My mind

9 53
Avatar for gertu13
7 months ago

My mind is not what it used to be, I forget a lot where I put things. At times I have lost objects and I go in search of them. After a long fruitless search, I must say, I find the lost object right on my body, so close and yet so far away.

Yes, many times I have lost my glasses, I have searched endlessly for them, and when I give up and calm the search I find it just hanging from me, or in my blouse. That's when I remember that's where I didn't look or search in where I remember leaving my books.

Another time I was having a conversation on the phone and had to get up from my chair to do something I suddenly remembered. To achieve my goal I needed to find my phone as that is where the data I need is. As I continued to chat online with my interlocutor, I kept looking for my phone, only to realize later that I have the phone to my ear listening to the person communicating with me.

I've come to think that I'm going to stop in madness for losing so many things but then I hear that someone younger has told me that he has lost something and has been looking for it for quite a while but I'm looking at him from where I'm standing. I snap him out of his blindness and say.....

 "Look to your right or left" as the case may be.

He looks next to another object, and there is what he is looking for.

# Why do these things happen? 

I tend to think that when I put things somewhere and then forget it is when I do it automatically. That's why I forget where it is.

This has happened to me with my books, I take them to many places with me, and while I read I can do other things like washing dishes, washing clothes, putting them in the dryer, going to the bathroom, and reading for a while there, and then go to get dirty clothes or clean clothes. My books have gone astray, I have looked for them, gone through the house, the kitchen the bathroom, the garden, even in the flower pots but I am sure I have not thrown them away.

They must be somewhere safe but forgotten in my mind. I don't remember if I was doing laundry or picking up clothes when I parted with them. I know they are somewhere and I will find them.

Maybe I will when I repeat the process of doing what I was doing before I lost it. In the meantime, I need to stop thinking about what I was reading and wait.

A few days have passed and I need to dry my clothes again, again I turn on the light in the small room, and boala, the first thing I notice are my precious books on top of a stool and next to the clothes dryer.

Why didn't I see them before? I'm sure I went to this room to look for them and I didn't see them... or not?

I must be remembering wrong and I never got to this room after I lost them... I don't think I looked for them here. I only remember that while I was taking my clothes out to dry I left them for a moment to take them later and I think I left and turned off the light and didn't think about coming back for a short period.

Something else to remember I forget things easily, it will have to do with my age or carelessness. I will have to pay more attention to the things I do so I don't lose myself.

It's an imaginary story, but it could happen, thanks for reading.

Photographs are from unsplash.

</div>

4
$ 0.13
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 2
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
7 months ago

Comments

If we wouldn't be so busy, wouldn't multitask nothing would get "lost". If you ask me it is from all ages: children, teenagers, young adults, men ... together we spend a lot of time during our lifetime searching.

$ 0.01
7 months ago

I think you are right this happens at all ages.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

This reminds me of my Dad. He forgets his phone every time he leaves for work. He will always drive back to take it. For me, that's not actually bad. It's okay to forget but what I do anytime I am around is to make sure my dad goes with his phone to work. Dear @gertu13 you could ask anyone in the house to assist you in keeping your items too.

$ 0.01
7 months ago

Thank you for your advice dear, I appreciate it. The forgetfulness stuff doesn't happen to me all the time it's occasional. I have discipline and always keep things in one place. What happens is that when I do many tasks in a single moment something happens that I get disconnected at times and forget occasionally. This hasn't happened in a while but I remembered it and decided to write about it. Thanks for your concern and I hope your dad also manages to get out of stress and remember his phone before going out to the street. You are a good daughter.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Thanks for your compliment ☺️

$ 0.00
7 months ago

It could happen to anyone so easily. It happened to me and I found my things when I didn't look for them. We can get so busy sometimes or multitasking and we don't pay attention where we put things down.

$ 0.01
7 months ago

That's what happens to me sometimes. I get tired of looking for things and then when I'm not looking for them anymore I happen to find them 😜 it's crazy. Hehe.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

This is how it works. My parents used to say. Don't look for it if it is not important you will find it when you don't look for it and it is so true.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

They were absolutely right.

$ 0.00
7 months ago