7 billion lights, 7 billion worlds

2 39

“Don’t disappear, because you are one great existence.”

That one line of a song literally made me shed some tears.

But before we get into it, I want to say, that is not exactly the line of the song but rather its translation. Yes, it’s not an English song but a Korean one. And I’m talking about BTS’ Mikrokosmos.

Mikrokosmos is one of the tracks in BTS’ sixth mini album, Map of the Soul: Persona which was released in 2019. Mikrokosmos 소우주 (souju) means a small universe. It is derived from the word microcosm which means a small world or universe or more specifically it means us, humans; the human race seen as the epitome of the universe.

The song Mikrokosmos of BTS refers to something that is smaller than the universe, yet a universe itself. And that is me, you, all of us. We are a universe by our own.

Going back, I really did shed some tears when I first read the English translation of this song. And that was just last week. To be honest, I was going through some hard times because of some instances in my life and now my thesis is torturing me. I have known this song since its release and it’s literally one of my favorite but I never did look up its translation since I normally don’t do it, I’m not gonna lie. I do it occasionally for some of their songs but it happens that I skipped this one. But even without the translation, I loved it. It brings me comfort because the song itself is beautiful, its melody is beautiful. And then I just suddenly thought of looking up for its English translation, and it left me in tears. The song (translation) goes like this (I hope you take time to read because this is really beautiful, it’s like a poem):

https://youtu.be/Fw7C6IsDYgI (this is the link for the song, if you might want to listen)

Twinkling starlight

Buildings with flickering lights

We’re all shining brightly

In our own room, in our own stars

 

Some lights are ambition

Some lights are wandering

People’s lights,

Each one of them is precious

 

In a dark night (don’t feel alone)

Like stars (we shine)

Don’t disappear

Because you are one great existence

Let us shine

 

Perhaps the reason this night looks so beautiful

Is not because of these stars or lights, but us

 

This part is the chorus:

You got me

Seeing you, I dream

I got you

In the pitch-black nights

The lights we saw each other

Were saying the same thing

 

The starlight that shines more in the deepest night

The starlight that shines more in the deepest night

The starlight that shines more the deeper the night gets

 

The rap part:

In one person, there is one history

In one person there is one star

Shining with 7 billion lights,

7 billion worlds

 

7 billion lives, the night scenery of a city

Is perhaps the night scenery of another city

The dream of one’s own, let us shine

You shine brighter than anyone else

One

 

Perhaps the reason this night looks so beautiful

Is not because of these stars or lights, but us

 

You got me

Seeing you, I dream

I got you

In the pitch-black nights

The lights we saw each other

Were saying the same thing

 

The starlight that shines more in the deepest night

The starlight that shines more in the deepest night

The starlight that shines more the deeper the night gets

 

From this part up to the end, are my most favorite lines:

The lights of the city, the stars of the city

I think about the night sky that I looked upon when young

The light that is called a human, the star that is called a human

In this very place that is full of them,

We shinin’

 

You got me

Seeing you, I breathe

I got you

In the pitch-black nights

 

Shine, dream, smile

Oh let us light up the night

We shine in our own way

 

Shine, dream, smile

Oh let us light up the night

We shine just for who we are

Tonight

 

Na na na na na na

Na na na na na na na

Na na na na na na

Na na na na na na na na

 

I put the lyrics (translation) because I want you to see how beautiful and touching it is. I was listening to it while reading the translation and that line in the third verse is what made me cry because I remembered all those times I felt like wanting to just disappear. It reminded me that I have a purpose, because I was really not feeling okay that time; I was doubting myself, my abilities, my capabilities, I was questioning my self-worth. But this song really comforted me. The message of the song is clear, I hope it also reaches you somehow. :)

I also wrote this because I want people to see that this is why we stan BTS and not because they are handsome nor we want them to be our boyfriends; well, aside from them being hilarious yet amazing human beings, this is it. Because of how dedicated they are in their craft, some parts are actually written by them (the rap line) and this is not the only song that the members (mostly rap line) have participation with, almost all their songs actually. We stan them because of their personalities, dedication, their songs, and the message they want to tell through them.

Also, I want to say that it’s okay if you’re not feeling okay, if you feel not the best of yourself, it’s definitely okay. Take some time off and breathe, do things that make you comfortable and happy. Talk to people you’re closest with and listen to some songs that brings you peace and comfort, just like what Mikrokosmos does to me.

Lastly, you are beautiful. You are a universe yourself, with your own moon and your own stars, so shine.

PS.  The world population is about 7 billion, hence the lyrics. 😊

4
$ 4.62
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I'm not a fun nor a basher, but you know po Godbless you. You are so dedicated on them. That being an inspiration make sense. Yung feeling na kahit nanghuhugas ka ng pinggan cla parin yung iisipin mo. May mga moments na nakalutang at naka tulala tayo dahil iniisip natin yung mga idolo natin na syang nag bibigay rason para bumangon hehehe.. Godbless po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you so much <3 i just really want people to view kpop fans in another perspective. that being a fan girl is more than just what they think we are. :) God bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago