A new interest

4 32
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Hello everyone, I hope you are well wherever you are today. I have come to tell you that I am venturing into a new Adventure... in raising quail for egg production. Yes, many years ago I had several quails that gave me eggs daily, I remembered them and I thought... why not raise some quails again?

Why not breed some of them again?

In December I bought half a dozen of them, 5 females and one male, supposedly. After a few weeks when I started to study the individual characteristics of each of them in their gender, I realized that there was something wrong. There were two males and 4 females.

I was also led to study them better by the fact that one of the males is smaller than the other and is very plucked. When I checked it I realize the mistake. I changed them to two different cages where in each cage there is one male and two females. It should be noted that I have to buy more females because statistically, you have to put 4 females with one male as the male is sexually insatiable and needs 4 females to be able to stay quiet for a while.

I am learning every day about the habits, customs, feeding, breeding, reproduction, and posture of these birds. Only two of the females are laying although they are all eating the same special food for laying birds.

I am patient, as I have only been studying these little birds since December. I am already collecting two eggs a day and will soon make a homemade incubator to incubate some quail eggs to increase quail breeding.

By the time I feel I am better prepared to increase production then I will buy special cages for them and increase my care for them. I will be writing to you about my progress in the breeding, production, and reproduction of my little quails.

All photographs are my property.

4
$ 0.24
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Sounds like raising quails takes some research and patience. Oh the male birds need 4 to 1 ratio in cage. Male quails are indeed very sexual, haha. Don't go knocking on the cage when it's rockin 😲 I bet there are some guys out there wishing to come back as male quails in their next life 😂 🤣 😂

I find this interesting and look forward to reading of your success going forward.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha, you crack me up. I think a lot of guys these days act like these quail. I'm learning a lot to get started with my new venture.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohooo, I hope this ventures is giving tou a happiness right now hehe. As doe my mother, she is raising a chicken and thanks to that she have eggs that she can eat if she want or sell it,.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am acquiring as much learning as possible to make my venture.

$ 0.00
1 year ago