More experiences gained.

31 56
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

In the course of my life I have always encountered very dishonest people. Like everything else, there are also honest people and I tend to believe in honesty more easily than the other way around.

Some time ago I let a person who needed lodging in my house stay over here, since I know him and he is usually the one who repairs a lot of things in my house. I had the idea to offer him my house for when he stayed late in this city, since he is from a nearby town. For these towns, the public transportation units leave until a certain hour and then people have to wait for the next day for another unit to leave.

I put him up, gave him a mattress in my living room and he stayed there until the next day when he went home.

As the days went by, I needed a ream of paper from the two reams I kept in my library, but I never found it. The only strange person who has come has been him, with the pandemic no one has come to visit me to stay. All I’ve had were just phone calls and virtual visits.

From unsplash.

In my thoughts I tried to remember the last step I took with my two reams of paper and where I placed them. They had been on my son's computer desk for quite some time. I removed them from there to store them in a better place and it seemed to me that the library was the best place. But it wasn't, since it disappeared from there.

I have a collection of worthless coins, they are all coins that I have collected since I was a 9 year old girl. I would find coins around my backyard and keep them. Until the day I realized that I liked having them and I started asking my family and friends to bring me their pennies or leftover coins when they travel.

That is why it’s a collection of so many years that has coins with no value for its type of coin as such, they only have sentimental value to me.

But in that same group of coins I had some silver coins that I got as a gift from my mother, one of them specifically, there were also key chains with silver coins and other coins with maltreatment but of different mintage years and all of them were silver… And all of them disappeared. They were in a single transparent bag and could be seen with the naked eye, and they were also in the library.

As I realized over time that these things have disappeared I eventually remembered that the only person who has come by my house to fix things on a few occasions has to be the one who took my things.

In fact, since he left he never called again and that makes me feel like I made a mistake in trusting him.

Dishonest people have never been to my liking. I like to share and help people when I can, I helped him while he came to my house to fix some things.

But my question, is whether he will call back to say hello or just let me think the worst of him.

It makes me sad when I trust people who aren’t worth it in the end, what he stole for me is something material that is of no major importance, but what he broke in my heart is the worst of all. He used me to rob my house and make me look like his friend.

Who loses more... him or me? I think I lost more because I trusted a person who totally let me down.

Now the same thing is happening to me again. I happened to buy an instrument for my use in the office and the person who acted all the time in good faith, telling me that they as a company help doctors who are recovering, bringing good contracts to health professionals. I see and read today, because that’s when I have the opportunity to finally read the contract that I made, that it was not what I expected.

I got what I wanted, sure, but they took me in my good faith and I signed something thinking in their honesty. But they ended up putting that the contract was started a month before, and said equipment has only been in my hands for 5 days, they also asked me to advance another payment that I thought was for October but turns out to be for September.

Basically, I had though that I was canceling drafts for the purchase of my instrument with two months in advance and it turns out that it’s not the truth... Because the contract says that the debt started last month.

I already called him and told him my point, I’m not going to return the contract, I like what I bought, but it's good to know that there is no such thing as amicable negotiations. There are always interests involved and when they are good salespeople and they find people who believe in people's honesty, they make better negotiations.

Nowadays it’s very difficult to get truly honest people. You still get people like me who believe there are, and who trust that we should give the benefit of the doubt, but these are my mistakes and I must pay for them.

I just hope that I can continue to find honest people in my life. I don't want to lose faith in people, because my state of optimism always finds more ways to think that there is honesty and less ways to think that there are many people waiting to take advantage of the foolish.

What do you think about honesty in people? Please feel free to comment your point of view...

I thank all my readers and sponsors for always being there.

24
$ 15.98
$ 14.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Ive been reading this for a few days. Home is really a big deal to me, for the longest time I had cut it out of things i expect from people. The amount of time a person had with yoy and the amount of dishonesty is the measure here. Anyway i had the same done to me more numerous times than I can count. All I can do is let them have the dishonest and i get back my power and energy. This is the love you give to you after the world trashes you! So much love my Dr Bless up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty for me is the basis on how I respect them ..for if they lie then they are not being true to their self.. they are not corrupting other people's mind and soul..they're corrupting their own.. That's why Hosnesty is so sacred to me..t's not something to be mess with.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have to be true to ourselves. And keep our values.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi gertu! I just came here to express my gratitude for the sponsorship you offered. I apologize for the late response. 🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks to you for being an excellent follower and writer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been taught not to trust anyone except myself. Though there are still honest people out there but they are scarce. One could hardly find them out of 5 People.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can always rely on it. We all have flaws and at some point we find honest people in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was tragic, but not all people like him too. I never yet experience that kind of act, but thanks to this I should not do it to really a stranger. Hope he won't do that again in others it might ended more cruel if he does. Karma is.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Every experience is a lesson.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh geez! Those people don't deserve your trust. I think what have happened is God's way of letting you know that they are not worthy to be trusted

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, God always makes us listen to his voice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, He has many ways of reaching our hearts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, honesty is one of the best qualities that someone can have. Nowadays, it is not easy to find people completely honest. Most of the time, there are interests involved.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It does, unfortunately, happen more often than I would like to admit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honesty is something really rare nowadays. Given enough time and opportunity, a 'good' person might show their true colors to you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't want to lose my faith in humanity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of people is like that. You've given the your full trust but they just broke it just like that, because of those things. They maybe have reason for doing it but it is unforgivable. I hate that kind of people. Good thing I haven't encounter that kind of people in my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray to God that you never run into them. They really leave a bad feeling in the heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a famous quote, betrayal does not come from enemies, it comes from people you trust the most... it is the sad world we are living in

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is not a sad world, only roads to travel and experiences to know how to live.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, those who we think we could trust are those we never expect to betray us. This is another realization that the only person we can fully trust is ourselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We cannot totally close ourselves off from the world. There are worthy people in the world. But occasionally we must learn lessons.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there are still good people out there 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

these people are the reason why we have trust issues...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is not my problem. My problem is that I still believe in people. But these lessons still don't let me lose hope in them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is always about trusting no one but ourselves. I'm so sorry but people will always be people.
That's what the world is now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sorry you feel this way being still such a young person. These few people with their evil deeds are not going to stop me from having faith in humanity. I am sorry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we have to observe a person first before trusting them fully so they'll never take advantage of us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's that bad actions come from both people you are very close to and people you have just met. I do not allow myself to lose faith in human beings. There is humanity out there I always see it and a few will not make me sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why we have to trust only ourselves and be cautious when dealing with other people.. .i remember your plants have stolen a couple of days ago.. What if the thief is just someone you knew ...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are bad people everywhere. Many people come here to buy my plants. Some of them may have sent someone else to steal. But it is worse for them. The one who steals has a punishment that will never be forgiven. Until he gives back what he stole and because he is ignorant of God's law he will never give back what he stole. I pray to God for them, poor lost souls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago