My 20,000 Steps Saturdate!

7 24
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Weekend, Trek, Fitness, Foodie, ...
Butterfly we saw at Saumarez Manor

I am taking a little break from my usual writing style today and write in a more laid back manner as it is a weekend and I do want to chill more on the weekends. Today I will just be writing about how my Saturday is going.

Dead flowers on the field. One could argue they still look beautiful somehow.
Hollow tree stump at Sausmarez Manor. They are re-wilding it and planting flowers inside. This should look beautiful when it grows.

Β One thing I love about the weekend is the fact that my boyfriend is off work and we get to do more exciting things. It was a slow start for us as it took a while to wake up and drag ourselves out of bed. We had granola for breakfast, did the laundry, played some Mobile Legends as we are aiming to reach Mythic someday, and watched some an episode of "Better Call Saul" Then we had a shower and headed out for lunch at a little Italian Shop called Cafe Delizia. We had arancini and pane cunzato along with aragostine for dessert.

Interesting use of dead trees. Repurposed as a vase to compliment the succulents and give it a natural look. This was at Sausmarez Manor car park.
Mushrooms at Sausmarez Manor. I love mushrooms. I find them cute.Β 

Then we set out for our mission to walk to Jerbourg as he has read my Guernsey article yesterday and he said he's never been there with me. It was supposed to be a 50 minutes walk but it actually took us an hour because of all the little side trips we took. We had a little nose around Sausmarez Manor but we retreated as there was a wedding function going on. We also had a nose around at an open field with cows. There were lots of interesting things along the way such as berries which I happily ate without washing, flowers, and honesty shops.

Andre saying hello to the cows. They were pretty curious and friendly.
The poor bugger had so many flies on its face.
I couldn't get enough of their cuteness.
Some Easter Lilies on the side of the road.
Book exchange and honesty shops.
Flower bouquets at an honesty box.

We poked around Petit Port beach, a neighbouring place from Jerbourg but sadly it was closed. Seems like there was a rock slide there and it is undergoing repair. Not to be disheartened, we continued on to Jerbourg and the first order of business was to have coffee and cakes at the Jerbourg Hotel before we further our walk as we've already taken 1 hour walk to get there. I ordered Salted caramel cheesecake with my coffee while Andre ordered Banoffee cheesecake. After having our refreshments we continued for the trek down to Jerbourg lighthouse and also Jerbourg sea access.

Petit Port was closed unfortunately.
Jerbourg Hotel. We sat outside as the sun was lovely.
We checked out the hotel pool. But we didn't bring bathers.
Salted Caramel cheesecake for me and a black Bean 14 coffee. Guernsey's own brand of caffeine.
Banoffee cheesecake for Andre. I must admit he made the better choice.

It was a long way down with proper steps , as well as, some rocky patches but it was fun. We saw a lot of different berries along the way. We also met a man who have just finished fishing. He was panting when we met him and he was heading up but he was so happy as he caught 2 good sized fishes. Unfortunately when we arrived near the lighthouse it was close to public access as the bridge to it had cracks. Still we saw some errant fishermen but we sticked to the rules.

The look out point. Points out neighbouring islands.
It seems close but it was a pretty long way down.
First lot of steps. Lord help us.
Still filled with determination.
Fish caught by the fisherman we talked with on our way down.
Tried to take a post card worthy photo.
Me and Andre.
Andre's favourite pose πŸ˜‚
Squint, squint sunny day!
These were very sour.

We headed to the sea access instead to see the turbulent waves hitting the rocks so that Andre can explore it as he hasn't gone down there yet. Going down was hard, but going back up proved to be even harder. I was panting all the way but I am proud of myself I did it despite a not fully recovered sprained ankle.

Take my hand please.
Uh-oh no entry. Retreat!
Going down to the sea access.
Unriped raspberries. I must admit I ate a lot of it. No washing as I believe in eating germs sometimes πŸ˜‚
He walks too quickly and leaves me behind.
Finally reached the rocky seaside.
The raging waters looked quite cinematic don't you think?
Sea access. The net is pretty rusty as the sea breeze hastens the chemical process of rust formation.
Heading back up. Oh no. Defining persistence at this point and questioning my choices.
Little resties. We found a bench, yes!

We walked another hour back home and actually made 20,000 steps today. We said hello to the cows again as they were too cute. Then we made a pit stop at Iceland Groceries to buy some macaroons and chicken for dinner, which we absolutely enjoyed. And now we are just chilling while I'm writing this.

Tail wagging. They looked quite sweet.
The curious bovines and our new friends.
They've all lined up for a nice group photo.
20,000 Step Count! Hooray for today!

Today is a really happy day for me. What more is better to do than spend the day with the one you love. I hope you guys enjoyed the photos and until next time.

Heading home. Half way home. ❀️



5
$ 0.76
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Weekend, Trek, Fitness, Foodie, ...

Comments

Wow! you just burn a whole Chicken out there PrettyFlapz :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well I ate a whole chicken when I returned home after the trek πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha that's a good thing to do I guess HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I was pretty smashed. But luckily I can still walk.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You need some rest Prettyflapz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

20,000 steps mean almost ten kilometres you run today and in this busy life you spend good time with him and captured such a beautiful pictures

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is 10 good kilometers indeed. I felt so productive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago