What's left when everything's gone?

18 46
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

I just can't find the right words to say. I am disheartened knowing the fact that my hometown feels like a ghost town. The green turned brown and almost all that are up were now shattered: homes, trees, establishment, as well as the dreams. Some people were also gone missing for days because they are washed away together with their homes as the surge hit their homes. In my girlfriend's town, there was a student missing and was found dead after few days of searching. Though I don't know her personally, we are friends on Facebook and I pity the young girl's fate. She was also once a student of my girlfriend when she was still a grade nine student.

So yeah, these are just few of the heartbreaking things typhoon Odette had left.

We never expected it to be that extreme because we used to experience fair weather whenever there's a typhoon in our place. We are just too confident about it that we did not secure our valuable things. But never mind anyway because we are safe. Things can be replaced, life can't and yes, this is our reason to still celebrate Christmas. God has been so good that He did not left us before, during and after the typhoon.

I am over with the experience during the typhoon because we have overcome it. What is so hard for me to accept is the fact that my fellows here don't have homes or any comfortable shelter especially those who live by the shore. Their homes are totally washed out by the surge. I have a friend who lost everything they got and he was almost carried away by the gigantic waves.

This is how their place looked like. Literally like there's no home standing. All were crushed. Now how can they start? If I were in their situation, I would be crazy thinking about how would I start again especially that we have our baby Clea and she needs comfortable home to settle with everyday. This is just one of the many houses that were totally damaged. Almost all of the houses built near the shore vanished in a snap.

Yes we can build a house whenever we want but nothing can give warmth to us like what our childhood home gave.

Just to have something to rest on, they build a small shelter like this. Though this looks disorganized and unsafe, this is the only place that gives that gives them comfort whenever the night is cold or when it's raining. This small shelter is also cool on the inside no matter how sunny day it is around. That's how the power of leaves do.

Some families also use tent. I can't imagine them inside these tents during noon time because I know how hot it is inside. But, I did not see them complain about it. In fact, they are still thankful.

You know what surprise me is that despite what happened, people there are even got closer together than before. Everyone shared food whenever they have and they are happy eating together. This is one of the traits that I love as a Filipino. Despite the disaster, we still know how to be happy because we know we can overcome all the misfortunes. We stick to the famous saying, "IMPORTANTE BUHI!" (in English - What's important is that we are alive)

What saddened me most is seeing children on the streets with signage asking for help: food, water and hygiene kits. They are too young to experience such fate. They should be playing or studying.

It is really undeniably true that our province needs help. I don't know how the government will accommodate everyone but I hope they will still do. In these trying times, a helping hand is what we need.

I speak for them and not for my own because our home is not as damaged the others and we still have enough food on our table. We even have an electricity supplied by batteries. We are still blessed despite everything.

Now what's left when everything is gone? It's our faith in God.



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. πŸ˜‰ Let's get connected!

I apologize for not being here long time. It was just yesterday when the signal came back. I just hope the electricity will follow soon.

7
$ 10.19
$ 9.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.20 from @Ellehcim
+ 6
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Good to know that the faith in God is still there. His love will keep you guys going. β™₯️ I hope the hope and love is still there, too. Everything will be okay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Always. Our faith in Him won't vanish despite what happened. I believe we can overcome all of these. Yes, everything will be okay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's sad to witness what happened on the Visayas, the damage is devastating and I feel pity for those who got affected. I hope survivors will find ways to rebuild their houses and the government will do some actions to help those affected.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have you watched the news? Yeah, that's what I pray for as well. Our home is partially damaged but it can be fixed again unlike those who don't have homes. I am not sure if the government has taken an action because most houses here are still unfixed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the fact that you ended with your faith in God. In everything that happened, people still give thanks to God because they are still alive. This is what we call believing and having faith in God. So sorry about the incidence. May God help those involved. How is Clea doing?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How can I forget about Him? We owe our safety to Him, Princess. Clea is doing fine and I am happy we are all safe from the wrath of the typhoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga san ka? Buhi is waray2. Kakaawa naman mga nasalanta. Prang yolanda lng 😒

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Taga southern leyte po, ms. Jane. Super nakakaawa at worse pato kesa sa yolanda. Wala nga lang masyadong casualty kasi nakinig ang karamihan na mag evacuate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending prayers, kuya!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, ms. Bloghound. That's what we needed the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe jud kasakit ang nahitabo nato ,wana mi balay but still thankful kay naa pai kasilingongan ,ang uban gyud tawn walaπŸ˜₯

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Asa diay dapit injo? Kusoga pod diay diha? Mao lge oy arang paita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is unfortunate to see the images of how devastating the typhoon was. My prayers are with all those affected; I hope they have the strength and help they need to get back on their feet, and I am sorry for the lives lost :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for being compassionate, ms. Coqui. I don't know if they can recover a.s.a.p. as of now, the rain in our place is non-stop making flood in some areas and landslides too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tanging mga buko at mga kamote nalang siguro ang pang tawid gutom nila dyan 😒 kaya sana mabiggyan sila ng maraming donation apra makabangon kaagad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala naring buko kasi natumba talaga mga puno πŸ˜” at kung meron mang di natumba, wala na nahulog na lahat ng niyog dahil sa lakas ng hangin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing more than I wish and pray for but for the everyone to be able to rebuild their homes the soonest. Healing takes time but we have to keep moving on. Praying for strength through all this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I pray for as well. I pity those who have no home especially now that it's been raining for a week. We haven't recovered yet from the typhoon and here is the non-stop rain. Flooding some places and making landslides πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago