Not Everyone Has The Chance To Grow Old

11 18
Avatar for grey23espartinas
1 year ago

No: 50-12

August 25 ,2022

Sun is up in it's scorching heat and who would have thought that there was a recent storm that made classes suspended yesterday . As if nothing happens and Mr. Sun is alive and shining brightly again. Doing his task everyday , rise and set and give light continuosly for the whole world to see. Never gets tired of being a Sun.

An immortal Sun that exists around 4.6 billion years to date and could last according to experts for another 7 billion years or more. Adding years but not growing old huh? Would you want to live long like the sun? Or be an immortal like vampires perhaps?

According to Guinness World Records -The oldest living human on record who died in 1997 at the age of 122 is Jeanne Calment of France. Researchers stated that humans can live 120-150 years maximum. Beyond that and our body will have a complete loss of it's resilience to combat illness and may not recover from injuries anymore.

Many are scared to grow old. Fear of growing old coz somehow it connotes death. Anxiety of being left alone , or fear of being incapable or having no resources to sustain their needs when they grow old. Whose going to take care of them and many more anxieties that comes with growing old.

Here in the Philippines , we have strong family ties and it's common in every household to live with our elders. We give importance and valued their presence at home. I grew up with my grandparents and they have great influence on my personality and outlook in life. From teaching us household chores in detail , planning meals for the whole week , cooking , washing clothes upto how to maintain a soft and silky hair , it was all influenced by my granny.

Taking care of them was not hard for us . It was fun actually . Though there are times that my grandmother was a bit strict but it was all for our good. Our food was always freshly cook but budgeting was really hard coz one viand was not enough , lol! If there's a stew or veggies there must be something fried.

Many are afraid of it yet some are not lucky to reach that age. My Mom dies at the age of 51 , too young for us to take care of coz she's capable of everything before she was diagnosed with cancer that eventually lead to death. We were not able to see her getting old. A reward we realized later in life coz we don't have to worry about her in her late years. Not that we don't want to take care of her but she gave us the full privileged of focusing in our own respective families upon her early death. That's how mom's are right? My mom really does'nt want to be a burden to us.

"It's very simple. As you grow , you learn more. If you stayed at twenty-two, you'd always be as ignorant as you were at twenty-two. Aging is not just decay, you know. It's growth. It's more than the negative that you're going to die, it's also the positive that you understand you're going to die, and that you live a better life because of it." - Mitch Albom

Me? I want to reach old age. I want to see the world how it would change as i grow old. I want to witness my kids to have their own families. I want to know and learn more . I want to see changes on my face , how i would look if i turn 50,60 or 70. I want to witness the future of BCH , i want to spend my life with my friends enjoying a 20% discount in every establishments.

I am not afraid to grow old but i am afraid to lose my memory. My memory that will keep me company if no one else stay to take care of me. I don't want to be an immortal , just want to live long enough as human.

I don't want to defy aging , just want to grow old gracefully.

Thank you.

grey23espartinas

6
$ 1.02
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MaeAntoinette
Sponsors of grey23espartinas
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for grey23espartinas
1 year ago

Comments

Same as you ate. I want to grow older as well. And see the evolution of the world through out the years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes i want to tell my stories with my grandchildren and how i started here. hehe! Hopefully read. cash still exists when we grow old. Ang saya siguro if we could still exchange ideas and talk like this when we grow old diba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want also to grow old, having much more time for our lived ones is a blessing . And you're right thinking about growing old healthy is better than how to be rich and wealthy . Because even if you have much money, but you have no time to live more is useless.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, i want to enjoy and tell stories to my grandchildren just like my granny used to do with us. And my eldest always tell her dad to take care of himself so he could enjoy life after she graduated and she'll going to spoil us with everything we want when she's working already. That's a nice motivation diba ? Yung enjoy enjoy na lang pagtanda at wala ng worries. hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang tumanda. Growing old healthy is one of my goal in life. Nakakatakot lang kase na kapag tumatanda ka dumadami din Yung sakit 😢🥺

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Isa nga siguro yun sa worries ng karamihan kaya dapat hindi lang pagyaman ang gino goals dapat yung " Growing old healthy " nga para maenjoy din natin ng bongga kapag naachieve na natin yung pagyaman diba?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun nga e sabi sakin ng mommy ko pinupush ko daw to the limit Yung katawan ko mamaya di ko na abutin mga pinagpaguran ko 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tamaaa! Hinay hinay lang din para abutan natin ang pagtanda at maenjoy natin ang 20% discount sa senior, hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang saya nga non no Yung 20 discount sa sinehan at fastfood 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its really nice to grow old and see more of your grandchildren bonds with you and making most of the time with family. How I wish I could reach more age because in our generation, the mortality age is a bit young.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same goes with me madam, i want to experience all of it. I want to see changes from today upto my later years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago