La Valette Undergound Military Museum

12 39
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog, Guernsey

I am not really a fan of wars but I do appreciate the blood and sweat the vetarans shed for the freedom that we are enjoying today. Guernsey, although seems remote and separate to the world, happens to be rich in war histories as they played a role during the World War I and II. So it is not surprising to have a lot of War Museums in this very tiny island. Today I will be talking about the La Valette Underground Military Museum.

Military Medals. These are only for display but they sell some of these in the Museum too along with stamps and coins.

The museum depicts Guernsey's military involvement from the First World War and also the German Occupation of the island during the Second World War from 1940 to 1945. The museum was originally built by the Germans to be tunnels to store fuels for their U-boats but never been completed. Hence it is a pretty small museum size-wise. The tunnels were then converted into a Museum in the late 1980s which took 2 years to finish.

Medics and healthcare supplies. As a nurse I did like this portion as it makes me feel like my profession was very important during the war times.

Because of its extensive coverage on Guernsey's Military History especially during the German Occupancy and liberation of the island, this Museum was award-winning. It is very popular for people who want to explore Guernsey's History Trails.

Model military supply tunnel. And a military dummy.

The entry fees currently at the time of me writing this article is: for adults £7.50 ; seniors £6.00; and children £2.50. Personally, I think it is pretty excessive for a museum that is viewable for less than 30 minutes. But I guess we can say history has a price and maybe to people who are really into military stuff it is well worth it. I would still see recommend for people to see it at least once. It is quite interesting to see old things. And sometimes try to guess what they were used for.

British Channel Island Militia during the Victorian period.

That concludes my visit. I hope you enjoyed the photos and some history. I tried not to be too boring. Cheers! Let me know what you think.



6
$ 0.98
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog, Guernsey

Comments

I really love museums, you gave me an idea to write an article about it HAHA cause I visited last week

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which one did you visit? I visited some in Manila when I stayed there. Looking forward to what you will write.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Blanco Museum, and National Museum that located in Manila. I am looking forward to more museums visit cause I really love that kind of place :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have not seen the Blanco Museum what's in there? I have seen the National Museum though. The one for natural sciences one with the big dinosaur fossil at the entrance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was located in the Art capital of the PH at Angono more on realistic paintings painted by the Blanco Family

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh that sounds very interesting. I hope to see it some day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Flo! Thank you for sharing this useful review about this museum! Were you able to see fuel tanks too? Also was the army wearing different clothes according to their compartment?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Andre. There was indeed a big tank on site and different uniforms for British troops and even for German soldiers too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a place to visit as it helps us understand history and know fully well that there are those who gave their blood and sweat for the freedom we are now enjoying.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly. Although I do think that it would make the experience more interesting for younger groups if there was an interactive aspect on that museum. History should after all be passed on to the younger generation too. I feel like it appeals more to the elder generation for now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have young inquisitive minds and young ones that want to go into politics as well... They can relate and find it useful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is true. I believe parents should also try to inculcate patriotism and love of country to their kids at a young age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago