Salsa stories - social or unchoreographed dance

12 54
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Dance, Salsa, Party, Adventure, My Story, ...

Wednesday, 16th of February 2022

After publishing my article last month I had many questions about the video I added. One of the most often asked was whether the dance was choreographed. The easy answer is no. In the next couple of articles however I want to describe and show you the difference between the choreographed and non choreographed dance, as I happen to have an experience in both.

@Daria check this out, you'll probably enjoy reading this and watching the clips.

For the purpose of these articles I looked through some of my old folders with my dance videos. I picked couple from the year 2014 and uploaded them privately to YouTube, so only people with the link can find them. In my noise.cash post I jokingly added that it's from the times I was young and fit ;) I seriously don't know where did the last 8 year go.

Non choreographed dance

The video I've added to my previous article is a fine example of non-choreographed dance. But what does it actually mean that the dance has not been choreographed? In simple words it means that it wasn't planned or arranged before it happened. It's called a social dance and usually it goes like this:

You're at a salsa party and someone comes and ask you for a dance, you get up and 'just do it'. You might already know the person who you dance with or you might not. You might have learned from the same teachers in the past or maybe not. You might know the song that you are dancing to or you might not.

It is one big and exciting unknown.

You might have some preconceptions and/or expectations as to how this dance will go, but in truth you can never predict the outcome of a social dance.

  • It might be mesmerising and you'll feel like you've just been to heaven and back in a few minutes.

  • It might be the longest 3-4 minutes of your life, cause sometimes your partner and you just don't 'click'.

  • You might expect an amazing experience with someone you experienced it with before and it might turn out just 'normal', because either the music doesn't inspire or one of you is 'off' for whatever reason.

  • It might be the funniest thing that happened to you that day, as sometimes things go 'wrong' and there is more laughter than the actual dance.

  • It could be just a nice few minutes with a friend you haven't seen for a while and with who you can only catch up with on the dance floor.

  • It could also be a spectacle that everyone around is watching and give you a standing ovation for afterwards! This happens too.

Can it be done by the person who never learned how to dance salsa in their life? I guess technically it could, but it would be a funny view. Salsa is a rather technical dance. There are basic steps to learn and some rules to follow for leaders as well as followers. If there was 1 thing I would stress to learn perfectly it is the timing. Salsa can be danced on1 (LA and Cuban style) and on2 (NY and Cuban style), but whichever style you dance, as long as your timing is impeccable, all else can be adjusted.

The importance of timing

I often say this to my friends, that I would rather dance with a beginner who repeats 2 or 3 moved throughout the dance, but sticks to the timing, rather than dance with someone who thinks they're amazing, does tons of complicated moves and spins, yet switches from on1 to on2 to... on3.

Imagine this... you're in a small boat, enjoying the sun, nice drink and a gentle swaying of the boat by the water. You're in the flow. Then suddenly someone hits your boat, spills your drink and makes you hurt jump from the shock. It's the same with dancing. You can flow nicely with the music, dancing on2 and suddenly your partner changes the timing to on3. You're tensing from the shock, no longer in the flow of the music and suddenly it feels like an argument rather than a dance.

Timing is uber important for a pleasant dance. Of course it is important for a leader to lead clearly and decisively too, but with time and experience a follower can learn to 'read between the lines' and compensate for a tiny imperfections in leading. For that the follower needs the impeccable timing and the ability to read the body language. Good salsa schools will teach you not only 'moves', but also the importance of a good frame.

Sometimes hands might not even touch, yet the follower follows perfectly what leader had in mind. Why can this be? Well, both are on time, the leader 'set up' the move with the help of hands and frame, then 'lost' the hand of the follower, but the follower already picked up the signal and will continue the move set up in motion, while to someone who's watching the dance looks like a perfect show.

Why do I say 'leader' and 'follower' instead of just men and women you might wonder? Salsa scene is a fully inclusive environment. Sometimes ladies want to challenge themselves and learn to lead, sometimes men want to learn to follow, sometimes their sex orientation makes them switch the roles too. I have a gay friend in salsa. What a treat he is! Not only he's one of my favourite leaders, but for my male friends he's one of their favourite followers too!

Importance of music

Last but not least, there is of course MUSIC. Music can sure make or break the dance. We all have our favourite and less favourite songs. Truth being told, I don't even know why my salsa 'style' is, but if you asked my ex who is a DJ, he would explain it in detail. All I know is whether I love it, like it, don't mind it or would rather sit to it. Before I was able to tell what I love though, I had to first listen to 1000's of salsa tracks for many hours over the past 12 years.

What listening to salsa music does, is you're getting to know the genre as a whole on a very intimate level. Subconsciously your body knows all ups and downs and when the next break will happen and you can express every little change in music with your body.

Then you meet a dance partner, who possesses all of the skills above and on top of it hears and knows the music as intimately as you, that's when you literally get goose bumps when you dance, because the flow is now complete.

That's the magic of unchoreographed salsa dance.

Until next time 💙

7
$ 2.29
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Dance, Salsa, Party, Adventure, My Story, ...

Comments

You are really awesome and great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already knew salsa isn't choreographed because I have watched a couple of salsa dancers in the past and I concluded that it's a dance that follows certain principles and rules, you might learn those rules by simply watching the dance but I think it's better to take formal lessons from a teacher

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't think you can learn much from watching, but who knows? I've been taking classes since 2010. There can be a choreographed version of salsa too. I will write about it in one of the future articles :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be great 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for tagging me! You know I'll definitely be interested haha and thanks for answering my question.

You danced so well in the video! I really like the part where you both wearing touching or holding hands and your partner is really good too. You sure have listened to a lot of salsa tracks, wow!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I knew you will enjoy it. The guy in the video is my salsa instructor. I call him my salsa daddy ;) Some time next week I'll post one about choreographed dance. That's fun too 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 Your salsa daddy is definitely good at what he does. I'm looking forward to the next one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will come! Not sure when, but it will come 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like you dance with a free style. It is exciting and interesting. But it would be better if you have basic knowledge on the steps so you won't look funny in the view of others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's sure better. That's why I've been taking salsa classes since 2010 ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're really good at it monika 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The only love of my life that I stay faithful to 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago