He is the light of my life.

26 70
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I am young, how do I know what profession to choose when the day comes? I don't know, maybe I will take the profession for which my father has been giving me the title since I was a little girl...

My father, who is already in the kingdom of God, was in the habit of saying that I was going to be a nurse, because I always woke up at 5 a.m, he also woke up at that time to go to work as a driver of his passenger car.

I think little by little that idea was forming in my mind. Then came my older brother, he is also in the kingdom of God, the coolest thing is that he gave me my first book. It was allusive to the first nurse there was, Florence Nightingale.

From unsplash

I don't know what it has to do with the fact that my father instilled that thought in me and my brother ended up rooting it in me and I ended up going down that path. Reading that woman and what she did for the sick motivated me to keep encouraging myself to take that profession.

But then I got to the age where I wanted to do these studies and I ran into my father's opposition, he used to tell me that I would be a nurse, but as a joke. He never liked that profession, every day and as long as he could speak ill of nurses, he did. But I had already made up my mind and I started to collect all my documents to start my studies as a professional nurse when I finished my third year in high school.

The power of suggestion. I don't have any family members in the health field but I felt strongly motivated to do what my heart wanted, to help people get better in their illnesses.

From there began my odyssey to always keep searching for more knowledge, you should know that I didn’t want to continue studying at the university. What I wanted was to earn money to become independent and get out of the bad economic situation we had at home.

But over the years I began to have another thought, I wanted to continue studying to get to know the basis of diseases. I wanted to know how doctors could give these indications to patients just by doing a physical examination and how they managed to be so orderly in the evolution of the hospitalized patient's disease.

From unsplash

And from there began my second odyssey in the pursuit of the title for my second profession.

But the point of telling you this story, besides telling you another point later on, is because I want to say that I did my studies with my own money. My country was in a different situation and everyone who worked could have money and I was very hardworking for that. I paid for both my professions.

I was born in a low-income family with 5 other siblings. All of my siblings struggled to get ahead and I can proudly say that we all made it, but in a country of possibilities.

Although I was not a wealthy woman I was able to obtain many assets.  I bought my car, my apartment, I had jewelry, I bought gold, handbags, shoes, clothes. Everything I wanted I could buy because I was dedicated to my profession and I worked continuously for days at a time.

Then I bought my second car, I gave the first one away, and as time went by, things began to change.

The government system changed and it seemed that everything was against those of us who struggled to have a better standard of living than we had in our early years.

I began to sell many of my clothes in order to pay for my family's expenses. It was my son and me, little by little I sold everything that was clothing and I was able to pay for my son's college expenses. I sold my car to buy my ultrasound equipment and as things changed a lot more, I could not buy another car, but the time and money to buy one will come soon enough.

What I do want to say is that things have changed and much more. I am still a professional who studies all the time, who tries to give her best to the patients who come to her office. I am no longer a woman with a lot, but with what is necessary, but I am not a poor woman. I have everything we need.

I have a roof over my head, my job and my son's job. I have my plants for sale, I have my life on the platforms, but what I consider most important of all is that now, even though I don't have the apartment, the car, the jewelry or many of my material goods that I had before this economic situation in my country, I consider myself a very lucky woman.

Because I have peace of mind, I have peace in my heart, I have my son with me. The pandemic did not affect my life because it is part of the disaster of life that we already had in my country, but I am still lucky. I fight every day of my life from my home and I am happy. I have gone through illnesses and I have given them to God who has given me back my health. I believe I will continue to work all my life until the day God calls me.

From unsplash

For my life is pleased with what a sister of my holy church, St. Teresa of Avila, says....

Let nothing disturb you,

Let nothing frighten you,

All things pass away,

God does not change,

Patience achieves all things,

He who has God lacks nothing,

God alone is enough.

Reading this from the first time I read it, I felt so identified and now my life goes without eagerness. Each day brings its own eagerness, says the word, so why live in agony.

Let's live the day to day with all its difficulties because every day there will be difficulties but it depends on us how we face it and from there it will be our peace or our agony.

Thank you to my dear readers and sponsors for reading my publications, hoping that they will be of some use in your lives, as they have served me until today.

18
$ 15.07
$ 14.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 13
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

The most important thing is to have your loved ones by your side, in this case, your son. And have peace of mind. These bad times have taught us to appreciate what is most valuable. And to know that as long as we are true to our values ​​and work hard, we will succeed. A hug, friend!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A hug.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that you had peace of mind and with your son with you, you never have to worry about anything else other than accepting all as challenges and leaving them to Jesus who stood by you. You are really a lucky woman to have made you who you are today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. It is true. I feel very fortunate for all the blessings received.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We were lucky and didn't know it. We achieved many things that still keep us going. But the most important of all is God in our hearts. Greetings sister.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is the greatest success achieved sister. God with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for giving me so much inspiration tonight Gertu. I wish and pray that someday I will have that peace of mind that you have. I may be in a lot of struggles these days but I believe in Him.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He sets you free. When you learn to trust and place all your efforts at the Lord's feet. You will have peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your articles are very inspiring gertu. I adore you because you already know what course you are going to take when you were younger. And you really work hard for it until you achieved it. You are right gertu, God alone is enough.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, He alone is enough and He alone we adore. Thank you for coming to comment my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire those people who at the young age already knew what course or path to take.

And having a peace of mind is the best gift more than material things. May God bless you more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God has his way for each one of us, we only have to listen and understand his signs. The peace within us is priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always inspiring us with your beautiful stories. And I would prefer to live in peace than in agony. We all have our own stories, but what is common there is we are lucky to be in this world and are more fortunate than those who are struggling with all aspects of life. And we should be grateful for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We must always be grateful to God for all his blessings. Thank you for reading and sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very inspiring 🥰. You bring to me the face of adulthood that I wasnt yet come over. Well I don't really of material things thou but still I do make sure to had atleast savings for just what happened I don't know how will be the economy and the future ahead. Thanks for that. I should buy gold then hahaha kidding side.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I assure you that I bought the jewelry to put on my neck, wrists and fingers on the days of the parties I attended. I never thought I would have to sell them to stay in my country. I do not regret doing it. But I would have preferred that this whole economic disaster never happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best we can do for ourselves is choosing a profession we solely believe in without allowing others make such decisions for us. At times, what we usually think we will become in life might at some time in our lives change due to the recent changes that might have occured overtime.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I met many people who started their studies with me and then could not continue. That's life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To feel that you are successful in life you just have to believe it. I'm glad for everything you've accomplished and that you consider yourself lucky. Everything is going to get better, rest assured. Successes!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Success is relative. It all depends on what each person interprets as "their success". I don't know if I was really a successful woman. But I was very fortunate and now I have a lot of peace and tranquility. Which I didn't have before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the will power and determination within you, made what you are today. Its true never to expect anything tomorrow, live for today. Rest leave it to Almighty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He is present among us but we cannot rest as you suggest. For the word says that if you have it will be given to you but if you don't have it will be taken away even the little you have. So if you leave everything to the Almighty you will never have anything. You rest if you want to, I will work until the Lord so decides. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful, this is really a reasonable article, he made and never let go of us keep making ways and shielding light unto our part. How great is our God

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amén.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. You really have an inspiring story. God has been faithful for you from the very beginning that He was able to deliver you from all of those circumstances.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

He is faithful to those who believe. He never leaves us because he loves us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago