Stepping my Foot into Writing

8 15
Avatar for gelaiwrites
3 years ago

Whenever I find it hard to express myself , writing them down is my last resort.

I am Angela. 19. I permanently live in Albay, Philippines. I am a second year college student studying Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering. My mother is an OFW in Bahrain, Qatar for almost 10 yrs now. My biological father abandoned us after my mom gave birth on me. As a solo parent, I saw how my mom works hard to quench our thirst, to fill our empty stomach and to send us to school. I saw a strong and independent woman in her. Everything what it takes to be a responsible mother is all in her. She inspires me to to better in everything I am passionate about.

When I am in my Junior High School class, I started to engage myself in joining a scouting movement-Girl Scouts of the Philippines (GSP). Through joining in this organization, I was able to live out of my comfort zone. I started to meet new friends, to socialize with amazing and powerful girls, and to learn essential things that taught me to face life bravely and independently. In addition to these, GSP has taught me to embrace what I truly am, to accept my flaws and shortcomings, and to let my failures serve as an avenue for my growth.

As I stepped into my Senior High School Class, I found myself always craving for adventures. And that was the time I started to go hiking. I have had climbed three mountains in our province, Mt Masaraga in Ligao City, Albay, Mt. Malinao in Tiwi, Albay, and Mt Isarog in Naga, Camarines Sur. These hiking experiences helped me to find home whenever I felt lost, to find tranquility whenever things became too heavy for me to handle.

During this global pandemic, episodes of emotional breakdown are inevitable. I constantly feel sadness, emptiness and I even lost interest in everything I do. For almost four months of being quarantined at home, I tried many things to distract myself from entertaining my anxieties. It was hard and frustrating. But everything seems easy to carry when I started to continue writing. It helps me unload myself with confusions, doubts, heavy emotions, and unbearable feelings that was always left untold.

So I hope through this thing in here, I can continue my passion in writing. And make it as a way of living as well. May you all support me in this endeavor. God speed, everyone!

9
$ 0.07
$ 0.06 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @ladyhanabi
Avatar for gelaiwrites
3 years ago

Comments

@OverThinker and @Yayaya13, this new writer here is worthy of your time. I hope you'd welcome her here and be her guide.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woaaaaah. Welcome to the readcash dear! I am looking forward to your future articles❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sorry the pandemic affected you so much. But welcome to readcash, I'm sure you'll find it really great. There are so many authors and readers..........it really is a good community.............

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yey! Welcome to read.cash @gelaiwrites 🤗 I am looking forward to know more about you and your future articles. I hope you enjoy your journey here in read.cash! God Bless 💞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to read.cash. Thanks for the nice introduction. I'm glad you found your way to us. I am curious about your articles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

omg thank you for a warm welcome I hope to read more of your articles too!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome to read cash

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can understand your hardships in a sense of having been abandoned. I hope you get the support you'll need from us if ever

$ 0.00
3 years ago