Guernsey's Bathing Pools

10 52
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog

For those of you who have not heard of Guernsey, it is a beautiful island in the English Channel which is not part of the UK but also not very separate from the UK. It is still a British territory but it is governed by a different law. I have had the privilege to work in this island and today I want to share to you one of my favourite features of this summer paradise, its bathing pools.

These pools are collectively called La Vallette Bathing Pools, which was built back in the 1840s, and is located in the Parish of St. Peter Port. These were built to atone for the loss of beaches brought about by the extension of the St. Peter Port harbour. The Bathing pools are comprised of four natural pools namely: men's pool; horse-shoe pool; ladies pool; and the children's pool. Natural in a sense that they aren't treated by chlorines and are filled only with sea water which accumulates during the high tides.

Since I am quite eccentric, I used to enjoy swimming in agonisingly freezing waters here on the cold winter months as it makes me feel so alive and renewed. On the summer months, it is even better as the waters become more conducive for swimming and the pool borders serves as a good sunbathing spot This is the men's pool on a high tide. This used to be my favourite because it is less This is the men's pool on a high tide. This used to be my favourite because it is less uphill.

This is the men's pool on a high tide.

This is the horse shoe pool as it is shaped quite like a horse shoe. This pool is directly connected to the sea. It has no boundaries unlike the other pools.

This is the ladies' pool but as you probably have noticed it is now a unisex pool. There aren't any gender segregations anymore.

Lastly this is the children's pool. This is the only pool I haven't tried yet.

5
$ 0.04
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Blog

Comments

Such a wonderful place. Enjoy and be safe as well Ganda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is absolutely beautiful indeed. Thank you very much miss artist!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome, anyway, I'm a guy Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh the thumb nail is quite small it looks like you have long hair.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yes I do, hope you have a nice day kabayan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This Guernsey is so beautiful. I've heard of it before. I think I read it from somewhere... This is so beautiful I have to admit. I would love to visit a place like this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well for a holiday in the summer it is perfect. To stay for long I am not quite sure you'd love it as it can get isolating too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. It's perfect for holiday destinations. Not sure I want to live there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well if you love to eat, to trek, and swim, and does not like shopping so much you will be okay here I suppose. It is more of a family place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's amazing and thanks a lot for the heads up. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago