An Open Letter for my One Great Dad

12 96
Avatar for francescawrites
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Letter, Experience, Dad, ...
An artwork image of a father hugging his daughter. Created in Canva.com by francescawrites.

The celebration of Father's Day might have ended a week from now but appreciating the people that make you feel like 'you' does not need any special day. As an expression of love, this is an open letter of appreciation for my Dad.

For the love and hate I have, this is a letter for my one great dad.

It wasn't easy to say that my Dad and I are on good terms. Simply, we aren't. Despite my efforts or his, there will always be a thin line that makes us feel disconnected. It was almost a natural thing, like a Yin & Yang element in our relationship.

Growing up, I was fully aware of his very existence. From his efforts to support us fully and his flaws that were all ingrained in my system.

One could say that he was a sort of 'tiger' parent to us. His support system will never have an inch of encouragement, for his words ought to make us realize how capable we are.

His words are powerful and could make us feel pain, intended or not.

He will never say that he cares. Something I badly wanted to: his approval and gentle manner to assure us he'll be there no matter what. Yet, he had never mentioned anything in instances we needed his affection the most.

He never said he care. His words are too strong to make us feel that he does not. Growing up, he trained us to speak up for ourselves by uplifting us through his cold manner. He knows that we are beyond the fear we feel for others. He will push us to our limits, to find the courage and strength that we can fight for ourselves. Of course, it wasn't the best thing to do, but I learned much about the cruelty of life through those eye-opening experiences.

With all of these things, I would admit, I hate him because he's not the typical 'tatay' or Filipino Dad. Oh, how I wish things work like how is it for my friends. Yet, time changed everything.

He wasn't the best but he progressed, both as a Dad and as a person which astounds me. At first, I questioned his entirety and his role in my life due to his not-so-typical treatment and parenting. The years passed by with him opening up, being closer and softer to us.

I realized his intentions. I understood why he was that way and I love him for every flaw he was. His uniqueness made me prouder of him.

His love may not be heard, but we feel it— I feel it and that's what's important.

Thank you, Pa.

Thank you for every morning you'll wake up just to assure us that we can go to school on time. Thank you for each meal we had with you that you prepared with all your best. Some of it may be good or something I despise the most, but your efforts would never be taken for granted by us.

Thank you for the life you've given. Your wisdom, strength, and sense of things we don't quite get. Your words may have pierced me at times but you made me feel whole at times I was too lost.

Thank you for everything. You had been a big part of my life, like Ma, you two make my world go 'round.

May you remember that you're my One Great Dad who I love and adore.

Thank you for reading today’s write-up!

I am francescawrites, a writer who shares her soul through writing. I create articles based on the things I think & experience. Also, I cover up articles about topics that interest you and me, under the sun — name it all!

If you liked this content, consider liking and subscribing to me. For suggestions, comments, and inquiries, kindly comment anything down there.

You can help me improve my write-ups by providing feedback about the article via this form.

See you on my next blog!

Let’s connect!

You can reach me via email: contact.francescawrites@zohomail.com or check my handles at https://campsite.bio/francescawrites

7
$ 4.52
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mr_Trenzs
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
+ 2
Sponsors of francescawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francescawrites
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Letter, Experience, Dad, ...

Comments

Salute to every father out there who cares for us silently. Just like yours my father wasn't showy at all but I always feels his support silently. Happy Fathers day to your dad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, GelayyLumiere! Wishing your Dad a happy father's day too! Maybe they weren't as expressive as us but they truly care and genuinely love their offspring.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank youu, even if they weren't that expressive at least we could feel them supporting us❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I salute to those father. They are really great. I think my father has something similar to your father. Indeed they are really good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I think most fathers are quite like ours. Nevertheless, I wish you had a great celebration of Father's Day. Indeed, they are good and loveable too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Father’s Day to your Dad, I felt every struggle to make it perfect but then I loved the progress that occurred with time.. indeed Fathers are doing a lot and should be appreciated…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember noong may malaking problema na sumubok sa pamilya namin, I accidentally saw my Papa crying in the dark, though sobrang tough at manly ng personality nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, I think they have their soft spot afterall. Crying isn't about weakness, it's all about love and expression of pain. Hope things are better with your family! :>

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My father also doesn't express that much but I can see thru his action that he really cares. Maybe that's their way of showing affection; soft inside but manly outside 😂.

Welcome back, francescawrites :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Somehow, I think that's how dads really were. At least, they make us feel the love despite their sometimes, grumpy attitude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhh I missed my family already😔 Just like you, my father also not that kind of sweet but so sweet when it comes actions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, I hope that you could see them sooner. I think dads really have their sort-of tiger parenting attitude but, they will always make us feel the love right when we need them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago