Train Station

1 27

It’s 7:00 in the morning, I’m sitting on the carpeted floor while strumming my guitar with a coffee on the center table. I’m playing the song Magbalik by Callalily, a Filipino pop band. I stopped mid-chorus and decided to get ready for work. I stepped out my apartment at 7:20 and walked to the nearby train station in going to the law firm where I’m currently working at.

The weather was fine, just how I like it. I’m wearing my earphones listening to the song I was playing in the guitar earlier. After about five minutes, I reached the station and waited for the next train to arrive. A few minutes passed before the next train stopped to load passengers.

This was an ordinary day with me waking up, sipping my coffee, preparing and going to the office to do my work. Just my usual routine. Or so I thought. Turns out this day would turn my world upside down.

I rode the train for a 15-minute ride to the next station near the law firm. I was standing the doorway when my eyes shifted to my left side only to be welcomed by a pair of eyes directly looking at me. Like me, she was wearing her earphones but I can say her focus was not on the music she’s listening to but to something else. Shock was evident in her eyes, and a glimpse of an unnamed emotion she’s masking. We were just looking at each other for what feels like forever when the train stopped and I had to go. She looked down as I slowly turned my back to get off the train.

I arrived at the office with my mind occupied of what just happened. I can’t fully process everything, it felt like my mind was playing tricks on me. Did I just hallucinate out of the blue? But that’s impossible. How long has it been since I last saw her? Suddenly, waves of memories came crashing at me. To the day and place when she left me.

I arrived at the café she told me to go. I saw her sitting at the far-left corner, waiting for me. I was surprised to see she’s here first before I did. I already have an idea what would this talk be about but I’m choosing not to entertain the idea and give it the benefit of the doubt. I went to the table where she was sitting and she gave me a small smile.

I cheerfully greeted her but she only looked at me. What she said seconds after broke me.

“I am leaving for US, tomorrow.” A deafening silence reigned between us after. I already knew this was coming. She told me about their family plans two months ago and she also told me about this last week but it’s still painful to hear. I thought I’ve already prepared for that day but is someone ever prepared when the love of your life is leaving?

We were still happy with our relationship months ago despite knowing that she’s going to leave me soon but the past weeks was the turning point of us two. I felt her slowly detaching herself from me, like she’s making me get used to her absence. We talked about whether we should try a Long-Distance Relationship but she refused. She told me she doesn’t want it and we should just focus on building a stable career. We were both just starting our professional career – her as an architect, and me as a prosecutor.

Tears started to run down her face so I gave her my handkerchief which she was hesitant at first but still accepted. I would like to wipe her tears away but I know this is goodbye. I know she’s not waiting for me to say anything, we’ve already talked about this and I already told her everything I want to. I even begged her to stay, shooting my shot to a small chance that maybe it would change her mind. But I know she has dreams she’d want to fulfill and her family is her priority. I perfectly understand that but it’s still painful. All of this happening right now is panful.

“I’m sorry but this is goodbye.” She stood up after a while and gave one last kiss on my cheeks and muttered the words I always loved to hear.

“Take care.” I was finally able to speak. I turned my head to her direction and she gave me her sweetest smile.

“I will, so you too.” Then she turned her back at me and walked away. The love of my life, the only girl I ever loved just left me. I feel so numb until the tears I was trying so hard to hold back streamed uncontrollably down my face.

 

The day passed by so quickly it’s now time to go home. I walked my way to the shop where my car is under repair and they said they need few more days before I can get it back so I head to the train station immediately. I was reminded of what happened this morning the moment I stepped inside. A flashback came when we were staring at each and I remember that on that exact moment, ‘The Story of Us’ by Taylor Swift was blasting through my ears.

“Now I'm standing alone in a crowded room and we're not speaking

And I'm dying to know is it killing you like it's killing me, yeah?”

The train stopped and I was about to head out but I stepped back until the doors closed back. I waited until the next train station, heading to an address very familiar to me.  I slowly smiled to myself.

“I’d tell you I miss you but I don’t know how…” I know now, I thought to myself.

What a fateful day to ride the train.


Hello! ^^

Another short story that I wrote today. I didn't attend class because I got vaccinated so I just wrote this instead hehe.

Thanks for reading! Until the next one.

-glossyberrycraze

6
$ 6.46
$ 6.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Seems like a very nice love story, I hope it could have a happy ending. And by the way, I love Callylily ☺️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago