The consequences of my bad habits.

40 69
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I was a smoker for many years. I started while I was still in nursing school, when I was about 17 years old and then I kept on smoking for about 10 years. But this is a story already told, I just wanted to make a preamble to the following.

Today I have the consequences of having damaged my lungs with cigarettes, adding to this fact is my genetics which have a history of lung inflammations in almost all the generations following my parents, and we are already on the third.

From unsplash.

I continually suffered from respiratory ailments while I was enduring the cold at the university where I was educated, but I love cold weather and always endured my respiratory ailments for many weeks. Until I decided to take a good treatment to completely eliminate the condition.

I quit smoking because it prevented me from having enough inspiratory capacity on the steep streets where I had to walk every day. The city is built on a mountain range so to walk down to the university I had no problem, but whenever I had to walk up I always arrived home panting.

I spent all this time thinking about whether or not to quit smoking, until I did.

Then I moved on to other cities with tropical climates, like the rest of my country. But there the road dust affected me again. To the point that the ENT doctor who was treating my tonsil problems, which were very frequent, warned me that I should move to a place where I would not inhale so much dust.

I couldn't really think on a place like the one that he was suggesting, because I spent the last 18 months of my studies in a purely agricultural and cattle-raising town where the authorities took very little care of their roads, since what mattered to them was to take advantage of the riches of the land.

So wherever I went, there was land traffic with poorly maintained roads and a lot of dust, but I was able to resist. The last treatment I had there was very traumatizing, injections in the muscle every other day for up to 4 times.

from unsplash

I made it, my tonsillar affection went away for the rest of my internship there and it just came back already being in my busy city today. Apparently this is where I am less frequently affected by respiratory infections.

Today I am affected again. I have bronchial spasms, they do not limit my daily activities but I do have a wheezing in my chest at night.

Because of this I have not yet been able to get my first covid vaccine. Apart from my desire not to do it voluntarily, now there is the fact of my constant bronchial wheezing.

I take some infusions of my plants, which I know as very appropriate for respiratory ailments. The “oregano orejon”, the “small oregano”, this is the one used in pizzas, also “malojillo” and “Santa Maria” as well as fig leaves and soursop leaves. They all help me, I don't take them together and I don't take them always, but from time to time I take them and they are helpful.

We have to be responsible with our body, I'm not going to say that I regret making bad decisions since these decisions helped me to be what I am today, but I also know that there are many people who smoke and nothing happens to them.

Their bodies are more resistant, they don't have unfavorable genetic inheritance and they are not frequent smokers in many cases.

I’ll tell you several cases of patients I have seen in my professional life with tumors in their bodies related to their smoking habits.

I had one patient who was very physically active, exercised, took care of her meals, and had a very good attitude, but she often smoked a cigarette or two for many, many years of her life. She came to my office for a check-up on her abdomen because it was routine for her job.

Everything was fine until I got to her bladder, it had a small lump, that's when I started asking her questions and the only detail in her life was her smoking habit.

Then she went and did all her studies and tests. She came back the following year for another check-up and there she told me that her tumor was cancerous, she was treated with all the needed protocols and came out of it all fine, according to the studies it was thought that this tumor had something to do with smoking.

I saw a different lady with a tumor in her pancreas. She was not so lucky… She died months after they tried to treat her for pancreatic cancer. It was detected too late, her disease was brought thanks to her smoking habit.

Another patient also came to me and all she presented with was loss of taste and smell. She used to smoke exhaling the smoke through her nose and of course also her mouth. She did not die from it but she spent many years of her life with no taste for food and no perception of smells of any kind.

What I mean by all this that if we can live peacefully without having to smoke it would be the most sensible thing to do. We don’t know when the date of our death is but what we do know is that smoking accelerates the predisposition to a more rapid death by some disease caused by this bad habit of smoking.

I thank all my readers and my kind sponsors for their renewals and follow up.




23
$ 19.15
$ 17.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Ugh imagine getting sick from 2nd hand smoke. This is one of the reasons I would get angry with my neighbors. Tsh, took them almost a year to stop smoking in front of my room window. Some people just don't care about their health and even involve other people. The nerve of some people.

Anyway good thing you already stopped smoking. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not think you were a smoker way back. Good thing you were able to stop it coz it seems too tough for others to restrain themselves from smoking..

