It's just one more problem...

8 24
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Mary had to make a trip urgently, she was a university student at the moment, that was her home now while she was working on her medical degree. The people of the Academic Studies Control office must have all the required documents but in Mary's case some of her documents are "missing".

She remembers that she left her documents in another city, in the academic studies control office of another university, in a very distant place...

She has a very important decision to make. She needs to get out fast, think what to do precisely, because she has a deadline for the delivery of her missing documents. "Well now... I need to do something and fast!" she said. She checked how much money she had at the moment, luckily she had enough cash to come and go... and a little more to pay for the bus that will take her to the university office.

From Unsplash.

The bus left at 9:00 p.m. that same day. It was Friday. "She would arrive to the city at 7 in the morning and at 9 in the morning she would be in the office, then she would ask to withdraw the necessary documents immediately and then she would take the bus back. Finally, she would bring the documents on Monday to study control solve her current predicament". It was all she had in mind, nothing would go wrong.

Mary made it by bus without incident, now she just had to walk to the bus stop that would take her to the university office.

Everything was going well, she took the next bus and arrived just like she thought she would. It was 9 in the morning, a good time to arrive at a customer service office. She already imagined standing in line with the other students to wait for her turn and be served. As she had done so many times... But when she tried to get into the university building...

The bus came to the stop Mary was waiting for, she asked the driver to stop and he did. He paid for his ticket. Now she had to walk a long way, passing through a completely dirt road, without sidewalks or asphalt, I don't know why, but it was like some kind of shortcut, there she would see the office, when she reached the end she would find the queue of people and the office.

"How strange, I don't see anyone here." She thought as she approached, watching from afar.

"...I'm already in the office, but the window is closed." The office consists of a room that has a window to one side to serve students. When possible, problems are resolved from that window so there is no need to enter the office to speak directly to the person with the greatest knowledge of student problems there. It's that person who solves the biggest problems.

She read a sign in the window that said: "We're closed today, it's a university holiday"

Now Mary can't do anything, the place is empty, there are no employees or anything, it's a holiday there. "How could I possibly know that? I wasted my time, my money... Now I can't get those stupid papers... what do I do now?" She though all of this while crying.

So she just started making her way home...

8
$ 0.91
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

this is really a very stressfulwork!!😩

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What exactly was the most stressful situation for you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This happened to me a lot. University documents are so stressful to process, really

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had to come back another day again. But this time I made sure in the student center of my university if, for the date that I was going to return to that other city there was no holiday hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Last ime this happened, i just asked for a school calendar because i had school matters to attend to a lot. Then at times, i would schedule my visits with the offices i needed to go to

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's not my case. I should have planned my departure, but I have to make sure the other out-of-state university, about 10 hours away by bus, is open and serves students when I have to go there.

After finding out well, I left again. I withdrew my papers and said goodbye to her, to the university in that state.

He could never go back there again, according to the coordinator of that school. But if I was already studying at another university that opened its doors for me, I didn't want to be in one that closed its doors for me! He only received my papers to tell me that "you still can't study, maybe later." For me there was no longer an after. It was a now and I did it in the most beautiful university in the country, the one in the Venezuelan Andes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You gained a better opportunity and it seems like you enjoyed your campus life better than you ever did at your previous one so the indirect rejection still paved a better path for you in the end and hopefully it won't be a 10 hour travel for you anymore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sometimes the things that happen to us, although we think at that moment that they are bad things, in the long run we see that they were things that happened for the better.

My trips home during vacation periods were 17 hours by my own car and 24 hours by bus. This during 8 years of career at the Universidad de los Andes. I live at the other end of the country. In the eastern region of sun and sand.

$ 0.00
3 years ago