A mother!

5 16

It is a cactus. It belongs to the cactaceae family. Its genus is Mammillaria and its species Vetula.

I like cacti and succulents. I have so many cacti in my little garden at home. This small cactus that does not exceed 15 cm in length, is very easy to grow at home. In fact, beginners are recommended to plant it, as it will most likely thrive very well with little care.

It is a globular and columnar cactus. Throughout its body it develops tubers or small stems, which would become its children. The globular stem is green with radial spines. That is, the spines of this cactus grow in a circular shape and form a radius. They are not elongated or sharp like other cactus spines.

For its good care, it should be placed in the sun. In this way it will grow in size and thickness and will have many children around it.

The administration of water should not be exceeded because the roots and later the plant can rot.

This little flower has just been born. I hope it has as many flowers as this species of mammillaria usually has.

9
$ 0.13
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Cuteeee! I have the same cactus! (I just bought new ones :D) I have a question though, do you know how to have the babies grow round and fat instead of long? I noticed as they grow, they are always growing long upwards instead of round like their mother.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, you got it! If I know what happens to your cactus: it is receiving little sun and a lot of shade.

You should place it in a place where it receives direct sunlight without interference for several hours a day. The glare from the sun is not enough to meet your needs for growth and thickening.

You carefully remove one of their children. Placing it in its pot in suitable, well-drained soil without getting wet for a few days. And then you put water in the pot until the soil is moistened and after a week of transplanting you place it under direct sun. It will be globular and you will have beautiful flowers under the sun!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What if it starts raining? You keep them inside or let it be? I think nature has it's showers too and plants do not rot from it or? Aren't the babies mothers too or only if you separate them?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now that we are here in the rainy season, I must protect them from the rain. Some can no longer bear the water and I lost them to rot.

The children will be mothers when I separate them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cacti do not grow where you live? I mean outside?

$ 0.00
3 years ago