Let’s walk around Hamble Le Rice

15 68
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Thursday, 12th of May 2022

Hamble le Rice is a tiny village located on the outskirts of Southampton. Today I visited this cute little village for an interview in an aerospace company. I was surprised to see not one but 2 companies advertising positions here. I never really thought there are engineering companies in this area.



After an interview I decided not to rush back home. The weather is beautiful and I thought I’ll take a stroll around the village. I remember coming here with my ex husband years ago, when I first moved to England. Back then we were keen on sightseeing at the weekends. Everything was new and excited and of course we wanted to have plenty of beautiful pictures to send back home to our families.

Sitting here, by the marina there is only one wrd that comes to mind when I try to describe this place… PEACE

Even though Hamble is part of a huge city, here it feels like I’m suspended in time. There is no rush, no sound of the cars passing by, just cute little boats floating on the water, a few people taking a stroll and a lovely open space to look at.

Had I accepted the job I was just interviewed for, my working day would finish at 3:30pm or maybe 4:30pm if they agreed to shortening my working week to 4 days. If the weather was nice, I could stop here on the way back from work and just sit in this peaceful place for a while. I would very much like that.

Will I accept this position? I really don’t know. It’s a 6 months contract and a little more paid than the previous job I was interviewed for. The job itself is not really all that interesting though. Much more simple than any other engineering jobs I have done in the past. Maybe that’s a good thing? Who knows. I have a few days to ponder the 2 options I have and weight all the pros and cons.

Let’s get back to the village though. I managed to find a 2 hours free parking spot, which is more than enough time to explore. I vaguely remembered that taking a narrow little road will take me directly to the marina where I wanted to go.

As you can see, it’s adorable little place with this old stoned road and cute houses by the side of it.

Don’t let the size of those houses foul you. As I looked through the window of local property agency, the cheapest property for sale here was over $1.2 million! Yes, the price to pay for the peace and picturesque surrounding is quite high.

Only relatively rich people can afford to live in this cute little village. No wonder they can just put up an ‘honesty stall’ without any supervision here. All flowers have the labels with price and there is a metal box where you put the amount of money they ask for and take a plant. Can’t quite imagine something like this on the streets of London for example.

Following the little bendy road round for a few minutes I can already see the marina and a few little boats.

The view opens up and from here I can only walk to the right.

On the map I can see there is a ferry I can take to go to the other side of water. My idea of ferry is a huge ship which I take when I drive to Europe. It’s big enough to fit many cars and lorries and 100’s of passengers.

Here the ferry is a tiny pink boat, which can fit a few people. So utterly adorable 🥰

And this is it… a little walk by the water, many benches to sit on and Hamble River Sailing Club at the end of a footpath. I can’t walk any further, so I settle at one of the benches and write this article.

I think I could get used to this peace… It would be lovely to sit here at the end of my working day. Creative juices seem to be flowing unrestricted while sitting here…

I’ll sleep on it and make up my mind next week I guess.

Until next time 💙

12
$ 7.34
$ 6.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 13
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
1 year ago

Comments

Hey fantagira how's your day after staying in that wonderful place. The houses might be expensive but the quality of lives and people there are worth that price. Living in different places, I have come to realize why there are residentials that cost much than the others... Safety, good lifestyle and neighborhood.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is true for sure. Maybe one day when I have more savings I will think about a place like this. The average age of people who live there is also quite high, so maybe better for my retirement times 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looks relaxing there.. But the price of the houses 😅.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Crazy hey? I found some cheaper ones later, but still crazy for my pocket, as you pay for the location

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks so beautiful and there really is peace and quiet there. I liked the flowers, how pretty they are.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it’s a lovely place. It’s not that far for me to drive there, so I might visit again soon x

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The place does look peaceful. Actually like places like this, close to the river/sea, usually calming.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Me too. I can always get in the car to visit there again, but for now I picked the other job ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love it when a particular place talks about Peace. That is what nature can give to those who cherish and embrace it.

I would also loved an environment like this where I could just go to unwind and calm my spirit.

Those houses are really too expensive 😬😬

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, crazy prices! I found another agency with slightly cheaper properties later on. Still, I decided to take the other job, which is much closer to home ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can tell why you like the place, nay loved it! I would find myself there too maybe some benches away from you so as not to disturb your peace :D

Higher pay, easier job and a place like that, why not? Maybe you can save enough to buy one of the properties there :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I picked the job closer to home in the end Lee. Easier job sounds great to start with, but my issue is usually that I get too bored at work too fast. New job is more challenging, which makes it more interesting ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'd definitely enjoy the view everyday just like in my OJT haha. Only problem is I couldn't swim there. Lol.

Is it allowed to swim in the marina there or not recommended?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I’ve never seen anyone swimming there unfortunately. I guess it’s forbidden here too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago