Guernsey Candie Gardens

7 38
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

A friendly little robin in the premises. Isn't she cute?

Hello my lovely readers of the world, today I will be writing about one of my favourite hang-out places in Guernsey, Candie Gardens. These award-winning historical Victorian gardens were once part of a private estate called The Candie House but became open to the public since the 1890s. It is considered as a rare example of a late 19th century public flower garden.

Mythological creature called Satyr! Half goat half human! It looks like he is taking a selfie.
Enter to a different world.
Busy bee feeding on lavenders.

The gardens has two levels being lower and higher. The Lower Gardens, which is my favourite part, is a home to a wide range of plant species from all over the world. It also has a little fish pond, as well as, the oldest known heated glass-houses in the British Isles which dates back to 1792.

Seeing palms trees in the Western world always makes me happy as it reminds me of my tropical home.
A nice tree to provide some shade if you want a little picnic.
Another beautiful robin with the cherry blossom tree.

The higher Gardens, on the other hand, highlights its lush green lawns and the spectacular panoramic view of St. Peter Port rooftops and harbour and Guernsey's neighbouring islands (Sark, Herm, and Jethou). It also has the iconic statue of the famous writer and politician Victor Hugo which was unveiled on 1914. A gift from the French government to Guernsey as gratitude for the Guerns for their generosity and hospitality towards Hugo during his exile in the island.

These plants make me feel short.
My boyfriend taking a photo of me.

Queen Victoria's statue wearing Imperial regalia and carrying an orb and sceptre also stands at the top of the gardens, this statue was built in the 1900 to mark her Diamond Jubilee. This bronze statue was created by artist C.B. Birch and is an exact replica of those found in Aberdeen and on the Thames Embankment. Unfortunately I couldn't find any of her pictures on my gallery so you may just have to imagine this one. If you are feeling thirsty or peckish, there is Cafe Victoria in the garden grounds connected also to the art gallery where you can buy souvenirs and gifts and the little Guernsey Museum.

Coffee at Victoria Cafe. Cheers to my fellow coffeeholics here!
Victor Hugo and his trust seagull friend.

The reason why I liked this place so much is because of the peace and quiet it offers. Despite being just 5 minutes away from the busy town centre of St. Peter Port, it maintains its serenity thus allowing me to escape the reality and to be able to meditate and calm my mind. Furthermore, I have always been quite a flora and fauna enthusiast despite my allergic rhinitis. In addition to that, this place is quite memorable to me and my boyfriend as we spend a lot of our early dating days here. Lastly, it is free admission and is open 24/7!

My boyfriend studying for his GRE. Such a studious person!
Good Old Victor Hugo.

That is it for today and I hope you enjoyed this place as much as I did. I'm sorry if I put too much photos as I had a hard time choosing which ones to post. Let me know what you think. See you in my next article! Cheers!

Red and white.


6
$ 1.75
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Such a beautiful place and most important moments is you are with your boyfriend 😉

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is kinda our favourite hangout and macro photography practice place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahh I want to study under the cherry blossom tree✨💛

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah well it's not as pretty now as spring has gone and so it looks just a normal tree now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a peaceful place. Peace out to Robin😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is adorable isn't it!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes. Just like you❣

$ 0.00
1 year ago