Mental Health Awareness: Outdoor Activities Can Help

6 22
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

In this modern world, we are all fond of technology, especially social media platforms such YouTube, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter, Snapchat and so on. People are so overwhelmed with the number of likes, comments, shares and views that they even made this a basis of friendship. Some would make this for a living as most of the platforms are being paid, usually, they are called live streamers, vloggers, bloggers etcetera. But for me, doing these things also hurts our mental health if we won't manage or control being in these industries. 

Arvel's Story

I am a member of a green activist, I prefer to do outdoor activities that involve nature, physical activities and doing things that promote mental health awareness. In earlier months of 2021, I suffered from general anxiety disorder due to separation from my previous partner. I was traumatized when this happened, it resulted from distancing myself from all the people around, locking up myself at home doing nothing, crying and mourning as if someone died. 

Arvel's

With the help of friends and family I started to realize that everything happens for a reason, they encouraged me to go out again and do what I loved and this includes outdoor activities. I usually do hiking, camping, rappelling, swimming, glamping and surfing, back then I do these activities regularly.

Arvel's

When I decided to go back to my usual routine I tried new sports including wakeboarding, wall climbing, going to the gym 3 to 4 times a week and one sport I was regularly active these days was playing the airsoft. In this game your whole body will move, the mind needs to be alert, you also need to have a strategy for every game. Teamwork is the number one rule in this game, without it you’ll lose because it is all about the participation of each member. Had so much fun playing this sport until now. I am playing it and currently have a team called “virago’. Making myself busy helps me to forget the traumas I've undergone, trying new activities, going out and meeting new people was a big help. 

Doing these kinds of sports make you more healthy and active, it stimulates your blood, relaxes your mind, and helps you to get complete sleep at night. Also, I practise eating healthy foods and drinks to match my healthy lifestyle. It is more healthy than focusing online and watching other people’s lives, these social media things don't help much, it even makes you more stressed. Outdoor activities keep you away from the toxicity of this world, people you’ll encounter with nature has a healthy mind, body and will give you good vibes. I highly recommended outdoor activities for people who were undergoing mental illness, believe me, it will help you. I only speak based on my experiences that have helped me survive the entire stage.  

Participating also in community service, volunteering, gift-giving and tree planting which I like the most was fulfilling. You help the world and our mother earth plus you are healing yourself from the pain and struggles you’ve encountered. This is the best feeling I have ever had when I was in the survival stage of my life mentally. In addition to this, I also avoid people that causes emotional stress in me like listening to others criticism.

As I've changed my perspective in life by accepting the things that happened and choosing to go on with everyday living, my mind gets clearer, feeling better and I let God give me the power of forgiveness to those who did bad things in me. Just believe and have faith that everything will be okay soon and be healed in God’s time.

Some people will let you down instead of giving sympathy in your situation, they do this victim-blaming like they know how it feels like being in your moment. Remember you can’t please everyone in this society whether you do bad or good things people will always have comments. Just focus on the things that make you happy, healthy and motivates you rather than accepting their bad thoughts. 

2
$ 0.81
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
Sponsors of gerl
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gerl
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nung nagsuffer sko ng anxiety halos kineep awake ako nun everynight tas diko alam gagawin ko kase hirap matulog jusko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko Naman naranasan yan sa murang edad ko. Pero ngayon na may anak na ko uu, pero dahil Naman yun sa trauma nng may magnanakaw dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As in namamasok sila ng bahay te?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi Naman, nakita Kasi sa CCtv na may dinudukot sa bintana namin. May dala syang bag tapos nasa loob ng bag yung kamay nyang isa. Naiisip namin panu kung may nagising saamin tapos baril pala ang hawak. Nagkataon na may nakuha syang bike sa kagabi namin Jaya umalis na agad sya. Simula nun hindi ako makakatulog sa gabi, konting tunog nagigitla ako tapos ilang beses ako binangungot na yung lagi na nakabag at naka making na pants papasok sa pinto namin sya lagi ang panaginip ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hala ka, wala ba kayong koral ate? Diba nakita mukha nya? Madami narin syang nanakawan?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kitang Kita ang mukha Niya, nilagay pa nga sa gate yung print na kuha sa CCTV pero lalo akong natakot. Pano kung magalit lalo yun. Pero ginawan Naman yata yun ng paraan nung may ari ng apartment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago