Dwarf anthurium.

7 85
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

The Anthurium.

It’s native to the tropical areas of Central and South America. Its scientific name is Anthurium.

Its common name in my country is Cala. This is a dwarf species; the flowers are small and the heart-shaped leaves are dark green, these leaves are smaller than the large-flowered calla lilies.

It’s also known as the flower of love. I read somewhere that it was known in ancient times as an aphrodisiac flower, I don’t know if because the shape of the spathe is like a heart or because its spadix has a certain… phallic appearance.

This plant keeps its flowers for a long time. It’s nice to see the flowers for more than 15 days without changing their beauty and it blooms throughout the year.

The plant doesn’t have a stem, the leaves come out from the root and lengthen to end in a heart-shaped leaf, thin and shiny on the underside. The flower also comes out from a thin spike where a flower composed of two parts sprouts, one part called spathe and it’s a modified leaf, the shape of this leaf is colored according to its species. From there the second part is born and it is an erect stem with a cylindrical shape called a spadix. This spadix has many hexagonal shaped dots that are the flowers.

It’s a plant that we can keep in the shade, with the indirect presence of the luminosity of the solar rays. They must receive humidity from the environment and the substrate must be damp but not watery, this soil should contain enough compost and gravel or stones to maintain good irrigation and water drainage. 

If you want to transplant an anthurium you must remove the plant from the pot. With your hands remove all the dirt that surrounds it carefully and then you can separate the plant into small rooted children. You can place each separate plant with its own roots in a pot where the plant fits. You can't use wide neck pots, because anthuriums like to be in a pot with their roots tight.

This way you will always have new plants for this beautiful Anthurium.

I hope this brief information will help you if you already have or want to have an anthurium plant.

The photos are of my property and were taken with my BLU phone.

 

8
$ 1.41
$ 1.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Swca.ch
$ 0.01 from @turuncu
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

Ohh i see this a lot but the ones here are mostly white. I think they're calla lilies here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I have read that pink is not very common in other countries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see some here but white really is the more abundant one here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello dear.How are you? I did not see you a few days now on my page,I hope you are doing fine. I love this flower dear.And it is in my best color.I like pinky color.We have not here such dwarf anthurium,I mean in pinky color.We can only buy such flowers in red or white color.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello here I am. Thank God I am very well. I see you in noise ... I always leave my hearts to you. These are all my Anthurium plants, and they are all pink. I no longer have red. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a very decorative and typical tropical plant. I have red anthurium. It did not bloom this year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago