The wild life of my Copito.

29 66
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Here's a cat story, it so happens that today I read friend @coquicoin's post about a cat guest she has in her home. Her son has a friend who is a cat owner and he went on vacation for a month and left his cat in the care of our friend.

I hope she does very well in the remaining weeks with this unique feline. At home we now have two kittens, my older cat Copito and my youngest one, Meme. Copito is an outdoor cat, he stays all day long in my house, but during the evenings he goes out to walk around the houses and the street.

My Copito.

That's my guess, but there are times when he stays lost for up to 5 days. We worry at home, not knowing where he is but then he comes back.

He would always come back with some injuries on his body, he would lose nails, whiskers, fur and come home kind of dazed.

I've been reading about cats because I wanted to find out why my Copito always does the same thing. What I have read has left me disturbed, because according to cat connoisseurs these guys go out in search of their cat pleasure, that is, females in heat. They see these females in heat and that's when the male hormones go on a rampage and makes them go crazy.

Cats under the dominance of their hormones can end up fighting cats with better attributes than them, faster cats, stronger cats, and so on. They can lose the fight, but they don't retreat, this is because the hormones do not allow them to do so until their sexual desire is dealt with.

This is why month after month I watch my cat lose body parts and it doesn't seem to bother him. The things I have read says that they even lose their sense of direction and they don't remember where they live and things like that.

At first, because I was ignorant of all this information, I used to scold my cat when he came back broken. I would tell him he had no common sense, he has no claws left on his front paws, his front teeth are all gone and the bottom teeth are on their way to extinction.

He was lost for the last 5 days and came back yesterday, when I saw him I just felt like crying. One eye is closed, completely swollen and reddened, with a hole near his ear for a mark similar to a fang, two holes further but shallower and in his fur you can feel the scars of other dressings.

I don't know what to do with him anymore. He's a cat who is used to sleeping outside and now I'd like him to stay at home, but he is not one of those cats… He is free.  In the evenings, if the door is close, he comes to stand next to it and sits there waiting for someone to open the door for him to go out.

I stand there waiting for him to say something and he does, he usually turns and looks at my son or me. Of course my son and I pretend we are not looking at him, but he immediately makes a little meow and goes to the door. If we don't listen to him he continues to meow more frequently. 

 We open the door for him and he, with a lot of cat-like sophistication, goes to the garden gate and leaves. He won't be seen again until the next morning.

As soon as this restriction is over I am going to take him to the vet. I’ll have him neutered so we won't have to worry about him going out anymore. I believe that by doing this procedure he will stop releasing so many hormones and will stay indoors.

I would like him to spend the last days of his life here at home, quietly. With us not having to constantly worry about him having 4 or 5 days on the street and much less about having to heal his war wounds.

Today he already has started to heal his eye, his eyelid is not closed and he has less periocular redness. Also the hole in his jaw is closing a little… But on his body you can still feel the scars covered with his white fur.

I wanted to talk about our beloved youngest cat, Meme, too but the whole post went on commenting about the wild life of my domestic cat. I suppose his story will be for another day, so stay tuned for the day I’ll tell you about this other kitty that came to our house to captivate us with his antics and his love.

The photographs are of my two kittens and are my property.

Thanks to my dear readers, commentators and sponsors!

22
$ 17.88
$ 16.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 15
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Awwww. When you finally get him neutered he will not be that way anymore. Ah hormones. I've never heard of a cat being that damaged before. Maybe the other cats in your area are really brutal huh? Poor cat. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sister, the best thing you can do is to neuter him. You should also do it with the younger one. It is a simple procedure that improves their health and lengthens the cat's life, so they will have more time with you. Beautiful cats. Greetings to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's what I will do. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww so naughty Copito. I think that's natural for male cats to wander and not go home for days. My gf has male cat too named Diego and Diego was always missing but he will return after 5 days or one week.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, so it's a cat custom, I didn't know that. Thank you for saying so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww I'm sorry to hear that! Copito is okay now, right?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is much better. But it shouldn't be long before he's out again. It's crazy this way of proceeding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my colleague before had a cat who was also very outgoing, he lost hope of getting her back when she left home and had been missing for a week. When the cat came home, she was bloody! He brought him to the vet and she survived that. Then she left again after recovering...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My Copito always comes home. Badly wounded but he comes back. It would cause me great pain if he didn't come back here with my son and me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time learning these about cats. I feel sorry about Capito getting hurt. It's just good he knows how to go back home to your house.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, he comes home but it takes him many days to return. 5 or 6 days is a long time outside without eating and just fighting with the cats and waiting for his turn to copulate. It is a very sad story for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really sad indeed. I wish he will just stay indoors or at least within your compound.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It amazes me to know that Kopito will go for such days and still finds the way home back. Thank God his eye is healed and I think you should cage him or what?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

He cannot be caged because he is used to being free. He comes home, eats, grooms himself, plays with us and when he is satisfied he goes outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, my friend for the tag. Poor Copito, he seems really wounded. Perhaps, it's better to neuter him. While he isn't, he will keep running away from your home every time he is in heat. I'm waiting now for the post about Meme.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meme is cute and naughty. I am waiting for the estrangement to be eliminated to freedom to leave. Taking both cats to the same vet. And get them neutered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cutie cat. We have many at home 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

With having many cats I imagine that none of them are special.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. You're right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I kinda chuckled a bit finding out the reason behind his disappearance. He's like a teenage boy finding out about love of some sort. The part when he came back all beaten up is quite sad though

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You said it yourself, it's sad to see him come back like this. At first I used to scold him because I didn't understand why he does those same things all the time. But reading this information about hormones now I understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Copito looks really adorable. I wish I have a cat like that. I will wait for Meme's story, too. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ok, Meme's story will come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can't do anything against cat nature. That is the biology.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think I can do something I just hope that by the time I can do it, it won't be too late. I have also read that by neutering the hormones are not produced in such an amount as to drive them crazy and they stay home longer. I want to be able to take both my cats to the vet and get them neutered. I don't want to keep seeing him come in so injured. I hope the estrangement can be lifted and go out with them to this vet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, neutering may be the solution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Copito looks a lot like one of my two cats, Xanthulis ! He is always hungry and asking for more food!! You can't believe how loud he is shouting when he hasn't eaten enough.. I will leave a picture in my next article to compare him with Copito.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is a good idea. I want to see who looks like my Copito. My kitties want to eat all the time too. I read that they have no limits to eat. But one thing I taught Copito is not to meow like crazy when he wants to eat. I just ignore him when he meows loudly and tell him no. I think he associated "no" with not meowing loudly and he understood. My kitty Meme when he came home also wanted to meow like crazy for food and my Copito taught him what he knows about it. Now they both meow very small and eat more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago