Winter preparations; Making pickled peppers!

11 46
Avatar for foryoubtc09
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Pickle, Winter, Organic, Nature, ...

Preparing/not preparing winter food in summer reminds me of the story of the ant and the cicada.

I like chilli pepper in food. Consuming it raw or adding it to a dish depends on the type of dish.

I make up for the lack of green chillies in winter with dried or pickled chillies from the summer. I don't trust greenhouse grown chillies!

I made two canning jars of pickles with the green peppers I picked from the peppers growing in the garden and on the balcony.

I chopped the green peppers in parallel and peeled 3-4 garlic cloves for each jar. The garlic cloves are to add flavour to the peppers and when combined with the smell of the peppers, they give a wonderful pickle smell.

I put the chopped peppers in the jar so that the garlic is at the bottom of the jar. A few chickpea grains can be added to contribute to the fermentation process of the pickle. This is optional, but it will add extra flavour.

Then I added salt to the grape vinegar and filled the jar with vinegar. Peppers require more salt than other pickles, the vinegar should be salty during the mixture. Depending on the pungency of the vinegar, water can be added, but since I prefer vinegar with low pungency, I did not add water. When I close the lid of the jars tightly, the pickling process begins.

After 15 days, the pickles can be opened and are ready for consumption, but they will not be opened before the winter season because they are preparations for the harsh winter season. It can be thought of as being an ant instead of a cicada, ha ha ha!

10
$ 4.01
$ 3.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Gemstone
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 5
Sponsors of foryoubtc09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for foryoubtc09
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Pickle, Winter, Organic, Nature, ...

Comments

Ah awesome, I love pickled peppers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you also like chilli, I wish not to be alone in this category, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yes I love chilli!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I sudden remember my capsaicin burn haha. I am making chilli flakes not so smart I removed the seed bare hands. Gezzz that the dumbest things I did.. For the whole day, my hands feels like burning in coal...😑

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Although it is unpleasant to meet the side effects of chilli, it adds extra flavour to the food and I like the hot taste. It stimulates the appetite and makes me eat more.

I'm sorry about your hands, but as long as you don't touch your eyes, it shouldn't be too much trouble. I've had a chilli seed briefly touch my eye before and it was incredibly painful!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahahhah you hardworking ant. Can you make me 3 jars of pickles? I love it because

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are very painful, if you like pain, why not, hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ä° like painful. Send me dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very thoughtful of you. Well done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's too early for winter 😅.. Still have summer, then Autumn. It might be consumed before winter comes 🤣🤪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In autumn, the leaves of vegetables will turn yellow, the quality and yield of crops will decrease! I prefer to use summer vegetables in order to be healthier. You may be right about being consumed before winter, I am not very strong-willed about eating! :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago