2 Decades and 2: What I gave myself for my birthday  

0 17
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

I can now officially relate to Taylor Swift’s song – I’m now feeling 22.

I feel much closer to adulthood and the much bigger realities of this world, I feel closer to the responsibilities that awaits me but I am also excited because I feel one step closer to my dreams.

My birthday was actually days ago but I only had the time now to post anything. I want to thank @Charlotte for being with me through out the preparation of my small celebration. You know the rest. :)

It’s my 2nd time to celebrate my birthday in the middle of a pandemic and I was with the same people who were with me during my last year’s celebration, my Indian Mango friends. Two of my closest boy friends outside my circle were also there.

We had a mini barbecue party in the backyard of our apartment and I had so much fun; I hope my friends did too. We had overnight at my twin girl friends’ house and I was happy to be able to do that again with them after some years. We had heart-to-heart talk and watched a movie we didn’t even finish watching. I was so thankful we get to do that again because I really needed it at that time. I missed them so much. I hope we’ll be complete the next time.

I also received gifts from my friends! I received a BTS themed coloring book. It made me so kilig because it was a customized one. I also received two pairs of earrings from one of my boy friends and I was fluttered because I didn’t expect that I’d actually receive a gift from him. He is the silent type of guy and we used to argue sometimes before when we were in senior high school but we are really good friends now. He said those are just stocked in their house but I still feel happy because he still thought of giving them to me. The twins bought me a cake and they let us stay in their house. We played cards and they taught us to play Mahjong which is really addicting, but don’t worry, there was no money involved. We played just to have fun. 😊

Also grateful to my family, especially to my brother for funding my small celebration and to my Mama, for telling me she's proud of me. It really means a lot. My closest friends also greeted me and that’s what matters most to me. That they still took some of their time to send me a message and greet me even if we barely talk these days.

My small celebration almost didn’t happen because unexpected things came up and I almost don’t want to celebrate at all but I’m glad I still did. It was one memorable birthday. I am so thankful to these people, they are the best.

Thank you, Lord, for my life. It has been a roller coaster 22 years. There may be times that I want to give up but I am always reminded why I need to hold on and keep going. Life is not easy, but it’s beautiful.

I wrote an article before entitled “22 Things I Learned Before I Turn 22”. And I read it again a day after my birthday. It’s still the same, except for the fact that the friendship breakup I talked about in it, is over. I made peace with my past and I can say it was the best thing I did this year, so far. I consider it also as a gift for myself. A gift of peace, of love, to give forgiveness and to ask for it.

Here’s to my 22! Happiest birthday, self. You are still young. You can do so much so hang in there a little more and keep going. You have bunch of good people around you so never be afraid to be alone. You’re now 22, and just like what BTS says, life goes on.

Here is the link for for my “22 Things I Learned Before I Turn 22” article, if you might want to read:

https://read.cash/@glossyberrycraze/22-things-i-learned-before-i-turn-22-b15f0227


Thank you for reading. :)

2
$ 0.85
$ 0.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of glossyberrycraze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for glossyberrycraze
2 years ago

Comments