A little bit of everything.

10 30
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

A few drops of rain have just passed through. These scarce rains have come from storms passing through our beautiful Caribbean Sea, the storms dump their waters on the small islands that form the natural breakwater of our coasts. When they get very close to the eastern coast the clouds are almost completely discharged, so the rains in this area are scarce.

But that doesn't stop my fig plant, the Ficus Carica, from starting its production of its tasty purple figs that are extremely sweet. It doesn’t produce figs on a large scale but I’m happy to see that in spite of the scarcity of liquids in the sky and on the ground I can harvest about one kg of figs in 15 days.

This allows me to make jam and delicious fig shells as well. Either of these two culinary preparations is delicious. I put them in glass containers an hour after cooking and then put them away for sale. Needless to say, they sell very quickly.

Another delicacy that I can make in my kitchen is a spicy sauce that made from the harvest of my red chili plant. Specifically it’s a spicy chili bell pepper, with a good aroma and a special flavor.

This hot sauce doesn’t need to be cooked. I simply put the entire chili peppers in a blender with some vinegar, water and salt and then I pass them through a funnel and into a previously boiled glass container. It remains there until customers come to buy them. They have been well received by the public.

Let’s leave the subject of my delicacies and enter the subject of the plants. This one that I’ll show you today is a plant that came to my garden many years ago through a beautiful gift from a great friend. This plant only blooms when it rains like many others, but in my garden this plant is the only one that has responded to the drizzles that have passed.

It dawns with this beautiful yellow flower. Its name is Yellow Iris and its scientific name is Trimezia Sincorana. It pleases me to see its petals open like some kind of orchid with all its brown dots dotted in the center of the open flower. It’s simply one more wonder of nature.

I can also show you one of my most prized cacti, a Morganianum, is growing. This is a succulent that has been in my garden for two years now and that I have been growing from a single leaf. It now has a hundred or so very small leaves but is gaining height as new leaves emerge.

Someday it will be so big that it will stick out and hang from its pot because it’s a succulent that hangs its branches.

The spinach plant is no longer a small plant; it has now become a vine. I just made its trellis for it to hang around it and fence off its main branch. You can see its thick, large leaves that are fit for a nice salad, but I have to wait for it to branch out a bit more before cooking one.

With the scant rains that have been occurring the blessings in my garden have been many. The produce I have been able to get from plants other than the ones I have mentioned here are many.

My dwarf banana plant has already produced some bananas. My pumpkin plant is finally ripening its own pumpkins, of the Cucurbina species. I’ve already harvested the first pumpkin from which I made a wonderful soup.

The bean plant is producing lots and lots of beans which I have eaten tender in their pods. For salads and soups it’s very nutritious, not to mention tasty.

For me there’s nothing as wonderful in life as the fact of planting and producing what we eat.

I invite you to plant in your garden and enjoy this rich sensation as well.

All photographs are my property. Taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

9
$ 16.68
$ 16.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Hanzell
+ 8
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Hey Dr? Tip a 0.50, will tip 1.00 later.... Thanks

Kisses, I miss you! Beijoss!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way you mentioned about your plants and seeing the pictures I will must say that you are a great lover of nature and love to grow plants.I am also a good gardener and I have grown so many vegetables in my garden which I will share soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i will like that homemade chili sauce. My sister used to make those too and its so yummy especially in my favorite shomai and green mangoes. Im drooling now 🤭

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You make me smile with your expression. Yes the sauce has your so delicious and special taste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love spicy food. I didn't when I was younger, but my taste has changed over the years. I even tried to plant some chilly last year. Not much success with it. Next time will be better.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's right, you must insist. You will be rewarded.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is the spinach plant a little slimy? I think we have that, too. Someday, I hope to be able to taste figs, either the fruit or jammed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I like to eat spinach sautéed with garlic and butter. Figs are delicious however they are eaten.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What's the name of the last plant? We have it before too an it has violet color fruit right?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The last plant is spinach. I like to eat it. This plant is still small but it will continue to tangle and its leaves are now big enough to be edible with a little butter and garlic. Your climate is very similar to ours so you might have spinach there. Yes, the seeds are purple in color.

$ 0.00
2 years ago