True Story: The Woman Who Came With Nothing And Left with Nothing

3 22
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

Extremely hot weather, the stink of automobile exhaust, scorching breezes, and overcrowded highways. I feel like a caged bird that has been freed. I'm not sure if I'll be glad or sad. "What will be my destiny in this world, apart from my parents and spending life alone?" I asked myself.

When I first immigrated to the community, I was like a newborn baby who knew nothing. I simply had the clothes I was wearing and a tiny bit of cash with me. I paused for a second when I got to the apartment, worried because I didn't know if I'd be able to live alone in a place I hadn't been before.

I walked to a market shortly after leaving the apartment. I simply walked because it was close and I needed to save some money for my daily necessities.

Something occurred to me on my first night alone. I'm only now starting to sense the melancholy of being alone in this society. Will I, on the other hand, give up my solitude? I'm here because this is my chance to support my parents and to pursue my aspirations. I needed to relax because my first day at work was coming up soon.

August 04, 2004

Wow! The building's size is unusually large. This is how it felt the first time I walked inside a very enormous and very large structure; my excitement was palpable, and I was truly surprised. We walked the length of the aisle, learning about every aspect of the job environment and each employee's job.

Today is my first day on the job. I'm Mariel Arevalo, a 16-year-old who began my career as a Hard Disk Drive factory worker. I have a Quality Assurance or Quality Control department. With the support of my academic background, I had already worked as a Quality Control by the time I was sixteen years old. It is legal because the Department of Labor has approved it. I experience a range of feelings, including happiness, sadness, fear, and nervousness. Thank God! I immediately thought this was the opportunity to help my family.

My six-month working contract came to an end, but I was unable to maintain a consistent work schedule. When I lost my employment at the age of 17, I went through a lot of hardships. My family had no idea I was unemployed and had no idea where I resided.

For the past six months, my work experience has been abysmal. I was in debt because one of my dorm mates left me, she owes me money. I assumed and trusted that everyone in the house was nice to me. Maybe it's also my fault; I've been too obedient and... Perhaps dumb and ridiculous. The girl who lend me money so she can buy her luxury, literally foolish.

There are several reasons why my first try at work failed. First and foremost, I am unable to fix my budget based on the number of days before I get paid again. Even though I am in need, I lend my money to my dorm mate. To put it another way, I'm hungry and running out of food alternatives. Second, when I run out of food to buy, I owe my coworkers money. Finally, after my contract expired, I received nothing. There was no money saved, no money invested, and my last wage was only used to pay off the debt.

Back in the day, living was sweltering, congested, and unpleasant. Only a few of my coworkers became regulars at their job. Why did they abandon our rented apartment? I'm not sure either, maybe because they had a companion who was jobless...? When I returned, I was confronted by a smoky, crowded room. Laundry and dirty kitchen utensils piled high. My companions left without saying goodbye, like an abandoned house.

This is the first chapter of my life's journey. And I was let down.

3
$ 1.58
$ 1.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of gerl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

laban sa dream, wag susuko. para satin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cant imagine myself living alone, i wonder how its hard especially when you dont have enough money with you. Youre so kind and responsible, youre able to find work at young age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, there are many lessons we could learn from that story. Being the first time living alone at that age is real hardship in life. How to handle yourself, money, and friends? She was ended at the very bottom of that part of her life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago