Why pay it back when you can pay it forward? 

35 84
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

12th of June 2021

Some years ago (about 2014 I think) I took part in an incredible experience called Masterkey Mastermind Alliance or MKMMA for short. I had to watch a few video’s and fill in an application form to be granted a Pay It Forward scholarship for which there were limited spaces. Once qualified, you were given a list of materials to buy/prepare for your half a year journey. You were later assigned a guide, had to attend weekly webinars, write blog posts ( this was a beginning of mine's ) about your experiences as well as many other daily tasks, including reading, meditating, listening to your own recordings, gratitude lists and many many more.

It was a full on 6 months long experience and most likely not for everybody, as all the tasks took good 3 or more hours every single day and it felt like being back at school, while I was also working full time. It was perfect for me at that time though. I have just ended my 15 years long relationship (6 years of it was marriage), found out that my mum had cancer and my whole world has turned upside down. I started wondering about the purpose of life and read even more books to help me understand it all. One thing led to another and I found myself applying for this unusual scholarship and being accepted for it too. 

To say it was a life changing experience would be an understatement. Apart from learning many useful skills which I apply to my daily life to this day, I learned about the idea of paying it forward. Once approved for the scholarship you’d be learning for free and after the 1st month you we were asked to pay it forwards, so next year another person could take part in this wonderful experience. We were given a choice of how much we wanted to pay, so overall it was affordable even if you didn’t earn much, but you could also pay more than a minimum if your situation was better. Whichever option you chose, what you got in return was worth infinitely more. I remembered thinking that it was such a wonderful idea. 

I planted a few seeds and received 100's of beautiful flowers.

Throughout my life I have received help from many different people across the globe, at many different stages of my life and in many different forms. Some of them I will never be able to repay, because:

  • I can’t remember their names,

  • I don’t know who they are/never met them,

  • I lost contact with them,

  • They don’t want me to pay them back,  

  • They passed away, 

  • They do well in life and don’t need me to pay them back.

These and many other cases are just perfect for applying the Paying It Forward concept. We live in an energetic Universe and as much as most of us are attached to the monetary exchange for anything and everything, this is not exactly how the Universe itself works.  There is a flow in this Universe and what you give from the purity of your heart, returns to you tenfold. It very rarely happens that what you give will be returned to you through the same channel.

Here on read.cash for example I could return every tip I receive from person A back to them and they would then give it back to me. Does it make sense? Not for me it doesn’t. It works more like an exchange or a sale contract, where we give each other the same amount there and back and every time this amount is slightly smaller, as each transaction carries a fee with it. Instead I express my gratitude and then look for:

  • People who are just starting and need my support much more than those people who supported me.

  • An extraordinary content which is like a book that I can not put down, because I just have to read it till the end. 

  • A very valuable content which includes helpful tips on topics that I find interesting or that somehow answered my question. 

  • A meaningful comment to mine or someone else’s article, that touched me one way or another. 

I have a similar approach to sponsorships, although maybe not entirely. I guess another side of sponsorship is that it is a form of self advertisement, so it is worth appearing on someone else’s profile even though they sponsor you too. For the time being I decided to refrain from this and only sponsor people who are not sponsoring me. 

Pretty much the same goes for my noise.cash account. There were a few occasions that I looked at the entire list of my tippers and visited their profiles to drop a tip too. It was a very exhausting experience. Instead, I go to my subscription page and spend some time reading the content and looking at pretty pictures from all over the world. In times when I have more spare time, I will also go to the Explore section and look for some new, great content creators. Of course those leaving comments on my posts are in a whole different category. If someone takes time to read my ramblings and reply in a meaningful way, of course I also take time to not only reply, but also check out what they are about. There can be some nice friendships sprouting from this. 

Do you lack money? Give it away!

Counter intuitive as it sounds, when I really struggle financially, I take change laying around the house and give it away to people on the streets during my next shopping visits. There is almost 0% of a chance that this person will ever give it back to you and that is the heart of the idea of paying it forward and giving without the expectation of reciprocity. More often than not we give, because we expect something in return. We give to friends, family, co-workers and consciously or not we expect something in return. A helping hand when we most need it, a favour, their time and attention and then we get really disappointed when we don’t get what we were hoping for. Whether we articulated what we need or not is another story, because we often expect others to read our minds. 

The point is that we always expect something in return for whatever we give. When we give to a stranger in need however, we give and don’t expect the return of it. This way we send a signal to the Universe that we have more than enough to give. Energy loves to flow and we keep the flow going forward. Does it matter what the stranger spends the money on? Not at all. It’s their karma to carry, not ours.   

I understand that I might not be very popular with my approach, but deep in my core paying it forward just makes so much more sense than paying it back.  

Those of you who read my post ‘Who is fantagira?’ will know that I spent over 2 years in care/orphanage. My next, ultimate Pay It Forward step is going to be about becoming a Foster Parent myself. I will be honest  - this is quite scary and out of my comfort zone decision and the only reason why I am not freaking out yet is because I assume I will not be accepted for it. I don’t have children of my own therefore they could reject my application for this reason alone, but I will not know if I don't try. Well, time will tell. I will no doubt be updating you here whichever way it goes. 

Until next time 💙

****************************************************************

All pictures in this and all my other articles are taken by me, unless otherwise stated.

10
$ 33.10
$ 32.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @beanimal
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
+ 2
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Nice article. Yes I do believe in paying it forward. What I have now are all blessings from above and it would be great to share such blessings, the reason why I gave a pack of rice to the rider every time I have something delivered in my door step as they cannot pay me back. It is so nice to hear them say "thanks, we will have something for breakfast tomorrow". Hope to hear you soon being a foster parent. 🧡🧡🧡

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is such a nice thing to do Judith. I'm sure this comes back to you tenfold in one form or another 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I Love the pay it forward concept, makes so much sense. I will copy the link of this article and post it in a very special Group, my Family, they'll love it 🥰

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you my lovely. Is this a facebook group you have? 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a "refugees" group after Tsu didn't turn up like we'd like too, Bluefire was a major disappointment..most of us are best friends since old Tsu, 8 y ago

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s quite a long time. I’ve heard about old tsu, but I had no idea it existed back then. Whats Bluefire?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love your approach on this of Paying it forward. My grandmother always said, what you give generously is returned to you in abundance. I hope your foster parent application gets approved. And that the call you've had these days wasn't too hard for you. As usual, I really enjoyed reading your writes. And you always leave me with something to think about.

$ 0.50
2 years ago

That is the best compliment a writer can dream of. I am not good with giving the compliments just for the sake of it, but when something touches me, suddenly the right words just roll off my tongue. I suspect you are similar to me in this respect.

I did have a call on Monday, urging me to formally apply, so I think it's all happening now. I'm a little nervous, but I just have to try and see if I can be any good at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

CoquiCoin

I'm sure if it's for you, you will get it. And in that case, of course, you will do fine. ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There it is nice to see the noise.cash how the energy flows in one direction towards us and we cannot return it back to the profiles from which it came. That is, with the exception of which confirms the rule. Return 100 or more likes and 10 will be OK these are quality people who make great posts. Good luck Monica.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nicely written and yes, I'm Paying it Forward also when the opportunity arises. Hope your foster parent application is approved.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great to hear this Emily. I have been invited to complete an official application form after 2 informal assessments. It becomes more real with every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that you pass as a foster parent. We've been a foster for family for a 9 children before. And I agree with you, don't expect anything in return when you help, because if we did, it's not already a help, it's already a business transaction.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You have been fostering 9 children? Wow! So many!

When you say 'we' who do you mean?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My entire family.. the last 2 kids which is fraternal twin that we fostered were already part of the family.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh wow! That's such a nice thing to do Angela. How was it for you? Maybe you should write an article about it :)

I always dreamt of having twins myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll do it. Because I can't post a pic in readcash. I'm going to post the pictured in noisecash and the article is here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why you still can’t post pictures.

Yes, I’ll be looking out for it and read for sure 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am with you on this, my lovely friend. Pay it forward. Giving is not really giving until we give to someone who might never be able to repay us. When we 'give' because we want something back, that is simply a business transaction. It is far from giving. I love the idea of giving out what we lacked the most because we will somehow get it back. It has worked for me several times.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You’re always with me Olawale, yet I look at my sofa and I can’t see you here 😅

Just kidding. Yes, I thought you would agree. I also have plenty of your articles to catch up. I saw some interesting titles on your list 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha I was on your sofa just a few moments ago. I had to pick my ear pod that fell under the sofa. Joining you right away. Hahaha.

Yes, I think we have a lot in common and that delights me hahaha.

Yaaaay! I look forward to seeing you around there then. 😊😊😊

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You do make me laugh too 😅

I’m off to my garden for a little while and will be with you once I’m on my giving account 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣🤣😂🤣 I am glad I made you laugh. Alright then, go easy and come back when you can. I'm right beside you, just give me a judge hahaha.

Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A judge or a nudge? How about a slap? 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha autocorrect messed me up hahaha. Let's direct that energy for the autocorrect 😂😂🤣. I take the blame. Let me take the slap in stride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All good, it’s nice to have a little laugh. What is it for you now? Here is just past midnight

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, just 20 minutes past 12 am here and I am getting my posts ready for tomorrow while soothing it with smoothie. How was the garden moment?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, so we're in the same time zone? Cool! You've been writing a lot these days. Wish I could produce more too.

Garden moment was sweet, but not long enough. I sieved my stinging nettle decoction and now my hands smell like poo 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha so sorry about that 🤣🤣😂. Have you tried washing or soaking your hands in moisturising antibacterial hand wash? It could help.

Most of the times I try to just stay up late and write in my notes and often times I am not sure of what to write about hahaha. I draw inspiration from anything sometimes too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why sorry - you had nothing to do with it! You would be sorry if you were really sitting on my sofa though! I keep washing my hands, but maybe I splashed some on my clothes also, so all goes in the wash tomorrow. I hope at least my plants will be happy with that stinky food I made for them. Apparently it is also great for aphids - I guess they suffocate in this odour 😂

I have plenty to write about. Many started files, but I keep myself busy with other things as to not write... I mean it's all Ernesto's fault!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha you crack me up so much and I always enjoy reading from you. Hahaha, yes, let's blame it on Ernesto.

You don't like sharing your sofa? I am actually sitting on your sofa haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I don't mind sharing my sofa at all! Not sure you would like the smell the other night 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha, I can manage as long as I have you close to me on the sofa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food for though. Paying it forward is great and has been around for as long as the hills. It is even said what you give out comes back in abundance, abit like seeds giving you a whole host of flowers. Good luck with fostering, I know they are crying out for them in the UK, although it is a tortuous application process.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, many people ‘know it’, but most put it into ‘know bank’ and never apply into their lives.

I had 2 calls, one phone and one video and the process takes 4-6 months. Can be longer. I guess we’ll see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago