Three aromatic plants.

29 40
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Aromatic plants

I consider myself a lover of plants. In my garden I have many, but this time I will only talk about the three aromatic plants that I have. In my garden I have basil, rosemary and oregano plants.

They, apart from being important as species in the preparation of our meals, have in their composition the basic elements to treat many diseases. Each of them acts in a different way in our body, although they have the same function.

Basil plant:

There are several types of basil plants. I will refer only to one type of them, the broad green leaf, sweetish and minty smell with small white flowers.

It’s also known by the name of basilic and alfábega. Its scientific name is Ocimum Basilicum.

This time I want to mention some of the benefits that are obtained by having this plant at home. There are many benefits which is why I recommend having it.

Apart from the fact that it is a plant that, for its pleasant taste, is used to flavor sauces, it is also useful for its smell, since it makes it unpleasant for some insects in the garden, so this effect helps keep pests away from our plants.

Basil Uses:

. The infusion of basil leaves is great for removing phlegm from the lungs as well as in influenza, bronchitis and pneumonia.

. Drinking juice from the leaf is a perfect aid in the treatment of gastritis, flatulence, intestinal colic, etc.

. Making a poultice with the leaves and rubbing them over your body allows mosquitoes not to bite you, especially when we are in an open area of ​​the garden or in the field.

. Cooking with these leaves in our meals helps to have better digestion, helping to avoid constipation and its unpleasant consequences such as colic and hemorrhoids.

. It acts as an antiparasitic when drinking juice made from the plant.

. Placing the poultice on the wounds is good, as it has healing abilities.

. It has antibacterial action when consumed.

In addition to many other effective actions in our body.

Rosemary plant:

This is my rosemary plant. It’s a branch that I planted from a mother plant but it’s already dying, I like to have rosemary as it’s delicious to season fish and some stews with it.

It’s a plant that grows in a shrubby way, with many branches covered with small elongated green leaves. Its scientific name is Salvia Rosmarinus.

It’s also a herb known from ancient Rome and Greece, either for its healing purposes or for its use to ward off bad influences or witchcraft. In the images of ancient Roman figures you can see people with branches of rosemary to give them luck in love. It was very important at the time of the black fever since it was used as a purifier of the environment, something that is still used today.

Rosemary uses:

. As a poultice, it’s a relaxant for joint pain in rheumatic and arthritic conditions and in bone injuries due to trauma.

. The essence of its leaves can be useful against certain skin conditions.

. To avoid being bitten by mosquitoes, the crushed leaves are rubbed on the skin.

. Consuming the leaves can relieve stomach inflammations, respiratory conditions such as coughs, phlegm and tonsillitis.

. The infusion is useful in menstrual and abdominal pain.

. As an infusion, it’s excellent to reduce intestinal colic and flatulence.

. It is excellent against bacteria, fungi and as an antiseptic in the body.

. It favors bile secretion into the stomach in case of gallbladder inflammation.

These are some of the many uses that exist. But the important thing to remember is that we must use plants with caution.

Orégano Orejón:

This is a shrub-like plant with very weak branches that grows in a sinuous way and with large ear-shaped leaves, hence its name. The leaf is green and textured on its faces.

It is one of the seasonings in my meals and it also has many uses in home medicine. Its scientific name is Plectranthus amboinicus.

French oregano, Mexican mint, or Spanish thyme are other popular names for oregano orejón.

Uses of oregano orejon:

. The crushed leaves give off a sumo that when placing a drop in the inner part of the ear usually acts as an analgesic, anti-inflammatory and bactericide.

. The infusion of its leaves is used in infections of the respiratory tract with or without phlegm, in tonsillitis, bronchitis, flu. Etc.

. The infusion of its leaves is also useful in skin conditions.

. The infusion is also useful for intestinal colic, constipation and inflammation of the stomach.

 -------------------------------------------------------------

 From what you can see, these herbs, apart from giving food a lot of flavor, give flavor to life as natural medicines that help us improve the conditions of our body.

It’s not advisable to take them or apply them without the recommendation of people who have knowledge about the doses and ways of their use or their consumption.

It’s also not recommended to be used by pregnant women or infants due to the side effects that its misuse could cause.

I personally use all my plants as adjuvant therapy along with other medical treatments in case of severe pathologies. Only in the most common cases do I prepare the infusions always respecting the concentrations, without reaching abuse in the takings or in external use.

8
$ 2.33
$ 2.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @minimaus
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I have this aromatic plants too in my garden.I am using them in many foods and against diseases too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good that you have them, it is a true treasure for those who manage to know its benefits both in culinary arts and to combat diseases.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how you can use the plant if it's that small. We would call them herbs not species.

All the best for 2021 dear friend. I hope there's luck on your way. 🍀💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The way to use these plants is to cut their tips. These are the daughter plants. The mothers are in larger, bush-shaped pots. The rosemary mother plant is drying up, it is more than a year old but I think I did something that he did not like and now he says goodbye. To season I only need a few leaves, so the plant has time to grow a lot. I just season the stews.

Have a happy end of 2020.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh you have those plants! I only have oregano and basil at home and i love putting them into food. I don't have rosemary but i heard it's great qhwn you use it for roasted meat

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Put these herbs in meat, fish or pork. Baked, roasted, or rubbing the herbs to fry, they give them a very different flavor than usual.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That i already know. I always put basil and oregano in sauces but i really haven't tasted rosemary before

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's what I mean dear. Put those rosemary herbs in your meals and you will see the difference in flavor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll look for that here or I'll try planting some soon because it's an uncommon plant here and not everyone plants that so I'll need to look around

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And the rosemary plant is a more difficult plant to maintain at home. At least it is difficult for me to have her well, unlike basil and oregano, which are more wild plants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then this is gonna be a struggle if i try to grow my own rosemary ;;-;; wish me luck because i just bought seeds after going to the market

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck! Take photos of your planting so that you can later show it to see how it goes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's gonna be a while but i managed to grow a few plants this December but they're mostly non edible, just decorative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As it is nice to see that someone grows herbs, they are also good for treating diseases.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your plants are wonderful. Of the herbs I have rosemary, mint, sage and basil. I don't have oregano.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How well you also grow aromatics, it is excellent. I had mint, thyme, yerba buena and others, but they are over and I can't reproduce them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These plants are wonderful. They have beautiful aromas and very wide range of benefits. Oregano is used as pizza spice. There is rosemary repel usage against mosquitos. Thank you so much and keep your garden green and grow more of this plants.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always keep them in the garden. I have had many others but right now they are gone. This oregano is not the one with small leaves, it is not used in pizzas, the smell is stronger than the oregano with small leaves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I said it is used because of aroma and taste. I winter many plants need much care, warmer places. Yes they are gone for now, but in spring you'll rebuild your plants and you will happy again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here it is summer all year round except for some storms that occur in the months of June, July and August of the rest it is always summer. Plants sometimes need certain changes and you have to discover their language to know what place they like best to be.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That looks so magical. So you have ability to understand that language? That is so cool. Anyway, plant lovers need to know a lot about herbs and they will be beautiful for their masters. But, plants can't have masters, just keepers and healers and they will paid that care with beauty, freshness, smell...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is the language plants use to communicate, it is not magic. If they like what we do for them they tell you that everything is fine with their flowers, aromas, colors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My mother loves plants very much. She loves decorative flowers and try to decorate with them balcony, and even to plant them in yard, with fertile soil. It is important to give flowers gentle words to bloom and be strong and beautiful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sing to them and I talk to my plants. When they are sad, I beg you to forgive me for not taking good care of them. I love my plants !!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is true love. And I'm admiring your efforts to make your plants to be more progressive. That is very kind from you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your good comments, you are very nice commenting and I realize that you also like plants. Maybe you won't plant them, but at some point you will notice doing it. Hugs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I used to plant potato, garlic and onion, and tomato as well, we are building garden for their grow. It is not very much, but for our use is quite enough. We don't need to buy in shops vegetable for some time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is great! I do not grow potatoes, I have not yet discovered how to make the plant continue its growth so as not to dry out.

Tomatoes, peppers and chili peppers are my favorite crop.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, very delicious and healthy!

$ 0.00
3 years ago