Operation to save the olive tree; how to build a wall?

5 31
Avatar for foryoubtc09
1 year ago

When you have to take care of a large olive grove, you have to know almost everything. Protecting the trees, pruning, clearing the bushes in the garden, spraying, shaking the trees during the olive season and picking the olives that fall to the ground are just some of them.

I think it was in the mid-1980s; although there was a road connecting the village to the city, there was a need to build a second road. The reason for the construction of the second road was to connect the village to the villages on the other side and from there to the city. It shortened the distance to the city by about 15 kilometres. I don't remember everything in detail because I was a child.

All I know is that bulldozers and heavy construction equipment came and cut the garden in half. It was fun to watch, I was happy because I thought I would be able to come and go to other villages more easily. If I had known that it would cause me a lot of trouble, I would have stoned the earth-moving machines. 😂

I am not a mason, and the chances of creating a solid wall by stacking uneven stones are as slim as the chances of making the neighbourhood team and scoring a goal against Real Madrid, but I have to try, because since the road construction there have been landslides due to rainwater.

Lastly, the tree on the roadside slid down a few metres from where it was standing, but it did not topple over as its roots brought the soil it was attached to with it. As if it was deliberately placed on the ground, it created a new habitat for itself a few metres away.

September is the beginning of the rainy season. Since it is unlikely to withstand the force of the flowing water during the first rains, I wanted to reinforce the lower part, the part on the side of the road, with a stone wall. Actually, what is needed is an expropriation wall reinforced with iron and cement, but the area where the slip occurred is an estimated 10 metres and 2 metres high.

I am not in a position to afford the cost of a 10-metre wide, 2-metre-high expropriation wall at a time when purchasing power is in the ground. I don't want to break my cryptos at the current prices. There is already a scorpion in the wallet with my cryptos, hehe.

As far as I could, I used cement between the stones to support the soil with the stone wall, to ensure that the stones would stick together and form a mutual counterforce.

When we were building the wall, passers-by either sneered and walked away silently or said that the wall was poorly built and would not provide enough support. A few people said it would collapse in the first rain.

Anyway, in the end, I somehow completed the wall, despite the ridicule and support. Now the only question is whether the wall is strong or not. I will see when the rains start to fall.

My expectation is that the wall will last for one or two years, because then I will build the necessary expropriation wall as a permanent solution!

Until that day, either the purchasing power will improve, or cryptos will fly to the moon. If you ask which is more likely to happen, I do not trust them because purchasing power depends on politicians. Since I know the past 4-year movements of the crypto, I think the same line will repeat. This shows the result that I trust the crypto to rise more.

Maybe I have to forget the password of the wallets with my cryptos and remember it after 20 years, but after 20 years I can collect the olive trees in the garden from the stream... for firewood!

So what do you think? Do you think the wall's strong enough? Maybe I should take a poll. Will the wall collapse in the first rain or not? 

Note: I will climb two more rows on the wall and fill the gap between the wall and the tree with soil, so the wall is not 100% ready yet! I'm tired enough today, I'll finish it tomorrow!

7
$ 1.82
$ 1.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of foryoubtc09
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for foryoubtc09
1 year ago

Comments

That’s a really nice wall you built for your olive tree ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, I hope it works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm we will know that after rain hehe but hoping it would not fall

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope that wall will last longer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, I hope so. Thank you, I hope it lasts longer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago