The friends of life.

9 20
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

It feels like everything that happens in your life seems to happen through many years, but it doesn't. Life is just a breath. I remember it was only yesterday that I went to my elementary school, where my parents didn't allow me to have friends. The people I met were classmates and I could never tell them that they were friends to me because my father would not allow us to use that word.

From unsplash

After elementary school I never saw my beloved classmates again. I went on to higher education and there, being in my second year, or the eighth year in other educational systems, I met my first friend. But by the end of that year my first and only friend went to study in another city, they moved out and then I didn't see them again for several years.

I finished my ninth year and decided to go to study at the university hospital in nursing school. There I would study for three years and obtain my degree as a professional nurse and a bachelor. Those three years were wonderful. I met many people, made several friends and we connected with each other throughout my life. We always see each other and talk about our years at that school.

Those were good days! In addition to learning everything I needed to be a good nurse, I was taught about many things on daily life that I didn’t know yet and that to this day I keep. My nursing professors were the best professionals for health education concerning my field of nursing.

At the end of my degree, they gave us a contract to practice nursing in another city and in the meantime, we would enjoy a three-month scholarship of half a nurse's salary. It was the coolest thing for me, the best part of my life was about to begin. I accepted it behind my father's back, who, as always, didn’t want me to have any kind of relationship with anyone so that it would not “corrupt” me. He used to say that we had no friends and that our only friend in life would be him, I never accepted that, because by not allowing us to have friends, that already meant something bad for me.

I began to have a double life, one at home hiding stuff from him and another outside, with my teachers, colleagues and patients.

My biggest support was my mother, she wanted us to study and become independent. To have nothing to do with Dad and his crazy ideas, she said that we respect him as our father but that each one should make his own life.

I graduated, went to another city, worked for 18 months and then I had to go home. My mother became seriously ill and I could not leave her alone. So I quit my job, meanwhile I devoted myself to her, she was receiving treatment for uterine cancer and after she got all of her treatment, I started looking for work and I found it. Always by the hand of God, who never allowed me to be alone.

My mother had a bad prognosis, the doctor told me that she would only live for three months despite her cancer treatment and I believed him. I shouldn't have, but I believed him. All I did was cry for my mother's deterioration from radiation therapy but when she finished the therapies she began to recover, and I was still waiting for her to die. The three months passed, then six, the year passed and she never got worse again. She always got better until she was discharged. She remained for more than 20 years, until it all started again

When I had 5 years working as a nurse, I decided to go to a university and start studying medicine. I already had in my DNA the information to continue with patients but at another level.

I could never get the idea of ​​studying medicine out of my mind and heart. So I did it. But I didn't want to study in the same city where I studied nursing, now I wanted to go to another city, to the other pole of my country. Where snow fell, there was mist in the day and people spoke in a different tone.

They were the most wonderful years of my entire life! I met another family again for my whole life. I met many people, cultures, hospitals, people, plants, animals… God, it was great! The best of my entire existence was living there.

Sure, not everything was magical. There were many, many difficulties, but none that I could not solve. But the best part of all was that I denied the ideas that my father tried to instill in me during my youth, that there were no friends.

I met so many wonderful people. I still have contact with many of them. Sometimes we were able to meet. I made so many friends, people who helped me, who supported me, who were with me in so many moments, that if they had not supported me, I would never have been able to finish studying. Because it was difficult to go to study without anyone providing me with financial resources for that, I did it alone, but always hand in hand with God, and with many angels that he put in my way.

My best friend, my mother, who waited to see me graduate and then died, after suffering from cancer again, this time a fulminating lung cancer.

6
$ 5.14
$ 5.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @elana
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Kind of jealous that you enjoyed your educational life that much! You got to travel so much around your own country and even got to meet so many people from and see the difference in culture per region. I'm still waiting for that day where i can travel around my own country too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you plan it well you will achieve it. I only did it to study and work and indirectly it served me as a culture by learning the history and geography of my country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still though, you have unbelievable luck as you grew up. Whilst mine was pretty balanced out that i don't feel my luck at times. I'm still hoping that work would allow me the luxury of traveling places. Either in my own country or outside it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your school time and years of study were great no matter your father. I am not sure if the doctor was right. No one knows how a person response on a treatment. If it comes to that doctors are in most cases wrong.

It feels to me my life runs back to where I started.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is precisely what I meant when I wrote that I believed him. and I shouldn't have. Doctors do not own life. We are instruments to help and we should only tell the truth but give hope, not destroy people's hopes.

All my life I went through many difficulties but that did not diminish my perseverance, much less did not kill my spirit of positivity. Everything has a reason in life.

By the way, why do you say that you return to your starting point?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your father had the wrong attitude in upbringing. He wanted to dominate you. Friends exist and are worth a lot in our lives.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Friends exist, I think your father had a bad experience, and he passed them on to you, but you realized that it is not like that, I'm sorry about your mother ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, it was not. He was very friendly. He just wanted to use this intimidation so that we would always be home. Like a kind of domain. That he did not succeed. He only could with my mother.

Yes, thank you, I'm sorry for what happened to her too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's good that your father couldn't with you ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago