New celebrations.

19 39
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

We have many things to celebrate. Life is about commemorating moments that are important, that leave a mark on our lives.

I recently spoke with a classmate and colleague back from when I graduated from my first profession, she told me that we are about to celebrate 42 years since we graduated.

Yes, by July 27, 1979 I was graduating among a group of about 40 people or I think we were a little more. The truth is I’m not even sure of the total number of my colleagues.

From unsplash

The truth is that a colleague called me to tell me if I wanted to be added to the Whatsapp group to which they were added. Of course I accepted, I have many years of not hearing from most of my colleagues from back then.

Little by little the names of the people I still remember fondly have been coming out, but the names of many people I don't remember are also coming out.

So by reading the stories and tales that happened to us back then, I have been able to remember many of the people with whom I shared 3 years of my life.

It’s sadder when they tell me that there are several of the group who have passed away over the years and a few others from the pandemic.

I believe that of the group of nurse colleagues who have died there are fewer people infected with the current virus than compared to my group of physician colleagues who have died from the same thing.

No one likes to hear that people who have been a part of our lives for so long have died. It is as if something is saying very close to our ear "be careful, next time it could be you". No one knows their time, but it saddens to know that it was the time of people as young and hardworking as we are ourselves.

That is why life should be a celebration from the very moment we wake up. When I open my eyes in the morning I am already thanking God for his infinite mercy in allowing me to continue another day, that I have been able to open my eyes to a new day.

Just the fact of waking up is a miracle of God, to be able to breathe spontaneously, to be healthy. It’s a great gift to which we must render honors.

Therefore, life must be a constant gratitude, a constant celebration of life. Because we remember the happy moments we lived with the ones we love the most and we treasure those moments in the depths of our hearts and minds.

This celebration of my colleagues at the end of the month has brought me new meditations. It’s 42 years since I graduated from the nursing profession, it has served me well, both for my daily life and to continue studying in my second profession.

I never stopped being a nurse. Because the vocation does not end when you change to another profession but you strengthen it, enrich it and this is what happened to me.

Through the years I continued to nurture my mind with everything I could to make sure I continue to provide better care to the patient who has sought my help. And I thank my God for placing this stimulus in my heart for me to follow the path of health for others and for myself.

You can't imagine the feelings I have inside of me, to meet again in a virtual way with many people I never imagined I would meet again. It’s a kind of spoonful of life, a rejuvenation of the heart to strengthen the spirit and nourish the spirit.

I feel so excited to know of many of the people who today are in different cities of my country and are still celebrating life, friendship and despite our involuntary confinement are celebrating the reunion once again to recount the liveliest events of our lives over the years.

But there is something that has saddened my joy, a little. I have heard from a friend I knew more than 40 years ago and never heard from again. But that he had sent his greetings with another person he thought I might meet. I on one of those days when thoughts are heavy had also remembered him and sent him greetings with someone who referred me to see him.

Our greetings never reached each other, neither of us received our messages. But it happened recently that I started to look for him through the networks, knowing the place and the city in my country where he was, my surprise was of sadness when my search led me to an obituary.

My friend has died. Three years ago he died, I’m sad because things in life happen and we don’t always like them and my heart aches because my friend and I never heard from either of us again and we were both searching for each other.

 There is celebration in my mind because my friends found me, my colleagues have contacted me and there is sorrow in my heart as I learn what I know today of another friend.

There are several deceased, friends all. May God help their souls in eternal rest and carry them to his holy presence.

And we should celebrate the beautiful memories we lived with them. Celebrate life. Give thanks.

Thank you Lord, thank you. Thank you Lord thank you, for life and for the celebration of it.

This is a publication to serve as an inspiration to continue living with joy and remember the pleasant moments we lived with those who are already in another plane and with those who still remain in this one.

I'm @gertu13, from Venezuela to the world.

19
$ 16.64
$ 11.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.00 from @leejhen
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
+ 8
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Each morning deserves to be celebrated and I'm happy we all do that. 42 years is such a long time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

42 years is such a great and long time. Celebrateit to the fullest. Particularly, appreciating God for making you to be one of those to remember it this year.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I am among those grateful to God for enjoying this virtual gathering of friends. Since we will not be able to meet in person, we will do it with technology.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we should never forget to be grateful for everything that God have showered to us everyday.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Small details that we assume as normal and that will always be there. At least that's what we think. But everything has an end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, life should be an accumulation of gratitude. The mere fact of breathing should be grateful. The simple things that make us human, those things that we do not see because we consider them normal are what make us what we are. There is always something to be thankful for so it is worth being thankful for.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The things that we do not see and that normally happen we take for granted and do not notice the miracle that this means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every day is a gift from God and yes we have to celebrate that. We got life as a free gift and we give it back for free. I heard an interesting podcast about it. If you believe in God and you believe, that we born, live and die and that is normal, that's how it should be, then why would you fight for life in you last hour.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We do not understand that God gives it and God takes it away. Live and celebrate life. Honor the dead but enjoy what we have because it is fleeting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!😯 Its been 42 years, quit a long time sir.. Its should be celebrated with a Baam!!!🎉🎊 God has given you and your colleagues a moments worth celebrating of..

God bless you more blessings to come sir!😇

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen and so be it. Yes, in fact they are remembering things that I didn't even imagine happened. And it's nice to remember the roots.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really made a wonderful friends and colleagues sir. ☺️

How I wish to have too.😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You mind if I ask how old are you now? 😅 I guess you are as old as my grandma 🤭

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, I'm already a grandmother's age. I am 60 years old. With an almost 21 year old son in thank goodness. And still actively working in my medical practice and on two different platforms. And I have a Garage full of plants that I grow for sale. I attend to him in the evenings. My spirit is still young even though my body is somewhat aged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every morning when we wake up, we should give thanks for being alive. It's good that you have reconnected with your colleagues. Your story has reminded me of a friend from the university that I recently lost due to the pandemic. We hadn't seen each other for many years. But at the university, we were close friends. We even dating for a while. For me, it was a great shock to find out that he had died from Covid. In short, we have to celebrate life every day as you say. Saludos!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's difficult to accept that we are passengers in this life. That at some point we will leave. Me first and before many of you who are still very young. Fight for life, be grateful for what you have and let's keep on living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, every morning when we wake up should be a cause for celebration. And yes, every opportunity given to us to reconnect with people who have been a part of our life at some point in time is something to celebrate as well.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And it's very healthy to reconnect with people from the past and with whom we maintained a bond. We are rekindled by friendly thoughts of the past.

$ 0.00
2 years ago