Have you felt happiness lately?

6 33
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

I wanted to write about a topic that is a bit controversial. It’s about happiness, and I say it’s controversial because each individual has a very personal perception of what happiness refers to.

From unsplash

In some cases people have said that happiness is a utopia and others have said that happiness does not exist, while other people say that happiness is fleeting like a star.

For me, happiness is a moment but it’s an extreme feeling. Happiness can be felt with small events that suddenly touch our life.  Happiness is not a perpetual state but it’s a small motive that makes our endorphin circulate so fast through our system that it causes a short period of euphoria.

Happiness is within each individual. It depends on how each person views their motive, so what for me may be a reason for a great sense of satisfaction that fills me with happiness for another individual may be something insignificant.

In the reality of the psychological concept happiness is a positive emotional state that is achieved when we obtain a good that satisfies us.

For Sigmund Freud it’s nothing more than a utopia and he considered that only a partial happiness could be achieved.

What I can consider happiness depends on my point of view. If we limit ourselves to see the small details that life gives instead of seeing beyond a great event that we expect. We could have many more happy moments than frustrating moments.

Isn't it a moment of happiness when we see the sunset during the evenings? I don't know if for many this has no importance but to see this marvel in the sky, the changes of colors, how the sun goes into the sea, at least this is how it looks, isn't this a moment of happiness?

Doesn't it produce happiness when you are in a city with mountain peaks and you see how they are covered with the snow in the morning? And the mist that comes in the afternoon when you walk through a field full of flowers?

Aren't these small events the precursors of our happiness? I believe that each one of us adapts our happiness to the reality we live.

Isn't it true that we feel happiness when we are in balance with our environment? When we are in a garden and we look at the flowers and fruits on the plants that we ourselves took care of planting and taking care of? Isn't it true that we feel happiness when we share with our family and friends after having time without sharing with them?

I believe that when we understand that happiness is not a big event but all those little details that come to meet us at every moment, then we will value more those details that we let pass by because we are looking for the big things that supposedly will give us great happiness.

Being at peace with the world, with our brothers, with nature and being in balance with what surrounds us makes us live daily impressive moments of extreme release of endorphins. As if we were eating some chocolate after spending a long time wishing to eat it... and that my friends, that is also perceiving a moment of happiness.

If I had understood this many years ago I would not have been so frustrated looking for so many things I wanted to have. Now my endorphins live circulating constantly and in large doses because I live surrounded by small gifts that only bring me joy. I let life flow and hope for the best. It is up to me how I see what I receive.

We are in times of confinement, of fear, of limitations and yet, the small moments of joy that make us feel that we are still alive come to meet us and that is a great reason to keep waiting for the small moments of happiness.  

I think that the way to happiness is to fully enjoy those small spaces full of satisfaction when we have it in front of us, laughing out loud when you feel happy without looking away, eating a delicious snack that you wanted, to hug a loved one after spending a long time without their presence, enjoying breathing heavily at the memory of a scent or being in its presence. The small details, the little moments, the fleeting details, those are what give me my pleasures in life. That's why I say that I am immensely happy, because I enjoy my small and fleeting moments of fulfillment.

7
$ 6.26
$ 5.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 4
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Indeed, happiness does not always mean grand. Every little thing that cheers me is happiness in itself, even the smell of coffee 😂 and right, sunset, flowers and the sky too...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right... the little things are life's greatest pleasures. They are the happiness in front of us and it is in our own way of looking at life to enjoy them to the fullest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well, for me, happiness si just contentment in the stuff we do. like now, I'm happy being at home and being able to help some people that need the help

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it brings you happiness, enjoy it to the fullest. It is small moments of pleasure that give us a world of happiness. Then when you remember that it will give you moments of happiness again and you can remember them when you feel sad... so your endorphins will always encourage you to be pleased.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I experienced so many different happiness in my life. Each of them felt different. I could not compare. Happiness that lifting me up high and I cannot explain why. When I met my love and got married. Emotional happiness with tears of joy when you see your child was born. Sudden surprise that makes you happy. Yes little pleasure in life can give you big happiness too. Nice article!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those little moments are the details that bring the most happiness. Thank you for sharing your personal experience with me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago