Domestic cats.

11 27
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Nowadays, pets exist in all families. There are those who prefer dogs and there are those who prefer cats, there are also others who enjoy having both. In my home we only have one cat named Copito, and we are visited on a day-to-day basis by too many cats from the neighbors and the streets that come to fight in my garden, destroying my plants.

In ancient Egypt they loved cats so much to the point of veneration. Why? Because they worshiped the god Ra, he was the god of the radiant sun, who showed its dominance throughout the day but when night came the sun was exposed to the enemies, but there were lions with their big eyes the color of the sun, which reflected sunlight. These beasts came out in dark nights and illuminated the darkness. This is why lions came to have the importance they had for representing an image to protect the gods in the dark as well as the god Ra.

But there were problems when taming lions and then they came to consider that cats were felines of the same family as lions. These small wild cats came to take the figure of the protective being of the god Ra during the nights, to the point that in many pyramids and in the tombs of pharaohs, there are images of felines guarding their last home.

In those times only the pharaohs could have cats, since it was a sacred animal only for the gods. Nobody could have them as property and much less nobody could harm a cat since the death penalty would fall on that person.

In Egypt, male cats were called myeou and female cats were called techau. This name was found in many important women's tombs in Egyptian culture, there was even an image of a woman's body with the head of a feline and this was the goddess Bastet, a symbol of beauty and fertility. This goddess represented light and the god Ra, the sun, but also being a cat represented the night and the moon.

Later, when superstition arose with the Middle Age and the rise of Christianity, cats were considered a symbol of the devil for their relationship with the nocturnal habits of the feline and they were persecuted and exterminated along with their owners at the stake, due to their association with demons, witchcraft and evil spirits. But this belief cost them dearly; the proliferation of rats brought with it the plague and thus the extermination of many inhabitants and/or entire populations occurred.

There are many studies that claim that most of today's domestic cats are descended from the African wild cat, but they aren’t very sure that the Chinese wild cats that existed before the Egyptian wild cats are mixed with these domestic cats.

The truth is that today cats are our companions in the majority of houses and they are not considered evil animals but rather they are animals with many healing energies for the human being.

Cats are said to choose their owners, they have a tendency to find an affinity with the people they want to live with and they show their attachment to them with affection and purrs.

My Copito was chosen by his mom to be in our family. His mother, who was a cat from another place, came to my house one day and adopted me, to then die on the street. Not without first leaving her little son in my care.

Today Copito remains in the heart of my son and mine, as long as he wants to continue living with us, but he is a free cat. He comes and leaves our house when he wants to and he is happy that way, so that makes us happy.

All the photo are of my property.

 

5
$ 1.95
$ 1.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @turuncu
$ 0.02 from @KJPR007
+ 3
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
3 years ago

Comments

I know about the Egyptian worship but i wonder if it was the same thing with the Chinese

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have not read anything in relation to Chinese and cats. They are more mystical. I think they have better proximity with dogs. I will read more about this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cats is my favorite animals. I have 2 cats Greni and Gari. Nice article, good work !

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for passing and leaving your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Copito is very beautiful. I also have a cat Dolly and her son Laki. Lucky is constantly sleeping under my chair.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Copito follows me into the garden and accompanies me. Until he sees me with the water and leaves. He is afraid of water.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow they are all cute and cool. My kids love cats too. And just suddenly remember my Aunt who loves cat but she is no longer here may she rest in heaven. I think I'm gonna write an Article for her maybe tomorrow as her birthday is on 25.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Surely she will like that you remember her with joy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The Forster mother. Sweet! This was a very good read. Cats are tidy and clean most of the time. In ancient Egypt they shaved them 😅. I think the mother knew something would happen that's why she adopted you so you adopt Copito.

I love it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She was chasing me for some time and I allowed her to come into my garden. I never let a cat stay in my garden before, but this kitten looked at me very sweet and I fed her and she stayed in the garden. Then he "got fat" and at the time he had his cats and brought them to live at home. but only Copito remained. Thanks for the support.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sweet!

$ 0.00
3 years ago