-Christopher...Please say something..I don't know what to do now. I beg you brother, say anything!

Seconds felt like centuries for the devastated sibling. Finally the silence was broken by a whispering voice:

-From now on we will be whispering. It was watching me and I had to turn the talkie off because of your screams. It almost saw me. I almost peed my pants!

-Whoa...What? What do you mean with "it" was watching you? And what happened earlier? I almost had a stroke! If you are that scared then why don't you get your ass out of there and let us leave this cursed death hole!

-Stop screaming you jerk! What happened is that while talking to you, a few bones were in the way and I didn't notice them. Obviously I tripped and fell down. However, I think someone or more precisely something is here. As soon as I stood up, I saw a hazy figure. It was shaped like a human but far from being one. An enormous head with horns, quite tall body, Long straight nails. I haven't seen much because I only saw him for a second. I had to conceal my own scream, turn the radio and the flashlight off in an attempt to avoid him noticing me. It's possible that my mind is playing tricks on me too. The feeling of being watched is tearing my chest apart.

Peter's anxiety went utterly through the roof. He barely was able to hold back his tears.

-Chris please! Let's just go back home...I'm not asking much am I?

-Sorry man. But you have to pull yourself together. I can't go back now after the progress I've made. This cave is way vaster than how it looks from the outside. I'm now in the creepiest room one can ever see. I guess this room is used for voodoo magic and exorcism maybe? There are diverse weird symbols written with what I assume is blood all over the walls. This reminds me of exorcism horror movies.

The younger kid didn't know what to say, he was ready to kiss his brother's feet to convince him leaving the place. But when it comes to someone as stubburn as Christopher, even that won't work. So he only decided to play along

-Make sure you don't touch anything. You never know how those spells works.

-Sure thing. I'm in another place now. There are only two words to describe it: Absolute madness! It looks like a small chapel or something except that...Everything is made of human bones! The roof and pillars are decorated with skulls. There is even a giant chandlier hanging above a big round table with one, two,...thirteen chairs around it, all made of skeletons! As sick as it might sound, but this is fascinating! There is a staircase leading up...

Peter let go a sigh and replied:

-Let me guess. It's also made of bones and of course there is no way to stop you from climbing the stairs right?

-Yep! Smart boy! I'm walking my way up now. But I can hear some voices. Which means I wasn't hullucinating after all. Indeed I wasn't alone since the beginning. Avoid making any noise which can expose me to danger.

A couple of minutes later, Chris was whispering again:

-I'm hiding behind a rock few steps after the door. You won't believe this! I can see not only one, but five of those...creatures! My god how ugly and dreadful they are! Their figures makes the blood freeze in my vessels. They have huge bodies which with skinned flesh in some parts, the other parts are covered with what looks like scales. Their red faces are quite long. Small fully green eyes with a hole instead of the nose. Mouth is large with sharp teeth growing from the lips. They have short ugly horns in the forhead. Not to mention the long nails they have in hands. Trust me, their sight is not pleasant at all and it's assaulting my eyes.

-But what are they doing? It's quite loud there.

-It's not clear. They are crowded on something on the floor but ...Dear lord! Those monsters are eating a human being! They are shreding his flesh to little pieces with their nails and teeth! Blood is spilled everywhere! wait, they are rending his chest...How freaking gruesome is this! I can hear them cracking his rib cage from here. I bet you can hear that yourself. As I can see, the savages are after his heart. Yes. That's right! One of them has just pulled the heart out. He is wringing it to drink the blood coming out!

To be continued...

Part III: https://read.cash/@hamedbkh/behind-the-shadows-the-starving-cave-part-iii-826c73d1

12
$ 2.11
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @wakeupkitty
Sponsors of hamedbkh
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for hamedbkh
3 years ago

Comments

I can imagine Peter's disgust seeing dead bodies, or decomposing bodies. Okay, i'm reading this story backwards, LOL!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wah.. this is really so good... i can imagine them while reading here.. the voodoo thingy, so disgusting, seems like I'm watching a movie through your stories. 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? good to know that. Yes voodoo magic is disgusting indeed. I tried to make as spooky as possible to create a spooky atmospher for the story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're really good at it..do you like watching those kind of movies when you were younger. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my it's 10:30pm and I am alone in my bed now and I am thinking if I will go on the next part or continue this by tomorrow 😂. Scary ,but how come Chris is so brave enough.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's up to you XD I personally enjoy reading horror stories in bed at night haha. As for Chris, he is an early teen and most of boys that age are very curious. Although you will find more about him in the last part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This part is better then the first but somehow I cannot help thinking that Cris is nuts and makes it all up to make his brother feel miserable. I guess he didn't bring a camera with him? I wonder how old the siblings are and how come Chris has so much knowledge. Will he rob this place too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The sibling are in their early teens. Chris is the reckless type unlike his brother. As for how he has the knowledge and what is he going to do, that will be all revealed in the last part. Happy that you are enjoting this so far :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did enjoy it for sure. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This ia really nice, but why won't that guy leave?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! As for why he doesn't leave; the answer will be in the third part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Hamedbkh this is some pretty good stuff. I hope you'll be posting part 3 soon. Cheers

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Part 3 will be here very soon (maybe tomorrow). Stay tuned!

$ 0.00
3 years ago