The top 4 courses that I wanted to take in college.

4 20
Avatar for fyrfinex
2 years ago

One of the most exciting experiences in high school is thinking about what course to take because it is the first step in the realization of one's dreams. Some are being pressured by their parents because they want their kids to follow their legacy or a grandparent's footsteps, some were lucky enough to be given the choice to choose whatever course they love.

Have you been given the freedom in choosing your course or did your parents force you? Were you grateful that they did or were you sad and miserable?

Anyways, before the college entrance exam, we filled out forms and one of the questions on top of the paper were my top 3 courses should I pass the exam. Depending on my score, on which subject is the highest, they will then give me that corresponding course.

But the very first course that I wanted to take wasn't offered in MSU- Iligan but in MSU- Marawi. I long to be an ambassador or a consul and the course for that matter was International Relations. Sadly, my mother didn't approve so I had no choice but to just take the exam at MSU-IIT.

Luckily, I passed the exam. My score was 100/160. Do you wanna know what were my top 3 choices for the course? Here they are:

Top 1- International Relations

I want to represent my country and the best position for me would be either to become an ambassador or a consul. I didn't want the presidency. I was once an officer, a president in college, and it was a total headache. How much more does a president have?

I love my country, the Philippines, and I want to serve it as much as I can. I want to protect its interest, its sovereignty, and make it known to the world that it is a peace-loving and beautiful country.

Top 2 - Electrical Engineer

I studied Electricity when I was in my 3rd and 4th year in high school. I was the only girl in the class but it didn't stop me from becoming one of the top students. I didn't know how to use the hammer and I could still remember the pain when I was driving the nails into the wood during our Building and Wiring final exam.

I could still remember how to wire and fix wires and appliances, the technical terms, how to make a schematic diagram, bird's eye view, floor and electrical plans of a house or a building. It did help me in my major subjects when I studied Computer Science.

Top 3 -Biology

I wanted to become a Botanist because I was inspired by my Biology teacher, Mrs. Gomez. I liked seeing the bacteria and other stuff in the microscope. I wanted to study, observe different species, and discover further the healing properties of the plants. I still can remember some of the classes of insects until this moment. I was good at Biology, Science, in general. I joined Investigatory Research competitions in high school and I won champion in the District and 1st place at the Division level.

I could have become a doctor if they gave me the chance to become a Botanist or Biologist.

Top 4- AB English Linguistics

I am Thalia's fan and because of her, I wanted to study Spanish and other languages. I aspired to become an interpreter hence AB English Linguistics. I got the highest score in English, hence, they gave me AB English.

It was nice at first, but the department wanted us to take a lot of seminars and I didn't have enough money to pay for the tickets. But I did enjoy my 6 months at the Uni as an AB English Linguistics student. I did have good grades in all my subjects except for Math because I really couldn't understand it. I had a failing grade of 5.0.

I could have been on a different path right now should I have succeeded in one of those courses. Regrets? We all have that. But one thing I am thankful for, my parents gave me the freedom to choose, except for International Relations. It would be different with my kids, I will support them all the way as long as their dreams will make them responsible and better individuals.

My cousins let their parents choose their courses and I could testify that they are now very successful in their field. My cousin Ping, the eldest of the three, is now a nurse in the USA, her sister is a chemical engineer based in Dubai, and their youngest is a maritime engineer.

I think as parents, we can suggest courses to our kids but let them decide. We can push them to aim for their dreams and be there when they need our support.

Can you tell me what was your course and did you like it? Did your parents advise you what to take or was it of your own free will? Are you practicing it now as your career? Let's get to know each other, please comment below.

And if you want to sponsor me, I will be very happy.

Sponsors of fyrfinex
empty
empty
empty

_________________________________________________

And if you have come this far in reading my content- thank you very much. Please don't forget to also subscribe so you will be updated whenever I have a new story to share.

_________________________________________________

The images used in this article were from Unsplash.com

The rest of the content is mine unless stated otherwise.

Yours truly,

©fyrfinex

Always remember:

Everything is good and great.

I am also in:

Noise

Odysee

This article is 100% plagiariasm free as per https://plagiarismdetector.net/
February 19, 2022

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Jelena
+ 1
Avatar for fyrfinex
2 years ago

Comments

I would pick electrical engineering because I'm good at calculations and reasoning and that would be perfect for me. Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had a compulsory subject called "Work Education in high school." They used to give us hands-on training on electricity, woodwork, bookkeeping, etc. I liked electricity and woodwork very much.

Parents always wish their children take subjects that have job prospects.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We call it Electives because we can choose whatever we want from Electricity to Home Making. It was so fun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In our school curricula, it was compulsory, and everybody had to do all the subjects by rotation in a year. So, I did electricity, woodwork, and all other topics under "Work Education."

$ 0.00
2 years ago