If Doctors can Tell it to You Straight, How About Me? How can I Tell it To My Mom?

19 33

No:69-05

October 07,2022

" I was trembling as i got the result of my mom's biopsy ... my eyes are blurred and clouded with tears i ko can't see clearly the people in the lobby as i walk away from the receiving section. This can't be real! ".

January of 2015 when i got married . A 2 1/2 year of relationship brought us in an Altar . Prior to that event , i don't have plans to quit my job.

But after 3 months of travelling from the office to our home then in Alabang everyday , i got tired. My office was in Quezon City and travelling to and from the office took me 3 hours everyday. So i resigned and planned to look for a job within the vicinity , a work nearby from our home.

A month just pass by and my elder sister asked me to go home in our province, and so i did. I never thought it would be the start of another journey in my life. Where faith , our faith will be tested so hard.

That was April of the same year when mom told my sister that she felt a lump on her left breast and sometimes it ached. So after a few days they went to a doctor. Upon check up ,mom was referred to a surgeon for further diagnosis. That was the time that i went home and learned that she has a breast lump.

The next day after i arrived , we immediately went to the Surgeon's clinic that was referred to my mom. The doctor immediately scheduled my mom for an operation to take the lump out in her breast. According to him it was quite big already and to avoid further problem it was needed to be remove.

After processing all the necessary documents and different laboratories and various tests , mom was scheduled for an operation at the end of that same month. The lump taken out was as big as an egg already. The operation lasted for a few hours coz there are various small lumps all over her chest and armpit. The doctors made sure that there's nothing left.

I was there with my mom together with my aunt the whole 3 days of her stay in the hospital. I was the one too who brought the specimen to Manila Central University for biopsy. If we want to, the hospital can do it for us but we have to wait much longer for the results , like one or two months as the surgeon said. I don't want to wait that long coz we want to know exactly what to do worse comes to worst or pacify our weary hearts and sleep with no worries after the result.

So after my mom was discharged from the hospital , i went to MCU for biopsy. I was told that i will get the result after two weeks and if there's an unlikely result it will take another week for further testings of the specimen to make sure of the diagnosis . I drop by to my previous office before i went home that day. I was hoping and praying for a good result.

When i went home , i did'nt tell mom that we can get the result of biopsy after two weeks. I don't want her to fear the two weeks waiting period. I was also inform in the doctor's office that if there's no problem with my mom's biopsy then it would be release after the said time but if tberes a diagnosis then it will go beyond the scheduled date. I don't want her to think of the possible results if it goes beyond so i just told her that everything will be fine.

Mom was displaying a positive aura during her recovery period. She loves to garden. After just a few days you would see her in her garden , busy with her orchids and various plants. It's always a nice feeling to see her smile.

Two weeks gone by so quick and i made a call to the lab office following up the result. I was told that it's not available yet. So , i was disheartened coz i know now that the result is not good.

And so i was informed over the phone that the result is available already and i could just get it in releasing section of the lab office. I went ahead without telling my mom that i was heading to get the result of her biopsy. I just told her that i'm going to meet my officemates and have some kumustahan.

While walking in to the lobby , i kept on praying , praying that it won't be that bad. Praying that my mom's condition is curable , praying that we can manage whatever the result it is. I went straight to the releasing section and handed the receipt to the woman on duty and she handed me an envelope after she checked if its the right one then smile at me somehow. I did'nt open it at once. I took a deep breath first before opening it.

I was trembling as i got the result of my mom's biopsy... My eyes are blurred and clouded with tears i can't see clearly the people in the lobby as i walk away from the receiving section . This can't be real!

When i was on the ground level i looked for a place that i could seat. I saw a big tree encircled by a cemented structure and seated there for i don't know how long , crying... sobbing .... I let everything out by crying and i don't care about the students and people around looking at me . I just cry , cry and cry and cry.

After collecting myself , i get up and went to a mall. I called up my aunt and asked her to meet me there. Upon seeing my mom's sister we hugged each other tight and i was sobbing again , we both cried so hard. I told her that mom has Stage 3b breast cancer and it was already metastasized meaning spread in her other body organs to which we have to find out soon by series of testing again. We found out later that she has lump already in her lungs and liver , upgrading the stage of her cancer to Stage 1V-B .

I was wondering how doctor's get all the couraged to tell their patients the bad news as if it's just a clogged radiator of a car that needs to be cleanse then will work great again after cleaning.

I was so numb i don't know how to tell mom the bad news without breaking out myself. So my aunt accompanied me in going home and geez! believe me it was the most terrible thing you could ever tell to your love one. The most heartbreaking story you could ever tell. Telling your mom that she only has a little time to live.

We told her we are going to fight for her life , and she sob too hugging her didn't seem enough to comfort her. My youngest sister whose working as an OFW in Japan that time promised to do her best to sustain mom's medication. We all did our best , we fought the battle hand in hand , we are all wounded during those 1 and 5 months of war against cancer but we lose , we lost our mom.

And now it was 16 years after the battle , the wound is now a scar. We may be wounded but realized in the end that we never lose mom at all coz she will always be in our Hearts in eternity. We are more way stronger than before , ready to face whatever battle that this world may we stumble. Life must go on ...

Thank you for your precious time always!

To all my Sponsors ! " Salamat po ng Marami!"

Lead image from Unsplash.

grey23espartinas

8
$ 1.86
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of grey23espartinas
empty
empty
empty

Comments

What a touching story and sorry for the lost. It is on sad thing to know when our loved ones will die because we can imagine them leaving us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's true how heartbreaking it was to see your love one slowly fading away from you. Thank you for visiting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Losing someone you love is never easy. Keep your beautiful memories and moments with her alive. Hold on to those.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She's been away almost all her life from us coz she needs to work overseas to raise us well , all the memories are kept in my heart , i just hope then that we were able to have more beautiful memories with her but yes i'm holding on to those we had. Thank you sir !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love the person while they are at your side. Cherish that moment cause you'll missd that when they're not on your side

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do love her greatly it's so painful to lose her . She's been away to us ever since coz she's working overseas eversince we were a child coz she's a single mom for three . We only had a few years with each other physically and that was when we finish school and start working that i asked her to stop working coz it's us this time that will take care of everything. But it only took a few years and shes gone.. Thank you dear for dropping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is so hard but at least you had some more time with her... Ako consolation lang namin with my dad is ndi sya nahirapan ng matagal kase it was cardiac arrest tho sobrang biglaan lahat ng nangyare and the next thing I knew wala na sya

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really hard kapag sobrang mahal mo yung nawala but yes grateful talaga kami atleast nakasama pa rin namin sya kahit ilang years lang. Thanks sa pagbisita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My mom had a lump on her throat before and it was a hard for us as a family. Thank God ok naman siya, so I feel you in some kind of way.

Your mom will always be loved and remembered.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hirap kapag ganun no? Anyway thanks dear , hope maging ok mom mo ng mahabang mahabang panahon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

OG! I mean, telling it will be roo hard if its me. Even if inaasahan or may chance na di maganda ang result still, no one can ever be ready to that kind of bad news. Ang hirap ng ganon. Pano nga laya nagagawa ng mga doctor yon no, tch. For sure they feel sad din talaga. Anyways, ang tagal na pero di talaga maaalis ang sugat no. Pero nag heal naman na for aure so marka nalang ang natira. You are all so brave for doing it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo beb parang that time nauna pakong namatay sa lungkot pero yes scar na lang natira. It made me stronger talaga. Parang gusto siguro ng nasa itaas na harapin na namin yung pinaka mabigat para malakas na kami sa pagharap sa kung anuman ng wala man si mama.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang nakakalungkot laang ee need talaga super sakit ng maranasan, huehue. But I'm glad you are all okay and move on na talaga. For sure shes happy na din watching all of you na masaya and malakas sa mga hamon ng buhay UwU

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super hirap talaga magsabi ng mga ganyang suliranin, mahirap tanggapin ang katotohanan 😔😔😔😔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Totoo yun parang ako mismo yung namatay pagkabasa ko pa lang so pano pa yung feeling ng mom ko nung time na yun. Welcome back sissy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Girl na experience yan ng hipag ko, nakita ko yung hirap. Nagkasugat siya ng malaki sa sobrang bilis ng cancer niya tapos ang dami nyang komplikasyon. Madalas ako sa kanina , kaya alam ko ang feeling.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo nga sis those times were the most difficult days of our lives after nun parang kaya ko na lahat harapin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! I felt so emotional reading this and how you finally lost your mom to cancer. My younger sister also had a small lump on her breast but it was noticed on time and they did operation to remove it. She is doing fine today by God's grace.

It's the Doctor's duty to relay whatever problem their patient is going through in a good and comforting way so they don't cause another problem again. May your mom's soul continue to rest in peace. 🙏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah it was a tormenting experienced for me, thank you dear for your good words. I guess it was a tough job for Doctor's .

$ 0.00
1 year ago