Bias Check: SEVENTEEN Edition

1 23

Hello! This took a while because of my thesis but here is the last part of my Bias Check Articles. šŸ„ŗ Last but not the least, SEVENTEEN! ^^

SEVENTEEN

Say the name, SEVENTEEN!

SEVENTEEN is the group that I stanned most recently. I started to stan them January this year but I also knew their group from way long ago. SEVENTEEN has 13 members: S.Coups, Jeonghan, Jun, Joshua, Hoshi, Woozi, Wonwoo, Mingyu, The8, DK, Vernon, Seungkwan, and Dino. They were formed also from a survival show, but I wasnā€™t able to watch it so I am not familiar with the system of their casting. I read that they were supposed to be seventeen members (hence their name) but four left from the line-up even before their debut. But they are SEVENTEEN because the group is consist of 13 members, 3 units (vocal, performance, hip-hop) and 1 group so when you add all those numbers, youā€™ll get seventeen.

S.Coups is the overall leader of the group and he is also the leader of the hip-hop unit. The hip-hop unit is consist of four members: S.Coups, Mingyu, Wonwoo, and Vernon. For the vocal unit, the leader is Woozi which is also their producer and the members of the unit are Woozi, Joshua, Jeonghan, DK and Seungkwan. The last unit is the performance unit which is consist of four members: Hoshi, The8, Jun, and Dino. Their leader is Hoshi, which is responsible for choreography and the overall performance of the group.

SEVENTEEN is one of the most popular and successful boy group in the industry. They are often labeled as ā€œKings of Synchronizationā€, "Performance Kings", "Theater Kids of K-pop", and "K-pop Performance Powerhouseā€ by various domestic and international media. They are also known as ā€œself-producing idolsā€ because they actively participate in producing, writing, and making choreographies of their songs. They have been releasing bops after bops since their debut and they have been bagging numerous awards since then.

They are under Pledis Entertainment which, since May 2020, was acquired by HYBE Corporation, making Pledis an independent label under it. HYBE is home for other groups such as BTS, TXT, and ENHYPEN which also have their own independent labels respectively. SEVENTEEN debuted on May 26, 2015 and is going on their 7th anniversary this year.

Bias: Hoshi šŸÆ

Horanghae! šŸÆšŸ’› My bias is Hoshi, or Kwon Soonyoung by his real name which is a main dancer, lead vocalist, and the performance team leader of the group. The term ā€œhoranghaeā€ was invented by him, because he is such a big big lover of tigers. Itā€™s a word play for horangi (tiger) and saranghae (I love you). Hoshi was not the member Iā€™ve known and noticed first, it was The8 because Iā€™ve watched him in a variety show before and also Mingyu and DK because they are part of the ā€™97 liners, a group of idol friends who are born in 1997.

My interest in the group was mainly influenced by TikTok, because of the few videos that appeared on my feed and that time, S.Coups and Hoshi really caught my attention and then eventually I was pulled by the horanghae impact more. šŸ˜‚ Some, or maybe most of you wonā€™t understand but there is a certain feeling that I get that makes me decide like okay, I will stan this group. I canā€™t explain it but there is a sense of ease, comfort and the ā€œhomeā€ feeling when I am watching or looking at them, itā€™s a similar feeling when I am with my friends. Thatā€™s why I said at the first part of this that I feel like I have a growing family (figuratively speaking) when I started to stan SEVENTEEN. Hoshi is my bias simply because he is like a walking happiness, a walking joy. If the term joy is a real person, then for me itā€™s Hoshi. Heā€™s been my source of joy lately. He always has this jolly vibe and his aura just radiates happiness. He is cute but can be very scary at times too. He has this duality of being cute offstage but he can also be very intimidating when performing. He choreographs most of the groupā€™s routine and I have high respect for that, aside from his professionalism. He once dislocated his shoulder during a performance in one of their concerts that he had to rush backstage to receive treatment and he went back to stage to finish the concert with the members and fans. He was voted by the members as the most hardworking one along with Woozi, and S.Soups chose him as the one who could be the leader of the group. He is one of the mood-makers of the group along with DK and Seungkwan. His stage name Hoshi means star in Japanese. Horanghae, Hoshi! šŸ„°

Ā 

Itā€™s not been long yet that I am officially a CARAT but it hits different from the feeling I have for the other groups that I stan, my main group of course is still BTS but SEVENTEEN also feels like home. I may regret stanning them this late but I promise to stay until the last say the name. šŸ’™


This is the last group for my Bias Check articles. You might be wondering why there is no girl group, I donā€™t know too haha Iā€™m really not into girl groups but I am a casual listener of groups like Blackpink, Red Velvet, and Aespa because of my sister.

One of the reasons I love these boys is because they are humble beings and they know how to look back and give back despite their huge success. These groups have made numerous donations, both as a group and individually and most of them are known to public because they are revealed by the beneficiaries themselves. ā¤ They also support various movements, charity groups, and advocacy campaigns like the call for equality and support for the LGBTQ community.

They have a beautiful relationship with each other that you canā€™t help but admire, they are a family. I donā€™t know it just makes me happy to see it.

Last but not the least, though fan wars exist, itā€™s a fact that they bring people together ā€“ people of different race, gender, age, and culture. And I think thatā€™s beautiful.


Thank you for reading until the last part! Until the next one ^^

-glossyberrycraze

1
$ 1.34
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Accckkkk! Ma'Kings. šŸ˜šŸ¤“ Di sila main fandom ko before pero kyaaahh! Pantay na sila nila Exo bb kooo. Begun stanning them when I was in Grade 10, way back 2016 and ackkk! Still stanning and idolizing them until now. Mas naloloka pa ako sa kanila this days lalo na 'nung nag-start na sila na mas maging manly and skilled pa.

Seungcheol's wifey here pala. Hihi~

$ 0.00
2 years ago