A sweet made with cherry

13 21

The cherry or "semeruco" is a citrus that is produced in Venezuela. The plant is called cherry. It's not a plant that is usually sown in all Venezuelan gardens, but it is a very common plant in our country.

Juices, sweets, jams and even a very popular wine in a region of Venezuela are made with this fruit.

It has as much vitamin C as 40 times more than the lemon itself.

Its bittersweet flavor is what allows it to be highly appreciated.

Today I tell you how I make the sweet of this delicious fruit.

Ingredients:

1.- 2 cups of cherries

2.- 1 cup of sugar

3.- 1 tablespoon of vanilla essence.

4.- 1 cinnamon stick

5.- 4 tablespoons of water

Preparation:

All the ingredients are placed in a cauldron. Over moderate heat. Stir with a wooden spoon until the syrup thickens and done.

It is then removed from the heat, placed in glass jars and cooled in the fridge. To later it eat with some cookies.

7
$ 0.20
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @marblely
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Goodness that looks so delicious ;;-;; i love berries so much despite the shortage here and that caramelized sugar layer makes the berries all the more tempting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These fruits are delicious. The liquid that comes out of this cooking is a citric caramel syrup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Orz i want to taste but we don't have cherries in my country ;-; nor any other berries besides a few that grow in the tropics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish I could send you the candy, but the situation here is very corrupt. As soon as a few things arrive from abroad and leaving here with this quarantine is impossible. Someday this torment will end and many things will be possible again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think the candies will survive that long even when it's preserved in sugar and citric acid? But you should prioritize safety and right now, trying to survive with the fuel problem there ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooo.. it looks similar to how you make jam? I can imagine the soft sweet bitter cherries. This method should work with other berries too?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it looks like the process for cooking a jam. But the sweet is different. It only cooks while the syrup thickens, leaving a sweet-tasting citrus caramel. The jam takes more processing and the liquid almost disappears, leaving only the pulp of the fruit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a bit confused. Are these common cherries? Lately I read lemon doesnt contain as much Vitamin C at all. There are other fruits and vegetables with way higher amounts. Good recipe. 👍💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cherries are common in my country. They are native to here, but not many people grow these plants at home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have an area called "Betuwe" where they have orchards and cherry trees are common. The sweet one's not the sour one's. In the Betuwe it is where Flipje lives. Flipje is the character and lovo of a marmalade factory (I assume it is a factory).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a cherry plant in a pot. I'm trying to get that plant to have its fruit in that pot. I'll post it as soon as it's true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it works. One of mine is a tree. A real tree and you need to climb in it. The other might be a kind of bush. I noticed some people do have bushes. Heard someone has a small apple tree in a pot too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am working with some fruit trees so that they thrive in my pots such as lemon, mandarin, soursop and even the fig tree itself. I planted all these plants in pots trying to make them small and bear fruit in pots. and then make sweets or juices with the obtained fruits.

$ 0.00
3 years ago