My father had tonsil removal because of this bad habit. He stopped smoking for a long time. Although he smoked again but just seldomly. One stick is enough.. I guess he got a huge lesson from it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was not difficult for me to quit smoking. One day I decided to quit and the next day I did it and I kept on doing it and I continue to do it until today. So your father went from smoking a lot to smoking a little. If he still smokes, he is still a smoker.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that's why I've never smoked, aside from the fact that I hate smelling like cigarette smoke. My Dad who smoked for 20 years, he was up to a pack a day, later developed COPD. And as I always helped him with his inhaler and nebulization, I know it was all a result of his smoking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, that's the pathology where all chronic smokers end up. My consequences will hopefully not take me there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray for a healthy set of lungs for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's a great decision stopping it dear... my father was a smoker too but he stopped when he became a follower of Jesus.. he said it was a miracle because he had been attempting to stop but doing it on his own was impossible.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good thing he was able to do it too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents were both smokers. My mother left it first, and my father had to leave it forced because he had a heart attack when he was still young, at 39 years old. I was never interested in smoking. And I tried cigarettes a couple of times, but the truth is that I have always disliked the smell of cigarettes. And you are right. We have to take care of our body, is the only we have and the harms aren't reversible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The consequences of our bad decisions are paid for even if we have come to our senses along the way. It does not mean that the consequence will not happen. Your father had a heart attack at a very young age. There is an underlying pathology there that was exacerbated by smoking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father also had high cholesterol. But he was a heavy smoker when he was young. He smoked more than two packs a day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually I am telling to my Papa, The was a smoker since I was born. and he can't help to stop. That's made me decision not to try that cigar for I seen him and I felt disgusted with me too smell.

Now he also shows unending cough.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is one of the consequences of smoking. Hardened lungs that cannot move the phlegm out of them normally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you well and praying for your strength. There's really consequences in every thing we do. I am glad that you were able to stop smoking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You said it yourself, there are consequences for everything done, both good and bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though everybody knows smoking is injurious to health. Many of them hesitate to give up for the the sake of satisfaction they get out of it. Reasons are many - some of them take it for pleasure while some of them take it to overcome depression. Whatsoever the result is one - bad health. Good that you quit smoking cos some of them find it difficult to stop.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You said it very well. Everyone has their reasons for sinning but that does not eliminate the consequences of my sin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was happened to my father too. Due to smoking and drinking, there's complication with his lungs and now with his kidney too. Get well soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad what happened to him. These are the consequences of two bad habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my father was a heavy smoker too, and he suddenly stopped smoking and the effect after it is so bad. He had heat stroke and that affect the way he walk. And many other more complications haysss. We should really take care of our body well, that's it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What I understand is that your father had a mild stroke. If he left his motor activity malfunctioning, it means that he also suffers from high blood pressure. In addition to the smoking habit is very bad all this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeas, he's also high blood and his sugar also

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you will get well very soon and I admire you for quitting the bad habit many years ago. It is true that our bodies will eventually ask us to pay for the things we do to it. I hope smokers out there will read this and quit too. One reason why I cannot help but roll an eye when someone smokes in public.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those of us who quit smoking understand it much later. That it is bad to pollute the environment of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are even those who smoke while carrying their kids or in their presence making the kids inhale the second hand smoke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to know that you quit smoking, ate. Get well soon po. ❣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smoking is really dangerous to our health and they say when you smoke your life span decreases by 3 minutes everytime you smoke. I don't want the smell of cigarettes and thank God my father is not a cigarette smoker he doesn't like it too. Get well :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you well, gertu. I know this is hard, my dad was a change smoker and had lung complication before he passed. My husband won't last a day without hitting one too. I am glad you quit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, my dear friend I quit more than 30 years ago but now I am suffering the ravages of the 10 years I spent smoking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon ma'am. It's really hard to quit smoking says my uncle. He finally quits after he got cancer in his intestine and he negatively affected his family by passive smoking. Cigs are really poisonous addictions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I quit smoking more than 30 years ago but the consequences are paid for the rest of my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

30 years was a long time ago. I think your lungs were able to regenerate. You were much younger then. In any case, it was a very good decision to stop smoking.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The lungs can regenerate but what I mean is that the damage of the smoker remains there. If they do an autopsy on me now they would prove that my lungs have traces of a smoker. I hope I have been able to explain. Lung function will never be the same as that of a non-smoker.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wishing you well! I am proud of you too for deciding and knowing that you have to stop. :) it will get better!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If I quit smoking more than 30 years ago, my lungs are already suffering the damage of my bad habits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My husband just quit smoking 2 years ago and I'm so happy because it's not just his health but also us especially the kids.

We also take the same oregano in our country. Also try Honey with Cinnamon. That should help from Dra. Farrah.

Get well soon Gertu. I wish you good health. You will surely be cleared!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Help your husband not to pick up the bad habit again. It is stated that in order to be confirmed that you have actually quit smoking you must go 5 effective years without smoking. In the course of these years, people usually relapse. Don't let your husband need it again.

I will always be burdened with periods that are stable and periods that are not. I always come out on top. Thanks for the support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago