Where is the snow?!

22 67
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Monday, 28th of February 2022

When I first saw @JonicaBradley 's prompt SNOW I got a bit confused. What snow? I was just sitting on my front porch in the morning sun and saw first flowers popping up with my very eyes! Isn't it spring already?

Then I look at the date - 11th of February. So yes, technically we were still in calendar winter. We still are now as I write this article. I was waiting for that snow all winter, but it never came. In fact even some of my annual plants, which usually die off in winter are still alive as if winter never happened.

Snowy winter in Netherlands

Mind you, mid February last year I was ice skating away on one of those frozen Dutch canals and came back home with a broken shoulder! So yeah, technically we’re still in winter, although in practice there was no winter here this year.

On the south of England where I reside snow doesn't really happen often. In almost 17 years since I moved here there were a few snowy winters however. 2008/2009 was probably the harshest one I've seen. Snow was falling abundantly and the temperatures dropped well below 0, causing unusually high amount of road accidents.

Icy car in NL

The usual thing to happen when it snows heavily here is that people just don't go to work at all. School are often closed too and various events cancelled. Can't even blame them - it's quite scary to drive in such conditions if you're not used to it and your car is not equipped adequately.

In Poland, where snow and freezing temperatures in winter are norm it is unheard of to not go to work or school because of snow. Most people change their tyres for winter type around November/December and get on with their lives. Within the reason of course… Those who don't have to leave the house, often won't drive either and the roads might look like o the picture below (although it was taken in Netherlands 😉).

Empty snowy roads in NL

The other night however it was rather cold. I turned off my heating during the day and my nose was red from the cold. When I glanced at the weather in the corner of my laptop, I realised it was -2 degrees.

That reminded me that I was planning to write this article 😅 Then I parked it for another couple days and here I am, finishing it more 2 weeks from the start.

Poland in snow

I have an Italian friend. She hates cold with passion. Now that she has a partner from Argentina, she takes every opportunity to fly away to Argentina for at least a month in winter. I seem to be the opposite. Don’t get me wrong, I love being warm too, but I love all the seasons. Spring the most, Autumn the least, but in general there is a beauty in each season and I am used to experiencing them all. In England the seasons are different, milder than in Poland. If I have to be cold anyway, I'd rather have snow too. So I often end up spending some winter weeks or months in either Poland or Netherlands.

Snow covered cyclamen in NL

Snowy winter reminds me of a care free moments in my not so care free childhood. At home I was never at peace, but for a few hours every day, my little brother and I were allowed to be outside in winter. My mum would dress us in many layers of thick winter clothing until we looked like astronauts and send us on our snowy adventures with other kids.

We would either slide from the hills near the church. Sliding was fun, going back up the hill again not so much ;) Or we would ice skate behind my parents block, where firemen would pour water to make ice rink for the kids like us. Or we would throw snow balls at each other. Or we would make a snowman...

Happy me when I see the snow

Speaking of the snowman. Most of them are made of 3 snowballs stuck on top of each other, with carrot as a nose and stones as eyes. This is what I was expecting when my partner announced that he will be making a snowman on the balcony last year. Imagine my face when I saw the finish product! (see below)

Street art ;)

I mean... he even has suitable face mask and sunglasses! In the past I’d always hesitate to post this, but hey, it’s a form of art, right? I can’t do much about this artist’s wild imagination.

He also looks good from the back! This would be the version I posted on my social media last year. This guy worked on every detail. Why would I keep the laughs for myself, when you can laugh too?

This has been a PromptlyJonica writing prompt. Would you like to join us? It is easy and fun!

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about snow

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag  @JonicaBradley

Until next time 💙

15
$ 9.67
$ 9.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

That street art had me laughing straight 5 minutes haahhahaha.. me with my dirty mind 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I love it too. I laughed time and time again, but especially when I first saw it with my eyes and started sending pics to my friends 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, that's negative 2 😱😱. I think I'll freeze to death if I experience that for the first time. But one of my dreams is to experience that really. I hope I experience that before I vanish from earth, omg 🙈

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope you will sis. It's really not all that bad. Freezing air is so different. You'll just put on warm clothes and you go enjoy the air and snow 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my dream is to see a real snow and make snowman hehe. The temperature there is very cold -2. Here, it's hot hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, -2 is really not that cold. When I was a child the tems were -20 or -30 in the winter ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The snowman's butt though. It's the highlight for me. I never experienced snow in my life, but I would love to touch and skate as well if I have an opportunity to go there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I so love looking at the snow my friend. I presume one would feel like being trapped in a freezer once the it's winter season. You look gorgeous by the way my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah, I am laughing because the snow made body figure is, ohmyyy, the butt! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ending 2 photos were so incredible 🤣🤣 Why there are naked at -2° Celsius?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish to see real snow someday 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the line "every season has its own beauty", just like in life, every season we are in has its own beauty eventhough we may fail to realize it at the start.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Monika while I'm looking the pictures it's like in the movie. 🥰 I love snow but I saw it is only in the movies and photos. I wish someday I can touch and see a real snow. You're so pretty Monika. You are enjoying with snow. 🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Ramona. I really hope one day you can see and touch the snow for yourself 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome Monika. I hope Monika. Thank you. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the snow man art, especially its butt haha. So cute. I hope I can visit countries that has snow season. I want to experience it. You are pretty, btw. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, I hope you can visit a snowy country one day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only I was so good at Photoshop... I would put myself behind you there since you are looking all so pretty, Mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, typical Ola, always wants to be close to me ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha why won't I want to? You are sweet and adorable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

By now you know a few of my faces Ola, not all are sweet ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are to me... 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago