Home, away from home - my trip up North (writing prompt #23)

12 44
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Tuesday, 12th of April 2022

Last few months were not very easy for me, I pretty much lost my motivation to do anything constructive. I had to let go of many plans I had and also of my bestie who decided to move up North, close to her parents.

Of course, I am happy for her. For way too long she was squeezed in a small, rented 2 bedroom house with her growing family. She was dreaming of a bigger house for a long time, but where she lived in the past years the properties are super expensive. That’s how the idea came up of buying a property up North, close to her parents.

All last year they were looking for the right house and once found, it still took months to finalise the deal, so they moved to the new house in February. For a house to call it home however it takes quite some time and effort. So I wasn’t rushing with my visit up North, because I knew Crystal was busy breaking walls, painting and decorating. There was a lot to do and luckily her parents live nearby, so the kids could stay there while the work was still on going.

Another great thing about buying up North is that her dad and brother both have building companies, so she was able to do most jobs for a fraction of a cost she would spend had she decided to buy in the South.

I let the weeks go by until one day I felt it was time for my road trip to visit Crystal. I called her to announce the news and of course she said the timing was perfect. The carboot sales in the area have already started, kids are off school, her partner will be away for a few days of work down South, plus she just finished painting spare bedroom.

‘Any sooner and I wouldn’t have anywhere to put you up, so perfect timing as usual’ she said. The third daughter visits every other week and she already visited last weekend, so the spare bedroom has became my home away from home for a week.

My mornings here start with a coffee in the garden with Kylo watching me carefully and sometimes coming with his toy of choice to play. The house is located on a somewhat busy road, but at the back of the house it feels pretty serene with huge open space to look at and birds chirping happily all day long.

It’s pretty amazing to wake up to the fields covered with new produce stretching for miles. Where I live I wake up to the view of houses and then some more houses ;)

Later during the day we take Kylo for a walk around those fields and check what the farmers have planted around. It reminds me that we have so much to be grateful for every day if we just look around. Living so close to nature we can see all the changing seasons very clearly, unlike in the city.

It sure is a lovely area to live a quiet life. The only downside is that everything is far away. Any town to go for nice shopping is an hour away. That I can live with - I'm way past the years when I enjoyed going shopping and spending money on unnecessary things to improve my mood. Right now I'm the opposite - clearing my house from the huge amount of stuff I collected over the years and that I don't really need in my life. BUT... there is always a 'but'... any salsa is also 1-3 hours of driving. We went to Yorkshire on Saturday and that was a 2 hours drive. To London it is more like 3 hours drive.

Crystal got a bit excited showing me what kind of property I could buy if I sold mine and yes, the prices are very tempting to be honest, but living this far away from salsa would not make me happy, I’m pretty sure of it. So while it’s nice to relax here for a week away from the city, for now it will be another home away from home for me. Tomorrow it is time to go back home. Home sweet home.

This post has been written for 'Home sweet home' prompt #23 by @JonicaBradley

Would you like to join us? It is easy and fun!

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about snow

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag  @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

Until next time 💙

12
$ 4.63
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I love looking at the field my friend. And the dog looks so cute as well. I suddenly miss the dog in my parents' house.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Such a beautiful open space always put the mind at ease 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It´ such a lovely place to stay, perhaps for vacation or finally staying there while you view nature appreciating God for such opportunity. I like a quiet place and not rowdy. I hope you enjoy your moment with Crystal while you prepare to go ack home. Home away from home indeed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it was a lovely stay, now it’s time to be back in my reality. Changing tyres in preparation for MOT for my car tomorrow 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great then, so you have a nice trip back home. 👍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Trip was pleasant and above all - MOT passed 🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a great place Fantagira. Hello there :) nice to meet you here :) I'm arjay from AxieBCH. 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi Arjay! I always thought you were a male 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, it's okay. I used my bf's name there. That's why :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, I see. That makes sense now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's my ideal place to live as well..away from the bustling city 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is very serene here ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago